We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious meal, more for date night than family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ropa Vieja Grill

Ropa Vieja Grill
Ranked #33 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, more for date night than family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This restaurant is one of the closest to the Condado Plaza Hotel and offers a more formal dining room with better dressed servers than nearby places (though some could do with an improvement in their English skills). In keeping, there is no kids' menu, so we ordered for our two from the regular menu (and they did eat well). Meat entrees were tasty. We found the service a little disjointed, with the whole team taking care of our table rather than a single waiter, which led to confusion about when to clear plates (I wasn't finished...) and whether we wanted more drinks (we didn't). I can see that this would be a wonderful place for a couple to celebrate a special occasion, or a group of conference attendees to enjoy a long dinner over lots of wine. Probably not really for a family with young children though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederickoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    448
    153
    48
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Ate here while on vacation with my mother on the recommendation of the hotel's front desk. The meal was AMAZING!!!!!!!! and the price was GREAT!!!! it was a small, casual restaurant with great food! The service was friendly and quick, but I cannot say enough about the food!!! I would have eaten there again if we had more time!!!! A MUST GO!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My best friend and I visited this restaurant in our last vacation and absolutely loved it so we decided to continue the tradition. Our waiter was super nice. He welcomed us as soon as we walked in and was seated promptly. I ordered the churrasco like I always do and did not regret it. It was out of this world amazing. It literally melted in my mouth. My best friend ordered the chicken chunks as well as the shrimp with garlic and it was also amazing. The food always has great flavor and the service is always spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great price, authentic PR food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

One of the best meals we had in PR. After going to yerba buena the night before and having a very bland meal, we almost gave up on PRican food...thank God we didn't! The sampler appetizer is a great mix of PR food...it allowed us to try many different appetizers for a reasonable price, and mufungo was included which allowed us to try it without having to order a large entree of it. Everything was greatly seasoned and fresh. For the main course we shared the shrimp in PRican sauce....wonderful! Very fresh tasting and excellent sauce! The rice and beans on the side were tasty and the sweet plantains a great addition. The tres leches cake was an excellent ending! Everything very reasonably priced!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wi-couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping and Eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Now this was were our group had dinner, it was really good just took a while to get food but I think that was because of the size of the group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ropa Vieja Grill also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ropa Vieja Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing