We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER DISAPPOINTS”

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,006 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fortaleza Street
Transit: Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located
Description: To preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is 7 years or older. Marmalade serves tasting menus only of 4,5,or 6 courses. Guests are allowed to select their own course thus creating an individualized tasting menu. Each tasting menu at the table may be different. We don't offer a Ala Carte format for dining. Dinner will take a minimum of two hours at your Leisure. Groups of 6 people or more will be invited to taste Chef's seasonal tasting menu of 15 courses. Dress appropriately please, no shorts and beach sandals in the restaurant.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NEVER DISAPPOINTS”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We first visited Marmalade in 2012 and it quickly became our favourite restaurant. The service, food and attention to detail are A1. Prior to our cruise departure in April of 2013 we attended Marmalade again. This time we brought our friends from Chicago to share in this experience. Once again Peter and his staff at Marmalade were outstanding. Go with the tasting menu and try a bit of everything. You won't be disappointed. Your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank biffanddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,395
    414
    139
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant we ate at.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We got the 4 course dinner with the wine pairing, it was fantastic. Listen to the waiter, tell him what you like an don't like. Keep an open mind on advice, and prepare to be amazed.
MAKE RESERVATIONS!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must go! Best food I've ever had!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been to many great restaraunts before and this tops them all! Very casual and comfortable environment - no need to over dress! Their signature drinks are unbelievable! They have layers of intense flavors- get the jimmy Hendricks or global warming drinks! We went with the 5 course tasting because we could decide what we wanted. Each serving was a perfect size - not extremely small like some tastings. The flavors are shocking - hot, sweet, sour, crunchy, spicy, and seasoned in every bite. And make sure to get dessert! After the 2nd tasting, we couldn't stop smiling. You leave with a full stomach and on a food high. The meal is pricey, but treat it as an excursion- it will be the best one you take in PR!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachandFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in PR”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We can easily understand why this is the #1 rated restaurant in PR. It was the best meal we had during our stay.

We did the four-course meal for $59 each. The menu describes it as a tasting menu but the serving sizes are actually complete courses. The second course is the white bean soup unless you object. Do not object -- it is delicious!! You then get to pick from a selection of appetizers for your first course, an entree for your third course, and a dessert for your fourth course. If you do the 5-course or 6-course menu, you get to pick additional appetizers. We were full before dessert came with the four-course.

Bread is free but only upon request. It is a hot baguette with olive oil. It was really good dipped in the white bean soup.

First course: yellowtail poke and popcorn shrimp. Both excellent. I loved the poke sauce. The shrimp is grilled and garnish with actual popcorn. Very creative and beautiful presentation.

Second course: white bean soup. As delicious as everyone says. You can request the recipe. It comes on a postcard.

Third course: sea bass and beef tenderloin. Both dishes were beautifully presented and perfectly executed.

Fourth course: banana and butterscotch bread pudding and "coffee and donuts". Both were delicious. The bread pudding comes hot with rum ice cream on top. The donuts are chocolate beignets. The coffee is chocolate pot de creme.

Cocktails: the global warming cocktail is an ice globe with jalapeño peppers frozen inside. The idea is that the drink gets spicier as the ice melts. Very neat concept. The pineapple mojito was made with fresh pineapple. Very tasty but small.

Our server was polite and professional. Literally my only complaint about the entire evening is that the hostess at the door was unfriendly when she seated us.

This restaurant cannot be missed on your trip to San Juan. It is an $18 cab ride from Condado (we stayed at La Concha). Be sure to make reservations for dinner -- you can do it on OpenTable very easily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant with great atmosphere. Not to miss in Old San Juan. Service was stellar. Someone else paid so not sure about value but it would be worth 3 dollar signs to me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsnobmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing