We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at La Concha and once again it was a good place to stay in San Juan. It offers beach, pools, gym, food, casino and nightlife.

We dined at the Perla restaurant and enjoyed out meal and experience there.

We also like that the hotel is walking distance to convenience stores and places to eat.


  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nycstripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,332
    2,054
    654
    250
    185
See reviews for
1,669
2,958
200
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Twp MI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location! Many pro's....the grounds are immaculate, love the beach, love the night time atmosphere, room was modern and clean. Con's...stayed in the new suite tower and unfortunately we were facing the "city view". Well, it's not much of a view and the worse part is the very, very loud music from the club across from the hotel until 3/4:00am!!! I'm sure the hotel can do nothing about it. If we go back to the LaConcha I will definitely get a resort and ocean view room...worth paying more!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank momilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

La Concha always provides great service. The location is great in Condado. Solara restaurant is a great choice for food and drinks. Josep is a great bartender and provides excellent service and recommendations on food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice hotel, the pool area was excellent, especially the one next to the beach! Perfect hotel for couples, with 2 very romantic jacuzzi's.
However, the staff at this property is horrible! It is interesting how bad staff can ruin such a nice property! They are full of themselves, rude, arogant!
At check out, we paid in cash and can you imagine, one week after my departure suddenly a charge appears on my credit card!! When I informed the hotel they were pretenging that they do not have a payment for me!! Of course I immediately notified my bank and filed a report but still-this should never happen! All in all, horrible experience, if you want to be charged twice for the same thing-do not visit this property!!!!! They will try to steal your money!!!!!
We also stayed at Intercontinental, very pleasant stay and staff!!

Room Tip: Do not give your credit card detailes or they will abuse it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MonikaNici1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This property is a mix between the corporate crowd and tourists. We stayed for 3 nights and had a very comfortable stay with excellent service, clean & comfortable rooms, nice executive lounge (for Elite members), very nice multi-tier pool area in the middle and adults-only infinity pool (sunlight only until 1PM), and a cool vibe lobby bar that was typically always hopping with live music on some nights. Location is good – quick bus ride to Old San Juan or a 10-minute cab ride and lots of restaurants and bars nearby on Condado.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front (vs. ocean view) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited this hotel for the second time and for the second consecutive New Years weekend. We went back intentionally so that is a positive endorsement by itself. The major improvement is the addition of a second door within the room so that the sleeping area is better protected against the very loud music/sound from the large pool area at night. The rooms on the seventh floor had the second door. Last year (when there was no second door) the noise was a real problem. Even the bedding seemed better this year.

Our request to change rooms when we arrived was honored. We don't often make this request, but we had two rooms and needed to be placed differently.

The pool area is excellent, but it was very crowded due to the holiday. It mostly works even when crowded. I continue to be miffed that alcoholic drinks will be delivered to people in glasses (not plastic) in the pool. This is a safety issue and defies plainly posted signs around the pool.

The beach area is very nice and is used by most guests, feels very safe by reason of hotel security, and is right behind the hotel. The ocean water is warm and the waves fun to play in. Unlike the pool area, seating is virtually unlimited.


The primary reason to stay at La Concha is the pool, beach and its excellent location on Ashford. You can walk everywhere and have the choice of many restaurants. You don't need a car to enjoy this vacation (but you would need a taxi to get to old San Juan). There is a strong police on foot presence on Ashford that is obviously intended to make tourists feel at ease.

The mix of people around the hotel is good - everyone fits in. Families, couples, people of many ages. Most guests (but not all) seemed to be North Americans. At night it is a gathering spot for people who like to party, but the transformation is well done and does not effect those of us who are not into the party scene.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
media, pa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Traveled with another couple and we all agreed we loved La Concha. Felix welcomed us as family and we felt like it. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed in 1118 in the ocean tower and our friends were in 1121. Their room was more spacious and had a sitting area/couch. Theirs had a small balcony (maybe one foot deep and 6 feet wide - big enough to stand outside and take in the view but nothing more). Our room, though w/o balcony, offered a full glass view of the beach with a window that slid open wide, so not complaining. The gym facility and pools were immaculate. (Took yoga class offered - Ella was great, would have loved to take more! But all equipment was great and overlooking beach). We dined at Voga one morning for the buffet breakfast but otherwise headed outside the hotel.

There are so many places within walking distance for drinks, dining and shopping (we loved Oceana just around the corner for cocktails on the beach). A quick 10 minute cab ride ($15ish) will get you to Old San Juan. Last time we visited PR we stayed in Old San Juan but enjoyed more staying at the beach and cabbing into town rather than the reverse. If I had to list any complaints, it would be that the wifi doesn't quite reach fully out the pool area. If that's my only complaint, you can see how happy I was with this stay.

Room Tip: Beach tower is worth the extra $$! 1118 and 1121 were great. 1121 has a small balcony and a sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evodkativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing