We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coqui del Mar Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My son and I recently spent four days at Coqui Del Mar. Leave all your worries behind because Noyda and Neal have thought of everything. The property is equipped with all the beach essentials...beach mats, sand pails and toys, boogie boards, beach chairs, even sunscreen. Plenty of tourist literature, including Frommer Guides in each unit. Each unit has a kitchenette which makes it affordable for breakfast and snacks. If you want to cook, a patio with gas grill and dining furniture is available to all guests. A six person hot tub is waiting for you after a long day of hiking in the rain forest.
Various accomodations make it a great getaway for practically any group. They have a unit with 3 bedrooms, 3 baths which was being rented by a family while we were there. Some units are romantic, perfect for newleyweds. And others have plenty of space for a girl's weekend away. Noyda is a San Juan native and therefore very familiar with the local scene. She is great at giving recommendations for local restaurants as well as beaches and other attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillmill38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 472 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hubby and I spent six days at Coqui del Mar and highly recommend it as a lovely home away from home. Great location - one block from the beach and a large park; close to the airport yet we never heard or saw a plane; walking distance to the grocery store and the bus stop for the 75 cent bus ride in to Old San Juan. Managers Neal and Noyda provided lots of helpful information about restaurants and local sights. They seem genuinely interested in making sure that their guests have a superb experience during their stay in San Juan. We concur with other reviews regarding all of the nice amenities. The guest house is affordably priced and eco-friendly. If you want a home-like experience instead of a high-rise hotel stay, this is the place for you. Fabulous! We would look no further during our next stay in San Juan.

Room Tip: We stayed in the La Concha room at the end of the top/second floor. Very nice. Studio apartment-styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for two wonderful nights in Coqui del Mar at end of our family vacation. Owner Noyda attended to all our needs and equipted us with beach chairs and toys for our daughters. The smile on my daughter's face when she showed me the buckets of toys she was lent was priceless. This is the kind of thing that you won't find at a hotel and made our stay so memorable. Also liked that the room was equipted with numerous travel books and guides. Noyda also gave us clear directions and was very knowledgeable about the area attractions. Our room was clean and comfortable. They lent us a crib for the baby. On street parking never an issue, neighborhood safe. Recommended Coqui del Mar for everyone...families, couples, solo travelers. Thanks so much for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abejita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently took a trip to San Juan and stayed 6 days at the Coqui del Mar. It was a $20 taxi ride from the airport, a block from the beach, and is nested within a residential neighborhood so noise at night was never an issue. There is a local grocery store a few blocks away as well as a park, track and numerous restaurants within a half mile. Noyda and Neal were super helpful in providing recommendations for local restaurants to try. They also offered free bikes to borrow, and one could do their laundry on site. Coqui del Mar has a patio in the back with tables, chairs, shade, trees, a bbq, and a hot tub. They only have 7 rooms to rent and so the atmsphere felt like we were almost staying at a friend's house rather than renting a room from a skyscraper hotel. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: My boyfriend and I stayed in El Mango which had a comfy bed, a/c that helped tremendously in the hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsiebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This place offers simple but comfortable and clean accommodation. Noyda is very helpful and adds tremendous value to this guesthouse experience. We stayed three nights, rented a car and toured the east side of the island and from here we left to stay in old San Juan where we didn't need a car. Coqui del mar offered a great location to anywhere on the NE part of the island. The surrounding area is residential and one street over from a public beach. Very close to the airport.

Recommended for those looking for easy, simple, clean, and friendly guesthouse experience.

Room Tip: We had unit F. A/C, TV, full kitchen, shower with two heads. Very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcdub49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We (my wife and I and our two teenagers) spent 8 days at the Coqui del Mar in late August, 2012. The property exceeded our expectations. Noyda and Neal were our genial hosts. They were an invaluable source of information concerning dining options and places of interest in Puerto Rico.

The hotel is in an excellent location. There are two excellent beaches (Ocean Park and Isla Verde) within easy walking distance of the property. Of the two, we preferred Isla Verde because it's a little bigger and there are more restaurants to choose from in the area.

For the first 4 nights of our stay we were in the one bedroom "Pescado" unit. It was very well equipped and the kitchen allowed us to eat in on those nights when we just didn't want to go out again after a full day at the beach. For the last 4 nights we were moved to a bigger unit (sleeps 8) because the air-conditioning in "Pescado" was on the fritz. This unit would be a bargain for two families travelling together.

When we wanted to go to the beach, there were beach chairs and beach umbrellas available for our use. It saved us quite a bit of money because beach chair rentals can be somewhat expensive.

Of the restaurants in the area, we would recommend Atlantica for excellent seafood and Kasalta for tasty lunches and delicious pastries.

One word of warning: public transportation in San Juan is EXTREMELY unreliable. We recommend renting a car if you are going to be in Puerto Rico for more than a few days. And if you have the time, DO DO go to Culebra, a small island off the eastern coast of Puerto Rico. Playa Flamenco on Culebra is as beautiful a beach as we have found in the Caribbean. It compares favourably to Palm Beach in Aruba and Grand Anse beach in Grenada.

We found the people in Puerto Rico to be very friendly and there are many very interesting and beautiful sites such as El Yunque, Luquillo Beach, the Rio Camuy caves, the Arecibo Observatory and El Morro.

We had a fabulous time in Puerto Rico and we heartily recommend the Coqui del Mar to anyone.

Thank you Neal and Noyda for helping to make our vacation so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanAmT2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Thanks to Noyda, Neal and Uncle Jr. for their quaint, cozy and clean guest houses. Had the time of my life in Puerto Rico. Already planning a trip back ! The beach is not even half a block away- beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, sunscreen all available on the premises. Neal & Noyda even dropped me off @ the store and downtown. They went above and beyond with their hospitality to make sure each and every guest needs were met. Noyda even shared her home made "sofrito" and tomato" sauce for me to make "arroz con gandules" for our BBQ. Between the steam shower and hot tub it is the perfect way to end the day. There is a gas grill and Tiki Bar for your use and enjoyment. Location is a beautiful gated quiet community. I am not sleeping well since leaving, because I truly miss the beautiful sounds of the "Coqui's" serenading me each day night to sleep. LoL ;-)

Room Tip: Suites are clean, cozy, with A/C all the amenities of home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam06_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
642 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dreamcatcher
The Dreamcatcher
#2 of 30 in San Juan
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqui del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqui del Mar Guest House

Address: 2218 Calle Gen Del Valle, San Juan 00913-4514, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $121 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coqui del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Puerto Rico like a local while still having all the conveniences of home, this is your place. We make you feel at home. You have private personal space (all rooms have private kitchens and private bathrooms), while in a beach side neighborhood setting away from the crowded tourist areas. You will experience some of the best Puerto Rico has to offer while living like a local, visiting the restaurants frequently visited by locals (no chain restaurants near us). We are in the Ocean Park beach area of San Juan, in between Old San Juan and the international airport. We are 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Ocean Park beach is one of the locals's favoites, and also a preferred spot for kite surfing and windsurfers. We are 5 minutes walk to the tourist bus route (which goes to the casinos and to Old San Juan) and walkable to restaurants and grocery stores. Each of our units have full kitchen, free WiFi, cable TV/DVD, Apple TV, in room safes, and an Ipod player. We strive to provide more than expected, and I think you will find that with us, from the beach chairs, or bicycles to the in room safes, there are never extra charges. One of the best things about us is our live in management, Noyda and Neal, who call Coqui del Mar home and welcome you as if it is your home as well. They are local experts and can help you find a great restaurant, plan a special event, or enjoy a chat. Our courtyard, bar-b-que and jacuzzi are great for meeting other guests. If you are looking for personal service and a unique, eco-friendly (we have solar hot water supplemented by electric, ceiling fans supplemented by ACs, and offer recycling), and a clean guest house for a reasonable price, then check us out. We are not a Marriott and offer our own unique sense of quirky and intimate Puerto Rico. Come join us. *Our free parking is on a public street in front of our location. Not difficult to find a spot, but it is not designated parking for our guest house and is open to all. * Airport transportation acknowledges that there is taxi service from the airport. **Free parking is on street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Coqui del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coqui Del Mar Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing