We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch while in port!”

Barrachina Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barrachina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: International, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Puerto Rican and International Cuisine, Home of the world famous Pina Colada
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch while in port!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My family add I were in port for the day while on a cruise. We recieved some advice from friends to stop in for lunch if we had time. It was great. Although it was only the end of April, it was in the mid 90's. We opted to sit inside. Jose, our waiter asked where we were from. We said Tampa, and he then confirmed that we liked Latin food. Yep. He had a couple of specials that he showed us on his digital phone and explained them thoroughly and said he could offer a number of variations. The food and service were great. We enjoyed ourselves. This place is great for all occasions. We'll visit again the next time we are in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WannabeIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,463
    955
    385
    97
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Farms
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pina Coladas!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stopped here for a late lunch and a much needed cold beverage after touring the forts of San Juan. The hostess asked if we wanted to be seated inside (with A/C) or outside on the patio - looked up to see sweat dripping down my husbands's face and said, "Oh, inside will be better for you señor " LOL!
We got a round of pina coladas - apparently invented at this location and started to cool down. Our waiter even brought a little sample of a nonalcoholic version for the kids to try.
The kids had the albondigas (meatballs) and loved them. My husband got the soup of the day - it had chicken sausage and pork in it - he said it was very good. I had a club sandwich and enjoyed it.
Our water was very kind and kept refilling our water glasses. He commented to my husband that he had never seen someone drink so much water before!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun place for an afternoon drink”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We heard Barrachina was the original inventor of the Pina Colada, so of course, we had to go. We had the best time sitting at the bar talking with our bartender (I'm sorry, I forgot his name, but he was wonderful) and getting some history into rum, drinks, the island, and all sorts of other stuff that a seasoned bartender can provide. We did not eat but thoroughly enjoyed our drinks, time spent, and the conversation! The parrots along the side of the bar area were pretty cool, too. Best Pina Colada? No. The mix is in a frozen drink machine to which they add the rum, but they add it generously, so go anyway!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quietlycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Charming restaurant in Old San Juan. Waiter was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the food and drinks. Menu was diverse enough for everyone to find something to like.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very slow service”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

It took too long for their service to wait on, get our food, and get our bills. Then we asked more information about our food that we waited long time for that so we asked her for our bills. I am not very impress with their service at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sueike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrachina Restaurant also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Barrachina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing