We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Concha very pleasant & fun vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Concha very pleasant & fun vibe”
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed at La Concha for a few days on either end of a week traveling Puerto Rico. It made great bookends to our visit. The hotel has very pleasant energy. Style outstanding, cleaniness very good. Even as a bustling, hip Saturday night gathering spot, it was not overwhelming. Staff might be a bit distracted by hipness of the whole situation. Had some trouble getting attention to closet door that wouldn't open, but we were finally moved. Wifi service was quite unreliable.
La Perla restaurant was an excellent experience. Breakfast in regular dining room was very fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYnyvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,286
    2,040
    643
    246
    177
See reviews for
1,637
2,926
193
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I couldn't be happier with La Concha. I traveled with my longtime boyfriend and another couple. Upon arriving they didn't have a room at the price we booked so we received a free upgrade-SWEET! Our room was on the 9th floor so we did not experience the musty scent of the ocean as mentioned in several previous posts. The room was pretty standard, but it was nice. The pools were beatiful and it was so nice to wake up and see and hear the ocean. The staff was friendly, especially Louise at the concierge desk. She helped us map out our driving routes and gave us good advice on dining. Also, the turn down service workers were nice enough to leave lots more towels for us everyday. We were so tired every night that we completely slept through the clubby music blasting at the lobby club. I can see how that may get annoying, but it didn't bother us. We ate at the hotel once, at La Perla. AND WHAT AN EXPERIENCE! If you decide to stay here, definitely dine at La Perla.
Other tips-rent a car, it came in handy to get to the Camuy Caves; go on a rappelling/zipling/hiking excursion in the rain forest; see the Camy Caves

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We tried La Concha after looking at different locations around the world with good beaches, Carribean feel and great service. Unfortunately we were only able to get 2 out of three.

We loved the rooms and the view, and the beach was wonderful, but unfortunately the service we received from the hotel was absolutely horrible.

When we arrived, we received a nice room and called down to get extra linens for the pullout bed for our children. After calling down we went down to the grill to have dinner. Well dinner took 1.5 hours just to receive all of our meals, and when we came back we still hadn't received the linens. It took an additional 4 calls to get them up to our room. The following day we started having issues with housekeeping, and issues they were. After asking for a 10am clean up with the manager Eddie Sipple, this only happened twice, the rest of the time housekeeping didn't show up till at least 4:30 pm. We then only received turn down service twice out of 7 nights.

On the third day the wife took the kids down to the ocean to play in the sand and to play in the ocean. The beach attendant told her that she wasn't allowed to play in front of the meeting room as they wanted a clear view of the ocean. This was uncalled for especially on a "Public" beach.

Twice while there I contact Eddie to try and correct the problems yet the service still lacked any personality or sincerity. On the last day we were there, everything came to a head and we came home after swimming for 2.5 hours to our door open. We called down to the front desk and we were told that there must be an issue with the door and that it was our fault. After explaining to her that they came in for turn down service and left the door wide open, they young lady didn't even say sorry. I think talked with the manager as we were very unhappy that our valuables have been left available for anyone to take. We were lucky that nothing was taken, but this was unacceptable. The next day we called for a wake up call that never came, and left the resort for back home. Needless to say this day didn't come too soon. We travel the globe to fine places everywhere, and this was absolutely the worst experience I have ever had at a resort. The lack of sincerity is what confused me. In my opinion, this is a 5 star hotel amenity wise, but 2.5 stars service wise. If you are looking at wanting a vacation of service, fair warning you might now find it here.

If they could update the service, it would definitely be a great place to stay. Buyer Beware.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Not Family friendly. Plenty of "suspicious" women lingering around to be "hired" at the bar/lobby area. Not clean- The sheets smelled bad and my husband stabbed his foot on a "foreign toenail" on the carpet the first day we were there. We had the double queen beds and the the desk attached to where the TV was located was a triangular shape with the corner sticking out where my kids kept getting injured. There were what appeared to be security guards sitting in front of our room the first 3 days. Not sure who was staying there, but they would talk on their phones and you could hear everything. Not to mention the last Sunday of each month a jazz festival is held next door where music is overwhelmingly loud.We were unable to sleep because the music was more loud than the air conditioning coming from the vent and the leaky toilet that would refill its tank every five minutes so it sounded like some was turning on a sink every five minutes for 2 minutes and then turning it off. The service by the pools was awful, we would wait at least 10-15 minutes each time we went for a drink. Overrated and overpriced for what you're getting.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soshymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Our stay at La Concha in San Juan was nothing short of perfection. The facility is beautiful, the staff is friendly, and the location is excellent. The concierge was very helpful. The highlight of the property are the many pools and areas to lounge and enjoy the beautiful view. I would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Downside: room wasn't ready when we arrived, which seems to be a common theme on other reviews. We got there around 4:30 or so. They bought us a drink at the bar while we waited. Not a big deal. Beyond that, this is a great place.

Upside: As noted elsewhere, the decor is modern/art deco. Very cool. The concierge is very helpful. Great for dinner suggestions and ideas for things to do. Rooms are clean and roomy. As someone suggested, go get your drinks at Walgreens and stick them in the fridge. A/C keeps the rooms very cool and comfy. Showers are walk in with the rain down spout. Beds were comfy. It could get noisy (we were on the 4th floor) at times if your A/C wasn't running, but it wasn't too bad.

Things we did and reccommend you do as well
-Cheap breakfast at Latin Star (just down the road).
-Ropa Vieja for dinner (walking distance). Authentic PR cuisine.
IL Postino (really Il)-italian--basically across the street. Fantastic italian. I wasn't planning on going for italian in PR. Best I have had in a long long time. They do breakfast there, but we weren't up for a big bkfst so we never made it.
-El Jibarito in old SJ---authentic. yummy
-Mexican place down the street (next to a pizza place). Went there 2X. Again, wasn't planning on going there, but we did and were happy we did.
-There is a bakery/deli/dinner place on Calle Luisa. Spanish menu only. Amazing food. Go there.
-We rented a car from the hotel and drove to the rainforest. That is the way to do it. Go to the falls. Very cool. You don't need a tour guide. Hotel will hook you up with directions.
-Bacardi tour is well done also.
-Fitness center is very very nice.
-Best way to use internet is to find the ethernet cord in your room and plug it into the back of the phone. Don't try to get on wireless. It sucks. Go wired and you'll be fine.
-Go to the fort in old SJ. Very cool.

We didn't have our kids w/us. There were some kids here, but it isn't exactly the most kid friendly place. The pools, while fine for me swim in and drink in, don't have much for kids to do. Not as many kid activities in other words, except for the beach. That all being said, it was pretty quiet and laid back which was perfect to read / sun myself.

I'd go back here without reservation. I was impressed with SJ in general. Food was amazaing. Tell the hotel you want authentic PR food and eat that. Don't go to Chilis etc. You can do that here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indycoltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Although most reviews I read were good, I still wasn't getting my hopes up for the amenities at La Concha. The pictures don't do it justice. It was a top notch place. Breakfast is pricey, but usual for renaissance's. The restaurant was great, drinks are $10 each - but wonderful. I recommend getting a pitcher when by the pool...a better deal!.

Great location, with plenty of restaurants to walk to nearby. And the pool was 24 hours, which is a definite bonus over other resorts!

The concierge (all of them) were also very helpful in suggesting activities and went above and beyond to help coordinate and book them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing