We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Free Wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Loved the Free Wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We chose this hotel based on other trip advisor reviews and found it to be exactly consistent with what others reported - nice room, polite service with a smile, occasional slow or no service (typically at busier times). Waited in a line of 2-3 people to check in (around 6p). Polite service though they did not have the room type we reserved on Expedia (king ocean view). They upgraded us to a suite with partial ocean view and provided free breakfast buffet. Room was clean and huge. Balcony was really nice. Bed comfortable, maybe a bit on the soft side. Giant closet. Safe was available but not connected to floor. Liked having a kitchen and the appliances were clean. Bathroom was awesome, though, beware that the shower has frosted glass and anyone in the bedroom can clearly see the person in the shower. Not a problem for us but could be for some folks. Also about the bathroom... giant jetted tub is cool but may be difficult to use if you have trouble stepping over the 2ft edge to get in it. Also, controls are located on the far wall so you really have to get into the tub to turn the water on and off or drain the tub which was a pain. Anyway.. No maid service but thousands if towels so we didn't care. Can't say enough about the awesome free wifi. It worked EVERYWHERE - in the room, on the balcony, in the lobby, at the pool etc. Breakfast buffet was ok, would not have paid for it (hear it was $25 pp) but ok for free. At night they turn the main pool area into a restaurant called Solera (smart use of space!). Went there the first night and liked it so much we went back the second night. They serve light fare so we got two items and split them. We recommend the calamari sticks. Thought the food prices were ok but the drinks are 10-15 each so together, a meal can be quite pricey. As others mentioned, there are lots of food options within a short walk if price of the food in the hotel is an issue. About the pools, there are many. Liked the main pool best. Normally I hate the music at the pool but I though they did a good job with that here. Adult pool is beautiful but very shady after noon. Pool by the beach is very small but nice views. Could not find the hot tubs but I hear they have several. This hotel feels trendy and has lots of neat sitting areas and interesting decoration. Overall, really liked it. We only stayed 2 days (pre-cruise). Would be good for a longer term stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snickerseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,156
    1,993
    624
    235
    169
See reviews for
1,575
2,849
187
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

i only want to let you know that officer bryant clement gave us a excelent service and he threat us like home. i love that feeling and we surely came back for puerto rico.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

The service was great...everybody were so friendly. The room was just like you see in the photos. and the view- AWESOME! We were totally blown away! The sound of the waves and the sea breeze- we did not want to leave our room!!
Location is very good..u have a subway,dunkin donuts right opposite the hotel. A lovely mexican restaurant behind the subway called Cielito lindo or something like that..it had some authentic lip smacking mexican fare..and also a very good italian one too called ilpostino. Down the road is a walgreens which was a god-send! Do not rent a car..lots of taxis around and fixed fares. The resort arranged trips to the rainforest, kayaking and snorkelling and picnic cruises..it was awesome..affordable and well worth it!
Do not shop around the resort because all are high end places..go to old SanJuan.
Excellent shopping...super cheap and awesome finds!
Overall I would def recommend this hotel! The head conceirge Ms. Louise was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

My husband & I spent 2 nights after our cruise. I'm so glad that my hubby decided to upgrade to the towers, oceanfront. The view was spectacular from our veranda, and we left the door open to hear the waves at night. My husband loved swimming in the big waves at the beach, I preferred the infinity pool. Very nice resort, and would definitely stay there again, in an oceanfront room. The only noise we heard at night was the ocean. The only thing we were surprised at was at Solera (the poolside cafe). We ordered 2 margaritas, and the waiter returned with 2 large glasses.(Everyone else had small plastic cups). Price: $15 for 1 glass....so you might ask some ??? about your drink order ahead of time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

We were in San Juan for both business and pleasure, so we brought our two kids! the resort was wonderful, very clean, our ocean front view was spectacular! I did not have any problems with the noise and most nights we were in early due to our running around during the day! We did not eat at the hotel much, but it was convenient to everything! I highly recommend it for couples or families!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knottalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

Nice rooms, hotel, pools, restaurants, beach is sufficient...but, every night the music is very loud, early into the morning. Three o'clock both nights we were there. That comes from the lobby bar and the street(Condado Beach area I believe is where the hotel was) bars. Ask for a room on at least the ninth floor...believe there are only 12. The resort definitely trends young and the lobby bar scene is something to see for sure. The beautiful people do congregate there. If you're 30 you'll love it..we're not. But bring at least twice the amount of money you expect to spend. It's a city hotel on the beach. Oh...tough getting lounge chairs by the pool too. The beach was no problem that way. Another note: the pools on the beach side are NOT in the sun during the day, only the pool areas on the city/street side are. I guess I would have to say we would not stay there again.

On the other hand, Old San Juan is where we would go again. We debated staying at the El Covento Hotel right in OSJ and saw it while we were there. Fantastic. I couldn't switch because it was a travel discounter packaged deal. (Which is another topic to discuss at some point) We will only stay there next time. It couldn't be MORE different from the LaConcha...think South Beach Miami for LaConcha area. OSJ is terrific..quaint, small streets, lots of cobblestone, hundreds of shops and restaurants all walking distance. When you think of San Juan and Puerto Rico, OSJ is it. And we didn't even get out to the west coast of PR where it is beautiful and unlike either OSJ or the Condado beach area. But overall...say "si" to Puerto Rico. We will go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azwurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

Hip and happening hotel. Definitely feels more like an adult-only place but not kid unfriendly. Very helpful staff --although pace is a lot more leisurely and typical of Caribbean places -- we're from NY so our standard for responsiveness is probably unfair. Good beach location -- not swimable for young ones, tides are pretty strong but good fun for adults. Everyone from front desk, Level 25 (b-fast place), Solera (pool / beach), housekeeping are super friendly and feel like they really enjoy what they do. Layout is very Miami SoBe-esque. Lots of comfortable sitting, open layout.
Would definitely return here.
Did Old San Juan (try Toro Salao -- great service, very friendly wait staff, on Donnell (??) St). El Yunique was very cool and even if you're not hard core outdoor type, the 0.8 mile trek La Mina waterfall was just right in terms of difficulty.
Only thing I wish was that pool was heated but then again, if it was it'd be too crowded. Just cold enough to keep folks out of the water.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing