We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay but won't get a suite second time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Really nice resort. It's a Marriott property so having an elite status would get you access to their executive lounge. Everyone at the property was really friendly and nice, 4 pools in total, 2 of them are infinity pools... One thing I didnt like was the way their suites are designed, it's just stretched in a straight line making living room and kitchenette area pretty dark.
Waves are very choppy around this resort,so be watchful of that. As per our guide for BioBay, this region of island has most number drowning reports. not sure how true but water did look scary.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Airplane787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,579)
There are newer reviews for La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,957 - 3,963 of 7,579 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a nice room in the tower. The view was grand and the room itself was clean. The staff in general was both accommodating and friendly...except for the front desk and concierge. These areas need attention. The check in area was confusing, no real line identification and the people who were behind the counter were very disorganized, poorly trained and were not friendly.

We tried several times to speak to the concierge, never accomplished that task, we finally left after standing around for around for over 15 minutes...and, not just once. We called the concierge for information about a local restaurant...guess what? We never got a call back.

As for the front desk, calling that area was a waste of time, we asked a question and all we heard was "I don't know, I have to ask my manager". No follow through, still have no idea whether our problems were resolved or not.

The phone in our room only worked sometimes, half the time there was no dial tone.

They had some crazy drum blasting show in the casino, a guy on stilts, showgirls and lots of horns...real loud and repetitive. Odd venue for the show as the casino is very small and the aisles are tight, they wandered down the aisle space and blasted our ears off for at least 20 minutes. The group then proceeded to continue the process at the entrance of the casino, just in case they thought we missed some of the repetitive show...groan. I went to the casino to gamble, not to see a show.

The pools were nice and the pool side service was good.

Good location for restaurant/bar hopping.

Room Tip: Tower rooms overlooking the beach, wonderful view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LillyBKDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo R, Front Office Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear DarleneK8691,

We would like to thank you for the feedback provided from your recent stay with us. It is very disappointing to learn that your experience with us didn’t go as expected and we would like to truly apologize for all the inconveniences encountered at the front desk and concierges and believe we will improve in both areas.

Our goal is to provide our guests with the best experience possible, so we’ll be sure to share and discuss your feedback with our managers in order to identify areas of opportunity for improvement and provide additional trainings to our associates.

I would love to have a second chance to provide you with an amazing stay, so please if you are planning to come back to Puerto Rico contact me directly at (787) 721-7500 Ext. 6001.

Cordially,

Eduardo Rivera
Director of Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Travel to Puerto Rico often for business but it was my first time staying at La Concha. Beautiful lobby with a lot of activity. Very trendy hotel with great facilities. Must try the sushi bar, especially the volcano roll. The breakfast buffet was underwhelming but dinner was always great. Definitely my first choice of hotel when I return to Puerto Rico.Great location, on the beach and also on a very busy street with a lot of activity.Rooms are on the small side.Elevators by the tower suite takes too long!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed in the Suite Tower from 2/23-3/1 and it was great.

A modern, upscale resort in San Juan with nice meeting space.

The pool and beach access were both fantastic. Nearby to several restaurants, high-end shopping and bars, it was a fun location to enjoy San Juan.

The staff were very attentive to our needs & quick to provide the needed items we'd forgotten.

Located near the Laguna del Condado, we were able to enjoy a great afternoon of stand-up paddle boarding as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonbol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Skip the Ritz. La Concha is awesome. Food, drink, restaurants, swimming pools for days. They even have a wonderful infinity pool facing the ocean that is adults only (which they enforce!). Casino is great. Sushi bar. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kidrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

there are 2 towers...the right tower seems like a refurbished Embassy Suites hotel. It was very nice with kitchenette that included a full-size refrigerator and freezer, two burner cook top and microwave....dishes and pans provided!

Multiple pools, including an illusion pool - from the "back side" it looks like it rolls right into the ocean

the staff was VERY friendly, although the food service was sometimes "forgetful"...but they always made up for it with a warm smile

We loved our visit here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights at La Concha with friends back in October. I've traveled to San Juan several times previously for work and knew from past experience that Condado was the best area for beach access and proximity to restaurants. The concierge lounge was great and had a private outdoor dining area overlooking the beach and quiet pool. Komakai, the on-site Japanese restaurant/sushi bar was exceptionally good as well. The rooms in our tower were a little odd with a heavy glass door separating the bedroom (and climate control) from the bathroom but no complaints about the beachfront view. Overall a great spot that's close to all the San Juan attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,188 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
17.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $215 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing