We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ropa Vieja Grill

Ropa Vieja Grill
Ranked #33 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stopped in for dinner. I was surprised when the hostess asked us if we had reservations (there were several open tables) and seemed perturbed that we did not. She left us standing and went to the rear of the place, then came back, walked by us, went outside to speak to someone sitting our front. (What the heck?). Another person approached us from the rear of the restaurant and seated us at one of the tables. We were very close to the hostess stand at the front, and did not hear anyone ask again if the diners had reservations. I almost walked out because of the first hostess.

But, glad we stayed. Bob had shredded beef, rice with beans and a salad. I had skirt steak, mixed veggies and a salad. We enjoyed a bottle of Pinto Grigio. The price was average for dinner and drinks and the food was good. Sorry I forgot to take photos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindyFromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    448
    153
    48
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This local place made a us a little nervous at first but their shrimp risotto and Lagosta Mofongo are to die for!! really loved it and our waiter was very funny and nice!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank katedebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

The restaurant was close to the hotel so we decided to try it. Well the food was good and we'd eat there again but the service is less than desirable. The waiters just walk around and talk rather than addressing the customers right away. The drinks are expensive and are ok.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

This my second time eating at this restaurant in Puerto Rico. The place is small but the food is just great!!!. The arroz manposteado is the best. I really recommend this restaurant to any tourist going to Puerto Rico.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, service "ok".”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This place came highly recommended to us by a coworker, who frequents the Condado Beach area, as authentic local cuisine. While the food was very tasty and the staff was friendly, it was busy and crowded that night, leaving our waiter overwhelmed and not as attentive as we would have liked. Our appetizers came out after our entree had been served and they were out of several desert choices. Great food if you're willing to "just go with the flow" and are not in a rush or picky about your service.

Helpful?
Thank Jaxfsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ropa Vieja Grill also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ropa Vieja Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing