We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, atmosphere, and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosa de Triana

Rosa de Triana
Ranked #88 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Latin, Bar, Spanish, Puerto Rican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, atmosphere, and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We ate dinner twice at Rosa De Triana over the course of the week. The tapas selection was excellent, and the quantity of each was plentiful. Three of the four of us are vegetarians and we had plenty to select from. The history/age (400+ years) of the restaurant was intriguing - so old for our part of the world and the 'cave like' but very warm atmosphere was welcoming. We all loved our visits and meals at Rosa de Triana. The Sangria was lovely and refreshing. My teenage children loved the collection of cats in the garden outside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lori-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    148
    36
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Modest expectations fully met”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were staying at El Convento Hotel across the street so we thought this place would be touristy. But it was a lovely, casual dining experience. We were there for tapas and Sangria, not the full Flamenco dinner. We note the comments re salty food, but that was our experience everywhere in SJ. The building is ancient built in 1547 - , nicely maintained; it was a jail at one point. We thoroughly enjoyed our casual, tasty dining experience. The chorizo, the mushrooms and onions, the Sangria were delightful. Modest expectations fully met. Serving till 11.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ihr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited this restaurant during our walking tour of Old San Juan. They do have a few vegetarian options. The Eggplant in Honey Sauce was tasty, although a little too sweet. Lasagna with Fresh Vegetables was good as well. Nice ambiance and great service. Overall good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Srbk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
614 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,039 helpful votes
“Mixed success with tapas, but amazing dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ordered two tapas. The mahi-mahi was good but not exceptional. The mushrooms in the "mushrooms with seafood" were delicious but the seafood, especially the octopus, was overlooked and too chewy. The dessert - Manchego cheese with eggplant and guava marmalades - was heavenly and was the highlight of our experience. The sangria was good and the after-meal apple-based drink (complements of the house) was terrific. The service was excellent. The outdoor seating in the small internal courtyard was sweet and romantic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FactotumDellaCitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Its a wow experience, the service its great, the quality of the food and the ambient makes it worth it to visit.
The sangria its one of the best I had in Puerto Rico.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trimerced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa de Triana also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Rosa de Triana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing