We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Foie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariel

Ariel
Ranked #167 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Ariel" is the masterpiece of Chef Ariel Rodriguez. After years of upholding the highest culinary standards as the Chef & owner of the legendary "Augusto's" he has reimagined the space and stamped he's name on it. Creating a renewed space for his culinary artistry with the highest service standards. Join us at "Ariel" to enjoy Chef Ariel gastronomic creations that will delight your senses!
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding Foie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Starting by the fact that i think this is the best place on San Juan. Outstanding foie, great wine list, very fresh halibut, the dessert just melt in your mouth. Perhaps the decor needs a refresh and maybe move to Condado because the area on Miramar is not that safe.

Helpful?
Thank PMorSantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    21
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fine dinning experience in PR!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I will kiss the chef if he allowed me to! I made a visit with a few friends, the restaurant was almost empty, it was a Tuesday, so we were not surprised. But good for us!!! We started with some Champagne, and invited the chef to make us what inspires him at the moment... So the food star to come, an 8 course dinner, a masterpiece! Thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F00diepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Augusto's was recommended to us by a Washington DC friend who comes to PR for business. We were a little hesitant as Augusto's is in a courtyard Marriott . And open arriving, the decor is nothing to write about. However, the mediocrity stole there. Everything from the service- sophisticated maître'd, Marcos to the exceptional food and interesting wine list was exceptional. Marcos designed our dinner for us which was really fun, not to mention delicious , everything all the way to cheese and then chocolate soufflé,
Definitely give it a try - don't let the cover fool you,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dctraveller702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unbelievably wonderful story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were in Puerto Rico for our anniversary which is also Valentine's Day. We went to fish restaurant for dinner and we were disappointed with the service and some of the food, so we went back to our hotel and decided to see if we could get dessert at our hotel restaurant. It was now about 9:30pm. We asked the hostess if we could get just dessert and she went and asked the chef. Most of the upscale restaurant had a fixed price menu for Valentine's so we knew were asking for a lot. The hostess comes back and says yes, we could get dessert and gave us a choice of the fixed menu selection or an individual chocolate souffle. We were thrilled and order the souffle with a glass of Amaretto. We knew we would have a little wait, but that was fine. During our wait several couples arrived so it wasn't that they were not busy, they were a restaurant who catered to people. We sipped our drinks and soon the souffles were served and they were to die for. What a perfect ending for the evening. Why can't all places of business be like this?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming, Unique & Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We go to Augusto's often and we find it to be one of Puerto Rico's finest restaurants. Chef Ariel has surrounded himself with a unique of top notch teammates with Rafael Afanador and Maitre'd and Sommelier Marcos Mercado they always give us friendly attentive service with lots of surprises.
We had the lobster empanadillas. Which we tasty and delicate in flavor. We also shared the venison carpaccio with foe gras shavings which was do die for. The main courses were the Moscovy duck breast made to perfection and is by far my favorite dish and the pumpkin ravioli which was sublime.
This is a place where fine food is served by professionals that care and give us their best always.
Part of the charm of Augusto's is that is nestled in one of San Juan's best residential areas inside a hotel with lots of visits from regulars as us that always come back for more.
If in San Juan is a must go place.

Helpful?
2 Thank paco_rodriguezcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariel also viewed

Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ariel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing