We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife, daughter and I just spent a week here. Great experience. The location is very convenient as the cab ride from the airport was decent and affordable ($20) but far enough away to not hear the airport noise. There were many excellent restaurants within walking distance to the hotel as well as a Walgreens right up the street and a Supermax Grocery store and Walmart also nearby to pick up snacks, etc. cabs were plentiful and the municipal bus stop was right outside. A trip to Old San Juan took no more than 20 minutes and cost $.75!

The beach was public in front of the hotel but was clean and never crowded. You weren't hustled by people hawking things. Some vendors did come by with ice cream and coconuts for sale but weren't intrusive. Both were excellent. The hotel had three pools. The main one off the lobby was nice but could get a little crowded. The pool by the beach was also nice but was very crowded. It seemed to be the choice for the families and wedding parties there. We liked the third (infinity) pool the best. It was away from the others and was restricted to ages 15 and over. Aside from an occasional loud cell phone talker, it was a quiet retreat with great beach views. The hotel staff at all three pools and the beach was excellent. Attentive without being intrusive. They also had free cold water at all pool locations.

Since there were so many great restaurants in the nearby neighborhood, we didn't eat in the hotel. The hotel bar was very cool and had great drinks but was a little expensive. There were some great bars on the surrounding streets all running various specials, some with live music or sports so you have plenty of choices.

The hotel staff was very friendly. The concierge Jeffrey was incredibly helpful. My daughter has Celiacs so my wife had called ahead to ask about options. Jeffrey had many suggestions, all good and also helped us while there.

Our only down side while there was in the Concierge Lounge. I am a Marriott Gold member so get to visit a decent amount of lounges throughout Marriott. I have always been treated well. In the evenings, Christina had suggestions for activities and restaurants that were all spot on. She is one of the best Concierge lounge people I have worked with. The mornings were another story. While we saw many families in the lounge, Michael the morning concierge all but accosted my wife because we had an "extra" person in the lounge and he wanted to charge her another $35 per day. While it is their policy, the lounge was not different than any other Marriott lounge. In addition, there were no choices (other than some fruit) for someone with Celiacs. He was rude and abrupt at other times so although we had free access, we went elsewhere for breakfast as my wife felt uncomfortable when he was there. Although the rooms were clean, Housekeeping was a little lax but when we did have issues, they were quickly resolved. The rest of the staff was incredible and very accommodating.

One change was actually a blessing. When we checked in, they did not have the room type we reserved. Instead of having a room with two beds, we were given a suite in the suite tower which had a king, pull out bed, full fridge, microwave and stove. The room was huge and we liked the city view as well. We could see and hear all the sights and sounds of the vibrant street scene outside. We had plenty of room for the three of us and could also keep snacks, drinks and make popcorn at night. I would suggest requesting a room in this part of the hotel as the space was great.

Overall, this hotel was excellent an we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Suite Tower is the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,287
    2,041
    643
    246
    177
See reviews for
1,638
2,927
193
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel beginning October for 2 nights. The room was a suite divided in bedroom and a living room with a kitchenette, it looked fairly new and renovated, spacious enough for the 3 of us. The hotel is located on a busy road with Casino and restaurants near by, what is convenient to walk to other retaurants and a Walgreens nearby but the Friday and Saturday night we stayed there were quite noisy with music till 3 am in the morning. So better ask at the reception which rooms are quieter! What is kind of annoying is that the AC system works in running and shutting off in between the whole time. We had one continental breakfast per day included in the room quote but werent' told until check out that it only applies for breakfasts taken in the lobby! So I had to discuss a bit that they took the extra charge from the breakfast restaurant away.The beach and pool area is very nice, be aware that there is an extra 26 $ "resort charge" per day automatically added to the room!
The hotel is located just 15 min. from the airport and also a 10 minutes drive to the big Mall Las Americas, what was great for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and we had a great experience. The room was very spacious and nice and the view of the ocean and the beach superb. We had a king bed and a sofa bed for the kids, this last one shouldn't have been considered a bed since it was pretty uncomfortable. Very well located so we could walk to all the restaurants in the area, we didn't try any restaurant at the hotel. It also has a very nice swimming pool area and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very good hotel. My wife and I stayed for a 3 day weekend without the kids. We had an ocean front room on a high floor - and it was fantastic. The room was simple (king bed, about 400 sq ft) but it had a beautiful view of the beach with a wonderful balcony. The service was solid and helpful. You aren't pampered by any means, but the service is attentive. The beach felt private even though it was public (except for the ices vendor who kept ringing his bell). We ate almost every meal at the hotel - and at every restaurant. Food was solid all around. Perla was lovely, albeit expensive. The food at the pool was expensive but well prepared. Casino right in your hotel made it easy to visit. You don't get the feeling you are anyway exotic, but if you want little fuss, and easy to navigate hotel - it is solid choice. The pools are tiny, but the infinity pool still well placed and maintained. The waves at the hotel are strong - which was fun to play in, but can be dangerous. I wouldn't recommend hotel for young kids if you could afford a similarly priced hotel more geared toward kids, I'd opt elsewhere. But for adults or groups, high recommendation. I wish there was a spa (if there was one, I didn't see it) -- I think it would do good business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matttyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went here in October of 2013 for a long bachlorette weekend. From the first time you come in everything is sleek and clean and relaxing. Our flight arrived early in the morning so we thought we would have to wait for a room to be ready. Thankfully check-in was seamless and they not only had a room ready for us but they had options for us to choose from. We weren't sure what type of room would work for us since there were 4 of us so we were able to go up and take a look at the ready room. The room was clean and fantastic and everyone was courteous and nice the whole time we were there. The pool areas were great and the food and drinks (while pricey) were great. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone and will also consider it for myself the next time I am traveling to San Juan.

Room Tip: If you have a room with a kitchen, the Walgreens down the block is 24 hours and you can save some mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talietash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at La Concha based on the reviews u read and I have to say the the place lived up to everything I read. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The lobby bar is more like a night club in the evenings. There are great shops right around the corner. We had a great time at the beach and at the pools. Our server Hector was so very nice to us and so hospitable and made us feel so welcome! He shared so many wonderful stories !! So many others there were great as well. I only have the best things to say about this place!!! The only bad thing was an older concierge that didnt seem very enthusiastic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at this hotel. Another review complained about the "motel style." Yes the rooms are accessed by an outside corridor but the reason is so they can maximize the space facing the ocean. Incredible views! Service is unbelievable. We tried most of the restaurants and all are delicious. We could not hear the disco from our room. We had a great time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing