We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed as one of the recommended restaurants on Celebrity Cruises”
Review of The Parrot Club - CLOSED

The Parrot Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Parrot Club is a nuevo Latino bistro and bar in the SOFO area of Old San Juan on Fortaleza Street. The Parrot Club is a longtime favorite of locals and visitors who enjoy a fun, friendly atmosphere, delicious Latin flavors and wonderful cocktails.Established in 1996, The Parrot Club quickly became a San Juan classic and a SOFO standard. Featuring innovative nuevo Latino cuisine from Chef Guillermo Gonzalez, the Parrot Club's menus spice up classic Latino dishes by combining fresh, local ingredients with modern culinary preparations. This results in flavors that are fresh and exciting. Try the Ropa Vieja Nachos, Pan Seared Shrimp with Arroz Chifa and our own Chocolate Coco Tres Leches.The impressive long blue bar is a scene in itself. Don't miss our world famous Parrot Passion, a frozen blend of Bacardi Limon, fresh orange and passion fruit juice or our classic mojitos.The Parrot Club was designed to take advantage of the colonial architecture of the building with its huge archways and tall beamed ceilings. The colorful art and design is vibrant and happening. Look into the open kitchen or step out to the lovely palm filled courtyard, perfect for private events or dining under the stars.With live Latin Jazz, a terrific weekend brunch, and family friendly lunch daily, there is always something going on in this exciting restaurant.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food was ok but very loud and slow service. Wouldn't recommend to a foodie and did feel as one other review had "felt like a bad tourist trap." Hope the management focus on what they were good at - good food firstly and then work on the noise and service. Sorry you've missed on all three points during our visit for dinner.

Thank oLO_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

I'm incredibly disappointed to hear that we missed the mark on the food and service front when you were in. We pride ourselves on our delicious Puerto Rican dishes, so I'm concerned that it was only "ok" in your book. Did you mention to your server at the time that you weren't completely satisfied? Next time, I hope you'll let us know so that we can remedy the situation. We'll always do what we can to provide you with a top-notch dining experience. Thank you for reaching out here — your feedback is always welcomed and appreciated.

Take care,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 517 of 983 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had been here before, but extremely disappointed this time around. Food was cold, drinks were watery, room was very load, service was poor. Felt like a bad tourist trap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

I'm incredibly disappointed to hear that this time around didn't leave you impressed, A. Every time you walk through our doors, you should expect the same great food and service you've come to know us for, and it seems as if we didn't put our best foot forward here. We'd love the opportunity to clear up any issues here, so if you have any further information on what in particular went wrong, please don't hesitate to reach out directly — we're all ears.

Take care,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were told about this place by a local on the flight to San Juan. So glad she recommended it to us. It was awesome. Loved the atmosphere and the food was wonderful! Would definitely recommend this place.

Thank Sondra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Locals tend to know the best places to sit and have a bite, so I'm thrilled you got the low-down on us beforehand, Sondra. You'll definitely have to come back for round two should you find yourself back in the area — you have a ways to go before you make it down our menu!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our family of 5 had a nice lunch here with selections for young children and adults as well. The Nuevo Cubano sandwich was very hearty and the salads were good as well. The service is friendly and food delivery typical (slow) for Puerto Rico and other islands. This is not a fine dining experience but rather a casual place to sit and enjoy a break from the strolling on Calle Fonteleza.

Thank ncgrampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

A casual place to sit and enjoy a drink and a bite is always what we're striving to provide, so it's wonderful to know that's exactly what you got! Excellent choice on the Nuevo Cubano — there's nothing quite like it to help you refuel after a day of exploring! We'll hope to see you back on the island someday!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

After a long tour of Old San Juan, this was the perfect stop to have lunch. Good thing we were famished, this was a hearty portion. Well, atleast what we ordered was. The empanadas, spectacular. The cuban, words cannot explain. It was delicious and huge, a part of me knew I should eat one half and stop, but I couldn't. Lol. The service was a little slow, but we were in no hurry, so why the fuss. I mean, you are on vacation right. Long story short, just go!

Thank ADnKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

The Cuban and the Empanadas? Looks like you had all of our fan favorites in one sitting! I'm so happy we were able to fill you up with delicious Puerto Rican delights. After all, there's no better way to cap off a day of exploring the city than with some of its favorite foods!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parrot Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing