We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious but noisy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurorita Restaurant

Aurorita Restaurant
Ranked #161 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Aurorita Mexican Restaurant serving our customers since 1973. Jose Garcia & wife Elizabeth Carmona started out as the first generation of Food Trucks in Puerto Rico in the 70's and little by little built the restaurant. Their customers are loyal and span at least three generations. Its been in the same corner for 40 years and today and its a landmark in Puerto Rico. With the same passion and dedication, it's now managed by their three sons and an amazing team. The best Mexican Food in Puerto Rico and the best Margaritas in town. Tacos, burritos, enchiladas, carnitas, margaritas.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
286 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious but noisy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Delicious and tasty mexican food! Good options for appetizers, entrees and dessert. Margaritas are very good! Excellent and fast service. Being a family restaurant is noisy but worth going.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivonna02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    66
    33
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food on P.R.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is the best Mexican restaurant in all Puerto Rico. I love their menu, you have a lot of options to choose from, their frozen Margarita's are the best in the island. They have the restaurant and, another place on the side where you can enjoy almost the same menu as on the restaurant.
Good customer service, always with customers.
It is close on Mondays. Try the "chiwuwua especial", "caldo tlapeno" and the "burrito suizo". Almost with every item on the menu, you have the option of choosing pork, chicken or, "carnita".
Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank B969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the kind of food it serves”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The place its kind of expensive considering that it is Mexican Food, I expect this kind of food not to be expensive considering the simple ingredients and preparation that it takes. The quality is between average and good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GuilleHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've come to the realization that your not going to get good authentic mexican food in PR and I can live with that. There are however some restaurants that put together some good mexican style food and this just isnt one of those places. The only positives here were the pico de gallo (which had cheese) and the shots of tequila that come with sangrita which i was surprised to find and really enjoyed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iwechtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible and... watch out for unauthorized charges.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Service used to be good at this place, BUT not anymore. Unattentive service. Poor quality food. At the time of paying the bill I decided NOT leaving a tip. I paid with credit card and indicated on the credit slip that I was not leaving tip. However, to my surprise, when I looked at my bank statement they had charged the unauthorized tip by altering the bill. Tsk, Tsk.... that's a no no.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 804David_Ramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurorita Restaurant also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Aurorita Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing