We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of Andalucía in the old San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosa de Triana

Rosa de Triana
Ranked #88 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Spanish, Puerto Rican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A piece of Andalucía in the old San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great Service, amazing tapas and delicious sangria!! I recomend the croquetas of bacalao (Cod Fish). If you are searching for a piece of Andalucía, this is the place, as soon as you enter you feel you are in Spain.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaIsabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    148
    36
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKean, PA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of our "must go" stops in Old San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Every time we are fortunate enough to visit OSJ, Rosa de Triana is on the top of our list. We always sit in the small but delightful, open air courtyard decorated with Spanish wall planters. It's a great spot to relax after a walk around the old city. We play cards or dominoes while enjoying excellent sangria (surprisingly refreshing) or cool, minty mojitos. We usually stop for a late lunch or light fare from the excellent tapas menu. The food, drinks, ambiance, and friendly, attentive staff make this a delightful stop day or night!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mckeaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real, Good, Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Well prepared, tasty, authentic Spanish/Puerto Rican tapas at reasonable prices. Great service. All in an historic, comfortable local setting. Wish we had experienced the flamenco!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dining in an old dungeon prison!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This little restaurant is part of the original city hall and occupies part of the old dungeon prison. We stopped here as part of a food tour and were treated to putting the finishing touches on our own mofongo, some really tasty rice and beans, and one of the best sangrias I've ever had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRTirso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown
1 review
“BEST RESTAURANT IN ALL PR!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've been to over 10 different countries and by far this os on my top 3 places to go to eat. The atmosphere is extremely friendly and the food is authentic Spanish food. The Sangria.is to die for and it is the only place in Perto Rico that has Pata Negra!!! the location is great! the owner is extremely outgoing and will make sure that your experience is one of a kind! the best part is Maria, the flamingo singer. Sure you can find flamingos singers anywhere in Puerto Rico, but I guarantee none like her! She is an original from Spain. When she sings, it's like no other! She sings with such great passion that even if you don't understand what she is singing, you will still shed a tear for how beautiful she sounds. over all, you must go!!! A+++++++++

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lagiriespanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa de Triana also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Rosa de Triana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing