We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing visit at LaConcha - quality service, modern facility, great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing visit at LaConcha - quality service, modern facility, great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I took my 2 older sons (10 & 8) to Puerto Rico for spring break. Our first stop was La Concha in San Juan. Everything about this hotel is quality. The facility is modern and stylish. The pools are also stylish and offer variety - from the two-level pool in the courtyard to the pool "beach side" (you can sit in the pool & watch your kids play on the beach or in the ocean) to the beach itself. We stayed in a standard room (two queen beds) upper floor Oceanside. We slept with the sliding glass doors open and could hear the ocean crashing on the beach all night - it was magical - and my boys still count it as one of their favorite memories. Many restaurants & shops within walking distance of the hotel. We had breakfast "al fresco" on the terrace of the restaurant - lots of fresh local fruits which my boys loved. The hotel staff were VERY friendly, helpful & accommodating (late check out - no problem; need to find a hostess gift for a local friend - no problem; need to park your car for a bit after check out - no problem).

Room Tip: Ocean front, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,200
    2,011
    634
    244
    173
See reviews for
1,605
2,882
188
680
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the resort during the thanksgiving week and really enjoyed out stay. We were upgraded to ocean view suite from partial ocean view suite and that was just the start of a wonderful 4 day stay. The suite is large and maintained well. The staff was extremely friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed it. The breakfast buffet spread was good enough for $25/person which also included eggs and waffle station. For lunch and dinner we tried restaurants which are walking distance from the hotel. We also walked to old San Juan from the hotel which was about 45min walk but we really enjoyed the walk. There is a casino attached to the hotel which is decent but nothing fancy. There are 3 different pools in the hotel and if you are living in the suite tower then there is separate pool for those guests where kids are not allowed. All in all a great property.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We arrived on the property and our faces lit up instantly. It was boyfriend's 40th birthday and he had no idea where we were staying. The smile that came upon his face let me know I picked a winner. The staff was welcoming from the time we step out of the taxi until we checked out to head back home. They was no problem checking into our room before 4pm, it was explained to us in advance our room may not be ready but luck was on our side. One day we decided to stay in and place the Shhh.... ( do not disturb) sign on the door and no one disturb us. However by the evening we received a call from the front desk to see if we would need any room service, extra towels, etc.... I have stay in several hotels before and no one reach out to me when the do not disturb sign was visible to check on our needs. On the eve of my boyfriend's birthday the night manager and his staff helped me plan a surprise happy birthday celebration once 12am struck. We enjoyed every part of our stay from hotel décor, the oceanfront view from our room and to the professionalism and interactions we received from staff made me want to give a review.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We picked La Concha from a bunch of options from JetBlue for a “Getaways” package over Thanksgiving weekend and we are very glad we did. We had an ocean view room (in the non-suite building) and the ocean side wall was just one giant window – beautiful! The room was a good size with plenty of room for the bed, a desk and sitting area with a “fainting couch”. The closets were a good size with shelves that made up for the fact that there were only two small bureau drawers per person. There was also storage under the bedside tables. The safe was a big one as well. The room was bright with light walls and bright color accents throughout. There are plenty of lights in all the right places. The one drawback is that the temperature is set at 68 degrees, which you cannot change, and we generally like a cooler room. The bathroom was enormous – with lots of shelf space for all of our toiletries, which so many hotels lack. The shower was on the European model with a half door and removable hand-held shower head – there was also a “rain” shower head. Between the main door to the room (opening from the courtyard side of the hotel) and an interior glass door to the room itself was a small foyer. The bathroom was off the foyer and it also contained the fridge, coffee pot and ice bucket. (Free bottled water every day!). The foyer insulates you from any noise from the courtyard pool area. The room is remarkably quiet we did not hear our neighbors or any of the music from the poolside bar. The resort boasts a relatively large fitness center with glass wall on two sides with one overlooking the beach. The beach has a jetty that keeps the water swirling and great for body surfing, but if you’re not a strong swimmer I’d walk down the beach a bit. It’s not a white sand beach, but nice nonetheless. The lobby was all decked out for the holidays and was tastefully decorated. The pool area was beautiful with lots of plants and couches with umbrellas all over and lots of chairs. The staff were uniformly helpful - even loaning umbrellas on a rainy night. The hotel is in a great location - we walked to Orozco, Bar Gitano, Oceano, Casa Lola, Ropa Vieja and Ben & Jerry’s for our meals.

Room Tip: We had room 711 - ocean view king (in the non-suite building) - with a wall of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. The lobby, friendly staff and everything there was perfect.
The pool and beach area were just beautiful. There were plenty of seating areas. We had dinner at all the restaurants in the hotel. We had an incident at one where we actually got up and left for being ignored and people seated long after us were being served where we had not even been said hello to other than by the hostess who sat us. apparently they were short staffed that night and very confused, We went to the other restaurant and had a fantastic meal. All in all it was a fantastic 2day stay before our cruise.

Room Tip: Just a hint. If your a coffee drinker there is a Dunkin Doughnuts across the street. The hotel coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I went to La Concha for the weekend to celebrate my friends birthday and the experience was amazing. The environment was everything you could ask for. The people were friendly and helpful especially when suggesting where to go. There were two hotel workers that made my experience even more amazing was Felix and Antonio they make that hotel even better then it is. If you go to la concha and you get to meet these guys you know it will be a good stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank berroaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved our stay here. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean. The Beach was great, but the waves were very strong. The staff was friendly and helpful.The room was clean and spacious. The lobby bar tended to be very at night.

We thought the location was ideal. There are a lot of restaurants located within walking distance of the hotel. Plus, Old San Juan is a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,765 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing