We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracias!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Florida
1 review
“Gracias!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have the pleasure and honor of staying at the beautiful La Concha on a weekly basis. The staff is amazing and provide us with the utmost in customer service and care. I have so many commendations that I hope I do not forget anyone. I will start with the staff members of the Ocean Lounge.

Cristina, Michael, Allen, and Ian are absolutely amazing! They are such a credit to your establishment and their efforts should be recognized and applauded. We see Michael in the morning and Cristina in the evening and upon each meeting we are always greeted with the warmest smiles and welcomes. Because of them, La Concha is my home away from home.

Please recognize them for their outstanding professionalism, work ethics, attention to detail and kindness. They make me believe that exemplary customer service still exists in our world.

Thank you,

Dr. Ann Jackman

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Dr. Jackman,

First of all, thank you for your loyalty! We appreciate you sharing your hotel experience with us. I was excited to learn that you consider our Resort your “Home Away from Home” and that we have lived up to your expectations providing you with excellent service during each of your frequent stays. I will personally convey your wonderful comments to Cristina, Michael, Allen, and Ian from The Ocean Lounge for their superb continuous hospitality and service.

I look forward to personally meet you upon your next visit.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,782
    1,846
    582
    214
    152
See reviews for
1,448
2,581
168
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this hotel with 3 friends. This hotel is simply just fabulous and very chic. We appreciated the upgrade to a partial view suite in the Suite tower. Staff were all very friendly, willing to help and professional. Check-in staff forgot to give us some of the freebies that accompanied our rate plan. This was however rectified properly during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metito4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The property is attractive, but there are better options close by. Try the Conrad just down the street. Some of the towels in the room were stained and had tears. I had one issue while on the property, and instead of offering resolution, i received a lecture. Interesting approach to customer service...There are plenty of other options nearby.. I suggest staying elsewhere. Also note the resort fee which isn't mentioned upon check in...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArroyoA, Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Stephanie:

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We surely want to apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused during your stay. I was made aware of your distress and certainly wanted to provide you with my personal apologies and a suitable resolution. At the same time I felt the need to respect your stance of not been contacted any further, as uttered in your communication. I courteously hope that you can give me the opportunity to speak to you in the future and rebuild your trust in us.

Respectfully,

Alfredo Arroyo
aarroyo@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just got back from 4 nights in this beautiful hotel. I was concerned at first after a reading a few mixed reviews as I'm typically very picky about hotels, but we couldn't have been happier with La Concha. We chose a ocean front spa suite in the Suite Tower. I will say that while I didn't see the rooms in the Ocean tower, from the exterior alone, the Suite tower looked much nicer. Our room was beautiful, very spacious, modern and extremely clean. (Housekeeping did a fantastic job - our room was immaculate every day.) It looked like the spa suites all were on the 3rd floor and meant that we had a much larger balcony. In addition to the hot tub, we had a table and a lounge chair on the balcony and believe me when I say, the view was INCREDIBLE. We lucked out with a corner room which meant we had an amazing view of the ocean, beach, and infinity pool. The room had a little kitchen area with 2 burner stove, microwave, sink, and decent sized fridge and freezer with an ice maker. (There were even pots/pans, plates, glasses, etc.) I mention the kitchen because it was key in convenience and also probably saved us a bucnh of money. We went to the Walgreens up the street and stocked up on breakfast fare, water, beer, wine, etc. which saved us some money. Truthfully, we really preferred having breakfast on our balcony vs. spending the money in the lobby. Also, another tip - you can bring your own drinks with you to the beach, just bring them in a discreet cooler (think lunch box style vs. white styrofoam) and enjoy. Otherwise, drink prices can add up quickly!

The grounds are absolutley beautiful and really give you a "resort" feel. The beach is well kept as well and the water is beautiful. We noticed the water did tend to be a bit rougher than what we were used to, however in the mornings it wasn't too bad. We lucked out with great weather, it was warm and sunny each day, however there was a constant cool breeze which meant we could sit on the beach nearly all day without getting hot or uncomfortable. It was truly the perfect climate! The fitness center was nice as well - overlooked the beach and the ocean and was very clean.

While pricey, the Solara grill at the pool was convenient and the food was pretty good. (We did not try the other restaurants.) The lobby bartenders are great - inventive with drinks and very attentive and friendly. In general, all of the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly - they genuinely went out of their way to ensure we felt welcome and appreciated. (The only exception was the concierge - while friendly, they weren't overly helpful.)

I will say, I was disappointed in the neighborhood. While we felt generally safe in Condado (police patroled and the area was well-populated), it is a bit depressed - we were surprised at the number of closed buildings/storefronts. When I read "walking distance to the bars/restaurants" I just expected the neighborhood to be a bit more vibrant. That said, it was conveniently located to OSJ but we still had a beach and it was a very short cab ride from the airport.

In summary, if you have doubts about the hotel, don't worry! Stay in the suites tower and definitely choose an ocean view - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Definitely spend the money on an ocean front suite tower room. The view alone will make your entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jena5595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent four days at the La Concha resort. Stayed in a Suite which was fabulous for the price. The food was great and the Sangria was even better. Enjoyed hanging out at both pool and the beach and had no issues with space. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating.

The only issue we had was that we had reserved a Suite with the option for two double beds and even with an early check-in were told that that option was sold out. When asked what we had to do to confirm a double, we were told that you had to call the resort directly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I came to San Juan for a vacation and read some lovely reviews about La Concha and i was not disappointed. It wasnt our cheapest option but me and my two girlfriends decided we would pay extra to stay nearer to the ocean. AMAZING! The wait at the lobby was quite long, due to there being 7 weddings that weekend, and it was a tad bit on the cold side! However, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Our room was fantastic, big, and with all the amenities we could need and more! The staff made some fantastic recommendations for restaurants, and the food at the hotel was good too. The pools are kept clean and you're spoilt for choice when it comes to sun loungers and jacuzzi's. We spent a majority of our time in the infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The hotel bar is fantastic and we met plenty of people there. All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayshaysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed her on a business related trip for 4 nights. The hotel is perfectly located in a safe and alive neighborhood called Condado. A 15 min ride from SJU with a cab fare of $20. This area is clean, busy and has cops and security guards positioned at every corner. Felt very safe in and around the hotel. This area must be runners paradise as runners are constantly running up and down Ashford Street, paralle to the ocean. Our room was big, clean and had great amenities. Our room overlooked the ocean. The beach is clean but practice extreme caution if you enter into the water -- very, very choppy waves.
The reception staff are cordial -- the continental breakfast that was included in our hotel room package was not that great. The choices were full of sugar and fat -- no protein at all. Just bananas, yogurt and tons of pastries. I will surely go back to this hotel and this location. I am glad that I did not stay near Isla Verde which is closer to SJU.

Room Tip: ocean front for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalpeace99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,400 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 5,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing