We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the nachos!”
Review of The Parrot Club

The Parrot Club
Ranked #52 of 1,034 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Parrot Club is a nuevo Latino bistro and bar in the SOFO area of Old San Juan on Fortaleza Street. The Parrot Club is a longtime favorite of locals and visitors who enjoy a fun, friendly atmosphere, delicious Latin flavors and wonderful cocktails.Established in 1996, The Parrot Club quickly became a San Juan classic and a SOFO standard. Featuring innovative nuevo Latino cuisine from Chef Guillermo Gonzalez, the Parrot Club's menus spice up classic Latino dishes by combining fresh, local ingredients with modern culinary preparations. This results in flavors that are fresh and exciting. Try the Ropa Vieja Nachos, Pan Seared Shrimp with Arroz Chifa and our own Chocolate Coco Tres Leches.The impressive long blue bar is a scene in itself. Don't miss our world famous Parrot Passion, a frozen blend of Bacardi Limon, fresh orange and passion fruit juice or our classic mojitos.The Parrot Club was designed to take advantage of the colonial architecture of the building with its huge archways and tall beamed ceilings. The colorful art and design is vibrant and happening. Look into the open kitchen or step out to the lovely palm filled courtyard, perfect for private events or dining under the stars.With live Latin Jazz, a terrific weekend brunch, and family friendly lunch daily, there is always something going on in this exciting restaurant.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try the nachos!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The road in front of the restaurant was all ripped up and being repaired, so access was difficult. The best dish we had was the nachos, made with fried thin strips of plantain instead of corn chips. We had the mango daiquiri...very good. Mai tai, not so good. All served by the famous (and friendly) Jorge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
The repairs can make access to our place a little difficult, but I'm pleased that you were able to make your way in to try our take on the nachos, Glenn. Thanks for leaving us such a great review, and I'll let Jorge know how impressed you were with his Mango Daiquiris!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    350
    126
    45
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
“Don't let the street work stop you”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

While in San Juan my wife and I stopped into this place for lunch. We had been staying close by and the hotel recommended us to go down the street to a different restaurant but it was very busy. We are happy that it was because we had a fun time in The Parrot Club instead. Rather than a stuffy dark room it was a big and bright room with good music playing. The drinks were good and the food delicious. We had just missed the lunch rush so we had ample time to talk to the bartender "David" who was more than happy not only to show us places to see in San Juan but to explain what the city was all about.
If you are in town stop in and see them, the street construction has to be hurting their business so tip them well, I'm sure they'll appreciate it.

Helpful?
Thank SweetTeese11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Emilio at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for stopping in and reviewing us! I'm so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your lunch with us. What dishes did you get a chance to try? Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back the next time you're in San Juan!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,

Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Four of us shared appetizers for lunch at The Parrot Club. We ordered ceviche, calamari, beef empanadas, quesadilla, and plantains with dip. All the food was relish. The Sangria was very tasty too. David, our waiter, delivered fabulous service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, Katie! From the sounds of it, you were able to make your way down our menu, and I couldn't be happier to hear that it all hit the spot. We make a point to celebrate each other's successes around here, so you can be sure I'll pass your compliments along to David. Thanks for giving him a nice shout out! We do hope you'll find your way to San Juan again — we'd love the opportunity to host you for round two!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best drinks ever!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went here years ago with friends and had the best coconut martini's! When we went home we learned how to make them although not as good... Visiting next week and cannot wait to come back for cocktails!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank stefanie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so excited to have you back for Coconut Martinis, Stefanie! While we're sure yours were quite tasty, we're a bit biased and think that ours just can't be beat. Thanks for the review and we'll see you next week!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
“Great Ambiance and Stellar Service...ask for Jorge :)”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by my brother and his wife when they took a trip to Puerto Rico. They loved it! It was everything they said it would be. The experience was one to remember. Love the décor, atmosphere, food was delicious...yummy cocktails & appetizers (try the empanadas & plantains). Our server was Jorge...definitely delightful and made our experience wonderful! I love that part of town and I'm so happy we stopped in. So, check out The Parrot Club and ask for Jorge! ~ Marylou

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marylou E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emilio F, Owner at The Parrot Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
You are so kind to write us this glowing review, Marylou! From the sounds of it, The Parrot Club has become a family affair, and we couldn't be happier to hear it. You can be sure I'll pass your compliments along to Jorge — he'll be thrilled to know that you were more than impressed. I hope you'll find your way to San Juan again — we'd love the opportunity to host you again!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parrot Club also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The Parrot Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing