We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Pescado suite perfect for a family of 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coqui del Mar Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We recently stayed a few days in the El Pescado suite of the Coqui del Mar. It fit my family of 6 perfectly (2 adults and 4 children). It was our first time in Puerto Rico and this place truly made us feel like we are home away from home. There is really good coffee in the fridge. Kitchen had everything we needed. We couldn't find a cutting board so we wrote a note and we returned from our walk. There was 2 cutting board awaiting us. We were so suprised to see sunscreen and insect repellant ... every detail is taken care of ... nice touch. Even had a washing machine and dryer to use if requested.

Now regarding the rooms. A/C in the rooms. The bed and 2 futons were super comfortable. The beddings and towels were super clean. There is Apple TV which entertained the kids and WIFI which thrilled the family so we can send updates home. For my kids, the pièce de résistance has to be the toilet with real live fishes. You do have to feed them but they are so cute and fun. Of course, it was a topic of many jokes such as "Close your eyes while I do my business" from my 10 year old or "Pwhew! Don't kill the fishes with the smell from yout b--" from my 8 year old.

There is no swimming pool but why would you need it when the beach and water is literally 2 minute walk down the street. So hard to drag my kids away. The hot tub whirl pool in the courtyard was great for destressing. You can pick up necessities in the close by Shell station but the local grocery (Plaza Loiza) is not that long of a walk away. My hubby even found a short cut from there. If looking for place to eat, do "Inca Chicken" and order the mofongo and the coriander rice.

What I found really nice was a little diary with notes from previous people that stayed there. Full of information of what to do and where to go. What's nice is some leave stuff for the next set of people staying there so it was like a welcome for the next set of people. I've not met Rob personally but his communication with us was very thorough and friendly. Noyda, you were wonderful with us and full of advice. Thanks for looking out for us. We will definitely look you up again on our next trip to PR.

Room Tip: El Pescado suite is comfortable for family of 6. It's not sound proof meaning you can hear if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 472 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in the El Mango, it is a small room with the toilet in the shower. It was perfect for the two of us. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We used the hot tub after a physically exhausting day... that was a nice way to end the day. Due to time, we did not get to use the bicycles. Being one block from the beach was awesome as well. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Walk to the grocery store and stock your little fridge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tbr1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Coqui Del Mar is a TRUE gem. This past June I visited Puerto Rico with my best friend for the first time and to say that our trip was incredible would not do it justice. The moment we walked into the grounds of Coqui we felt as if we were at home. Rob and his staff were available, helpful and frankly a blast to spend time with! Our room (el cangrejo) was impeccable. The pictures online truly do not do it justice! Clean, spacious and with every amenity one could ever want. From the Netflix streaming on the apple TV to the coffee in the refrigerator to the hot tub in the courtyard we truly felt as though the staff could read our minds as to what we wanted. As a worker in the small hotel business myself I was completely blown away at the care and level of hospitality we received. Most importantly the Coqui is located away from all of the tourist trap areas, nestled into a quaint, private and safe community in San Juan. We really enjoyed staying in ocean park and felt like we were able to get the real San Juan experience by mixing with the locals(who mind you, are just as friendly as the staff) on their own turf. We will absolutely be back!!!!

Room Tip: El Cangrejo had a fully function kitchen as well as a beautiful remodeled bathroom. Perfect amount o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juju H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family of 6 just got back from staying at Coqui del Mar, and our stay was perfect. Noyda and Neal helped out a lot from questions about restaurants to Boat rides. We had 4 kids and they had bikes,snorkeling wear, and board games for everyone to use! Thanks again for a great summer trip

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maureen6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family of 6 just got back from staying at Coqui del Mar, and our stay was perfect. Noyda and Neal helped out a lot from questions about restaurants to Boat rides. We had 4 kids and they had bikes,snorkeling wear, and board games for everyone to use! Thanks again for a great summer trip

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon, and we could not be more pleased. We stayed in the "El Pescado" unit. One unique feature of this room is the "Fish 'n' Flush," the toilet that doubles as a fishbowl. We had to feed the fish every day, but I found myself looking forward to this!

The absolute best part of our stay here was the indispensable binder in the room. The managers have done all of the travel research for you, and placed it in a helpful binder! The information was very helpful and accurate. They had information about restaurants, beaches, public transit, taxis, day trips, and useful info for staying at the guesthouse itself! We were very impressed.

The unit came with a gas stove/oven, utensils, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, blender... most everything you need for a good kitchen. Granted, we ate most meals out, but it was nice making breakfast in the morning, and having the option to make other meals. There is also a laundry facility on site, which allowed us to pack lightly. There was also Netflix and Hulu plus available on an Apple TV unit (which was nice for relaxing after a long day out), and an Apple computer which was hooked up to the TV. The only negative about the room is the thin windows. You can hear everything outside, which means they can probably hear you inside.

The guest house is in a nice residential area, one block away from the beach, but it was about a ten minute walk down to a more public beach area. They had beach towels, beach umbrellas, boogie boards, etc. to rent for free! There are several restaurants near Coqui del Mar, but none of them too close. Be prepared to walk!

The managers were very helpful. As for the nearby restaurants, TRUST THE PROVIDED MAP! It lists all the good places.

We really loved our stay. This place is an excellent value!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is great! I love that Coqui del Mar is so close to the beach. You can walk to restaurants too. Saturdays, they host a happy hour in the courtyard for all their guest and friends. I got to meet a lot of nice fun people from U.S. other cities.

You need more ideas on what to do and where to go, Noyda has many great suggestions. She knows the latest in San Juan.

Convenient and inexpensive. I really enjoyed staying there and I'm looking forward to returning again. Thank you Coqui del Mar

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
642 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dreamcatcher
The Dreamcatcher
#2 of 30 in San Juan
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqui del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqui del Mar Guest House

Address: 2218 Calle Gen Del Valle, San Juan 00913-4514, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $121 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coqui del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Puerto Rico like a local while still having all the conveniences of home, this is your place. We make you feel at home. You have private personal space (all rooms have private kitchens and private bathrooms), while in a beach side neighborhood setting away from the crowded tourist areas. You will experience some of the best Puerto Rico has to offer while living like a local, visiting the restaurants frequently visited by locals (no chain restaurants near us). We are in the Ocean Park beach area of San Juan, in between Old San Juan and the international airport. We are 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Ocean Park beach is one of the locals's favoites, and also a preferred spot for kite surfing and windsurfers. We are 5 minutes walk to the tourist bus route (which goes to the casinos and to Old San Juan) and walkable to restaurants and grocery stores. Each of our units have full kitchen, free WiFi, cable TV/DVD, Apple TV, in room safes, and an Ipod player. We strive to provide more than expected, and I think you will find that with us, from the beach chairs, or bicycles to the in room safes, there are never extra charges. One of the best things about us is our live in management, Noyda and Neal, who call Coqui del Mar home and welcome you as if it is your home as well. They are local experts and can help you find a great restaurant, plan a special event, or enjoy a chat. Our courtyard, bar-b-que and jacuzzi are great for meeting other guests. If you are looking for personal service and a unique, eco-friendly (we have solar hot water supplemented by electric, ceiling fans supplemented by ACs, and offer recycling), and a clean guest house for a reasonable price, then check us out. We are not a Marriott and offer our own unique sense of quirky and intimate Puerto Rico. Come join us. *Our free parking is on a public street in front of our location. Not difficult to find a spot, but it is not designated parking for our guest house and is open to all. * Airport transportation acknowledges that there is taxi service from the airport. **Free parking is on street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Coqui del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coqui Del Mar Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing