We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Condados best spots”
Review of Ropa Vieja Grill

Ropa Vieja Grill
Ranked #36 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Albany, NY
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“One of Condados best spots”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

On a recent trip to San Juan, constant companion and I had the good fortune to catch dinner here. Lovely outdoor seating, excellent Puerto Rican/Cuban cuisine and friendly professional service. A fine dining experience at a reasonable cost.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank forhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    480
    165
    51
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Okay food...over-priced”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Exactly as title says...nice atmosphere. Okay food and definitely steep pricing. Its located in the Condado area so it is going to be on the expensive side. Food however failed to make an impression.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rumana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great cuban food!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of the few upscale Cuban places in the Condado--excellent! Easy walk from Hilton and Marriott and other hotels

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank chuck1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the best meal I had in San Juan. The ropa vieja in the canoa de platano is delicious! The mofongo is also really good. The portions are generous and the prices are decent. The appetizer risottos are also delicious but good to share. Just overall delicious food (starting with realy yummy bread). The service and ambiance are also really nice and the restaurant is in a nice area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go Hungry!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were checking into the Conrad Hotel when I asked the manager where she would recommend us to go for a good dinner outside of the hotel restaurants. She explained that Ropa Vieja was only a 2 block walk and it was a delicious combination of Puertorican and Cuban cuisine. We decided to take a walk down towards La Concha hotel and stopped in every restaurant along the way to look at their menus and have a cocktail. Cafe Lola caught our eye because of its bar and seating overlooking the intracoastal waterway so that was one of our strong choices. After ending our exploration walk to La Concha we decided to head back to Ropa Vieja for some dinner. As soon as we walked through the front door it felt very smokey due to the lack of exhaust in the kitchen and it being a small establishment. After a few minutes it seemed as either the smokey feeling subsided or we became accustomed to it. They were able to accommodate our party of 8 rather quickly while we waited at the bar. We ordered most of the appetizers to pass around as well as some of their main dishes. The food was AMAZING! Every single dish was delicious, had a hefty serving and very well priced. Chorizo mac-n-cheese, mofongo ropa vieja, all the salads, everything!!! The bar was very well stocked and wine selection did not lack. Do Not pass up the opportunity to have an authentic dinner here.

Helpful?
Thank Gypseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ropa Vieja Grill also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ropa Vieja Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing