We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We took a last minute getaway for 2 on our Marriott points and picked LaConcha over the 2 other Marriott offerings and are SO glad we did. Since we're platinum members, they upgraded us without asking to the top floor oceanfront with a balcony and what a view. The Ocean Club for rewards members was outstanding and with great amenities. The pools and beach were beautiful and every staff member was professional, attentive and courteous. We got great advice from both the valet and the concierge with regards to local places to eat and easy inexpensive ways to get around San Juan. We wanted a relaxing getaway and that's exactly what we got. And LaConcha was so fantastic that we know we will be back and will stay with them again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,971
    1,920
    591
    227
    163
See reviews for
1,499
2,707
178
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aracaju, SE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a charming property with a beautiful lobby, in a great location, near of some good restaurants. The beach area is good. We stayed in an oceanfront room in the Ocean Tower. The room was clean and comfortable with an amazing ocean view. The staff is friendly and helpful, specially at the concierge. Breakfast is OK. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book an oceanfront room, at a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel and the staff was so friendly!! Loved the infinity pools - small but it was not crowded at all. Our room was clean and very comforable!! We had a blast!! We ate at Perla (hotel resturant in picture) last time we were in PR we enjoyed it - checked the hotel out then and decided to stay here this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_02045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC (USA)
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and my parents (they're in their seventies; we're 42 and 52) for a post-Christmas trip. The ocean view rooms were as promised, with generous balconies and very nice bathrooms, though the decor was a bit motel-like. The hotel's amenities, including several pools and four restaurants, also make it appealing. But we knew we were in for some rocky service when we waited an hour for our meals in the almost-empty Italian restaurant (and another 25 minutes for coffee, which is baffling and unforgivable). Things really started to go south the next evening when the lobby bar was turned, from 5pm onwards, into a disco with throbbing techno music and flashing lights. My husband and I had wanted to have a nice, serene drink before dinner in the hotel's only bar but alas, no: apparently the hotel hosts a dance night weekly. Worse still, the following night we returned from dinner to find that we could hear loud dance music, as if right over our heads in what was supposed to be the quiet wing of the hotel. Apparently there was a wedding, one of several while we were staying there, in a banquet room right over our heads...two calls to the concierge did not reduce the music by one decibel...in fact on the second call he just said he couldn't turn down the music until the official end time of 2am and so he would just discount our room for the night, small compensation when one is kept up all night by blaring, and terrible, techno-pop. Who wants that at a wedding, anyway? The last straw was when the front desk could not, after repeated attempts, get it straight that we were checking out one day before my parents were...they ended up being locked out of their room before the situation was straightened out. I don't know if the staff is incompetent or just doesn't care, but it seemed at times like no one was running this hotel. Or that the person who was couldn't decide whether they wanted to cater to people who love super-loud dance music at all hours of the day and night, or the rest of us who don't.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingleseitalianato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Guest Relations Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Saludos Ingleseitalianato,

Thank you for letting us know your experience throughout your stay. It is very helpful. With positive news, we have a great new manager for our Italian Restaurant Voga. She is committed, we are committed to ensure that the service is speedy and filled with genuine hospitality to equal if not surpass the already favorable Italian cuisine. Your comments concerning the music in the lobby are absolutely being evaluated. Although on Friday and Saturday we have a hip DJ after 10pm, on weekdays we turn it down a notch to mellow your ears with local Latin beats and chic lounge rhythms.
We apologize for any confusion with the check out date of your reservations. We will work with listening to your needs to make certain your stay is flawless. I do hope that in the future you could give us another opportunity to prove this. If so, please contact me.

Jose Cepero
Director of Guest Services
jcepero@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Two years in a row we were completely satisfied with the hotel, room, pool, beach, breakfast, lunch and drinks. It was everything we remembered from our last trip and then some. The manager at the front desk JC Cappas always had a smile, worked long hours and made sure we were happy. Victor and Frankie at the Concierge desk gave us great restaurants and both remembered us from last year. Victor should be made a manager, he works like one. The hotel restaurant staff and food was perfect and reasonable. Our room was kept clean and we always had fresh towels and a made up bed. There were plenty of beach towels, umbrellas and lounge chairs, every day.
We felt safe, day and night and walked around the immediate area of the hotel without any problems. There are so many local restaurants, we never had to take a cab, but did so to go into Old San Juan, to walk through the local streets.
The hotel is kept very clean and our only regret is that our trip is over and we had to go home.

Room Tip: We stayed beach side last year and street side this year. If you need a larger room stay street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I wish I had done more research before booking in this hotel. The bed in this room is terrible! There is a huge indention The air conditioner is marginal at best.
We ate at Perla Restaurant and it was good. Very expensive. Look at menu before going in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chyleen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Pool and beach areas are somewhat small and lacking in refinement. Poolside service is slow; however the staff are all super friendly and very courteous throughout the property. The rooms are large and well laid out (1BR suite in Suite Tower) but the fixtures and finishes are not high end (example, tiling in shower area is low grade work). The restaurant for which the resort is named/famous for is elegant, but the food doesn't keep pace with the architecture. All in all, no complaints, considering the rack rates are a fraction of the St. Regis but certainly not eye-popping spectacular. The Ritz-Carlton is a bit nicer in terms of furnishings but suffers from the same lack of a truly nice beach--and La Concha definitely is in a better neighborhood if you want to go off the property to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing