We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro de Paris

Bistro de Paris
Ranked #239 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $85
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic French Bistro Cuisine. Parisian chic in a casual atmosphere. Menu offerings: A la Carte, Prix Fixe, Sunday Brunch, and Bar. Steps away from the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, and around the corner from Puerto Rico's Fine Arts Center (Centro de Bellas Artes Luis A. Ferre). No reservation required most days, but recommended. Reservations during holidays are a must. Open 7 days/wk. Chef: Thierry Dupont Business Manager: Estefán Gargost
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
324 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were visiting the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico and this restaurant is across the street. It came recommended by a neighbor in Condado who went there before going to the symphony. We had the special melted cheese, with amonds and honey on top, really excellant with the apples used for dipping. My wife and I usually share the entree and the waiter recommended the filet with the cream sauce. He was right! It was excellant, the cook even cut it up for sharing. The wine selection was impressive and the recommended wines were perfect. (We like reds). If you are in the area, I highly recommend the Bistro, we sat outside on the patio and the waiters were very attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RusPat_704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    49
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, really takes you to beautiful Paris...but our selection from the menu was not good. Onion soup was ok, the vegetable soup had no flavor whatsoever. The waiter didn't offer any wine or drinks. Our main entree was the agenau confit aux flageolets, the lamb was tender, but lacked flavor, the canellini beans were raw and way too cold. The short ribs beef a cuison... Was just ok, macarroni didn't impress either. creme brulèe was really good. sorry but this is a restaurant i would not recommend. Bit pricey for a casual dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felix A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food and atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I went on a friday evening with my best friend. Great food,awesome decoration and a good service. It was like a mini trip to Paris during a friday evening after a stressful week . Love the place and would visit it AGAIN soon! Looking forward to visit the place again but for brunch on a weekend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“French Ambiance,Oh La La !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was my birthday and my husband surprised me with an invitation to the Bistro de Paris. It is tastefully decorated.A relaxed and friendly atmosphere, close to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico and Bellas Artes in Santurce.French Creative Cousine.Waiters will indulge your request.Just a little bit pricey.Attire Casual-Elegant. I recommend The Bistro de Paris highly enough, Oh La La!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariaL51860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
343 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“French bistro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The place is attractive, it has very good parking facilities and the decor of a modern French bistro. The service is friendly and the food, while adequate, is way overpriced. Similar places in Paris or New York are much, much cheaper. However, it is not unusual for high end restaurants in Puerto Rico to be more expensive than restaurants of a similar level in New York or Paris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarb46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro de Paris also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Bistro de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing