We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Started out rocky but got better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Started out rocky but got better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent five nights at the resort and had a great time. It started out a little bit rocky but got much better. The grounds were quaint and beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful and the pools and beaches were great! The views were also great! Not recommending for kids - but
Great for couples and going out!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,795
    1,850
    583
    217
    153
See reviews for
1,454
2,589
169
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Spent a few nights here for a bachelor party. The best part of the hotel is how modern and trendy it is. They have 3 visually excellent pools and two hot tubs. the main pool has different levels with a cascading waterfall and is very appealing. They also have an infinity pool that is on the beach. They have a casino with a friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are a slight notch below what I would expect for the price but the rest of the hotel more than makes up for it. Location is good, centrally located on the beach, less than 10 minute taxi ride from Old San Juan, and about the same to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaveryChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We spent five nights at La Concha, in the Condado area, and could not have been happier. We arrived at midnight on a Friday night/Saturday morning, and were a little concerned because the bar area near the lobby was filled with partiers and loud music. But the check-in was swift, and the front desk directed us to the suite-tower elevators, which took us to the ninth floor. From there (a city-view room, which we loved) we couldn't hear any noise beyond some minor street sounds. It was serene, and the view over the city to the lush green hillsides was lovely. Would definitely recommend opting for the suite tower. The rooms were great, and the chamber staff was fabulous.

The best feature for us was definitely the adults-only pool area, which had its own entrance to the beach. There seemed to be plenty of families with children there, and it was nice to have a place to go that was never too crowded or noisy. In fact, we hardly visited the other three(!) pools that La Concha has on site.

We didn't try much of the on-site restaurants, but for roughly the same prices we found marvelous food nearby (try Jose Enrique, you won't be disappointed!). For breakfast, take a quick trip across the street to Pinky's. Their breakfast sandwiches are great, and they grind all their coffee fresh to order, which is a nice touch. We also enjoyed a couple nice breakfasts at Di Zucchero, and Italian place with a Puerto Rican flare just down the street.

In short, opt for the suite, make the best of the central location by trying out nearby restaurants, and spend plenty of time in the adults-only pool area! We might try a different part of the island on our next trip, but will always remember La Concha as a great start to our visits to Puerto Rico!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Tyler M.,

The time taken to review our hotel is very much appreciated and we are humbled by your comments just to know that La Concha was a great start to your visits to Puerto Rico. This is why we do what we do to ensure a stay that is second to none. We are known for fun and relaxation and I am glad that you were able to enjoy the experience during your stay. You are also on the spot regarding the adult infinity pool.

If there is anything myself or my team could have done better, please do not hesitate in reaching out to me directly.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice, some places are a little date. I had a ocean view room in the "old" tower - so great view of the beach. Buffet is outstanding, but expect to pay ($~25). I understand parking is a challenge, so walk to great local restaurants. Staff is very friendly and professional. They have live music in the lobby at night. I'd recommend this place and I have stayed here 3 time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Cordon J.,

Third visit! Well we will continue to strive to ensure your fourth, fifth, etc. is even better. Keep the feedback coming as if there is anything we can do better we want to know about it. I am glad you keep coming back and look forward to personally welcome you next time!

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

La Concha is hands down THE place to be in San Juan. My husband and I knew we were in excellent hands the moment we arrived and Felix greeted us. He made us feel so genuinely welcomed and did so throughout our 7 day stay. His smile and laugh were absolutely contagious. We love Felix!!! Roberto M. is another awesome addition to the team, as he was incredibly helpful and welcoming too. The resort is gorgeous, and the nighttime "energy" in the lobby was so much fun. La Concha is such a romantic atmosphere and we cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel staff was awesome. Concierge Michael Tischler was so helpful. He called all over town trying to locate a PR baseball for us. He stood out during our trip. Another standout was George Rodriquez (director of food & bev).

The hotel restaurant meals were fantastic....we dined a 3 restaurants: sushi, voga, solera - our best recommendation is the beef from solera. It rivals any beef plate we have ever had.

We loved the open air flow of the lobby....very trendy, nice lighting, bar, music and casino.

The first room we were put in was terrible - the reservation folks should have known better. This and lack of a timely breakfast room service are the reasons our "service" experience was poor.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite tower.....these are great rooms. Do not get an end room like 301....it is very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

when you arrive by either car or taxi, being greeted by Felix is like no other greeting before... He is a true ambassador of the hotel delivering impeccable customer service. Then proceeding to the front desk, check-in and check-out is very quick and with the same great smiles and cheer as Felix. Then after after a long day in the sun or in case a long day of work, Jimmy or Kristine will serve you with a very nice beverage in the lobby bar. When at LaConcha you are surrounded by cheer, smiles, service and just a great energy to be in... Enjoy


Stayed August 2014

Room Tip: Ocean front, only way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D0ug_T127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 5,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing