We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ropa Vieja Grill

Ropa Vieja Grill
Ranked #34 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Meal for four $150, excellent food professional staff. Goat stew was tender and flavorful. Fish entrees were well prepared. Generous portions, great value for the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    448
    154
    48
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal one block from the hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The food was tasty and portions were generous in size,served with a scoop of rice and cup of seasoned black beans and fried plantains. The service was first class. The menu is extensive,seafood,meats,poultry or vegetarian choices, and there is something for everyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BluegrassRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of good cuban / puerto rican food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Food was very good. Enjoyed the "ropa vieja con mofongo". Very well served, I almost couldn't eat it all !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Puerto Rican And Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We took the advice of a local and had a wonderful dinner here. I had the Red Snapper and my husband had Skirt Steak. Delicious and great service. Tasty Sangria, too.

Helpful?
Thank Bunnymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Not sure how we wound up here, but took some family out to eat while we were visiting in PR. Everyone enjoyed their meal (steaks, chicken and mofongo).

Service was very good (including at the bar where we had a drink while waiting for our family). It's a fun restaurant with a good atmosphere.

The menu is extensive and there is a nice selection of wine too. We would definitely return to this restaurant when we are back in Condado.

They offer FREE valet parking too! OMG! You do not find that in San Juan! (Sure wish I had known before I parked in a pay lot :-(

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunFunSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ropa Vieja Grill also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ropa Vieja Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing