We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sandwiches” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parrot Club

The Parrot Club
Ranked #56 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Central American, Puerto Rican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Parrot Club is a nuevo Latino bistro and bar in the SOFO area of Old San Juan on Fortaleza Street. The Parrot Club is a longtime favorite of locals and visitors who enjoy a fun, friendly atmosphere, delicious Latin flavors and wonderful cocktails.Established in 1996, The Parrot Club quickly became a San Juan classic and a SOFO standard. Featuring innovative nuevo Latino cuisine from Chef Guillermo Gonzalez, the Parrot Club's menus spice up classic Latino dishes by combining fresh, local ingredients with modern culinary preparations. This results in flavors that are fresh and exciting. Try the Ropa Vieja Nachos, Pan Seared Shrimp with Arroz Chifa and our own Chocolate Coco Tres Leches.The impressive long blue bar is a scene in itself. Don't miss our world famous Parrot Passion, a frozen blend of Bacardi Limon, fresh orange and passion fruit juice or our classic mojitos.The Parrot Club was designed to take advantage of the colonial architecture of the building with its huge archways and tall beamed ceilings. The colorful art and design is vibrant and happening. Look into the open kitchen or step out to the lovely palm filled courtyard, perfect for private events or dining under the stars.With live Latin Jazz, a terrific weekend brunch, and family friendly lunch daily, there is always something going on in this exciting restaurant.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

While walking through the streets of old San Juan we stumbled upon this colorful restaurant. We decided to go in for a quick lunch and were promptly seated. Since the waiter was busy, the hostess took our drinks order. The waiter took some time to come to our table and take our orders. Some family members decided to go shopping across the street while we waited for the food to arrive. It took some time for the drinks to arrive and still longer for the food to arrive. Even though the lemonades we order were just okay and over-priced, the food made up for it. The sandwiches were filling and went down quickly. Nice ambiance including a bar area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IcameIsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
When wandering around Old San Juan, there are plenty of things to grab your attention, so I'm thrilled our colorful vibe brought you in! While I'm happy the sandwiches hit the spot, I'm sorry if the service left a bit to be desired. That's certainly not the impression we like to leave you with, so you can be sure I'll follow up with my team in regards to your experience. I do hope you'll stop to see us again if you're ever back in the area — I'm confident we can show you a 5-star dining experience.

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    343
    124
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointed as one of the recommended restaurants on Celebrity Cruises”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food was ok but very loud and slow service. Wouldn't recommend to a foodie and did feel as one other review had "felt like a bad tourist trap." Hope the management focus on what they were good at - good food firstly and then work on the noise and service. Sorry you've missed on all three points during our visit for dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank oLO_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I'm incredibly disappointed to hear that we missed the mark on the food and service front when you were in. We pride ourselves on our delicious Puerto Rican dishes, so I'm concerned that it was only "ok" in your book. Did you mention to your server at the time that you weren't completely satisfied? Next time, I hope you'll let us know so that we can remedy the situation. We'll always do what we can to provide you with a top-notch dining experience. Thank you for reaching out here — your feedback is always welcomed and appreciated.

Take care,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had been here before, but extremely disappointed this time around. Food was cold, drinks were watery, room was very load, service was poor. Felt like a bad tourist trap.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I'm incredibly disappointed to hear that this time around didn't leave you impressed, A. Every time you walk through our doors, you should expect the same great food and service you've come to know us for, and it seems as if we didn't put our best foot forward here. We'd love the opportunity to clear up any issues here, so if you have any further information on what in particular went wrong, please don't hesitate to reach out directly — we're all ears.

Take care,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We were told about this place by a local on the flight to San Juan. So glad she recommended it to us. It was awesome. Loved the atmosphere and the food was wonderful! Would definitely recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sondra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Locals tend to know the best places to sit and have a bite, so I'm thrilled you got the low-down on us beforehand, Sondra. You'll definitely have to come back for round two should you find yourself back in the area — you have a ways to go before you make it down our menu!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham,nc
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little loud but good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our family of 5 had a nice lunch here with selections for young children and adults as well. The Nuevo Cubano sandwich was very hearty and the salads were good as well. The service is friendly and food delivery typical (slow) for Puerto Rico and other islands. This is not a fine dining experience but rather a casual place to sit and enjoy a break from the strolling on Calle Fonteleza.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncgrampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
A casual place to sit and enjoy a drink and a bite is always what we're striving to provide, so it's wonderful to know that's exactly what you got! Excellent choice on the Nuevo Cubano — there's nothing quite like it to help you refuel after a day of exploring! We'll hope to see you back on the island someday!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parrot Club also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The Parrot Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing