We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better than Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Better than Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Recently, Nancy and I traveled to San Juan, Puerto Rico, to spend Thanksgiving. We stayed at La Conch Renaissance Resort in San Juan. This was our seventh or eighth stay and it was a WOW- better than ever!

If you are heading to San Juan and want to be on the ocean, close to the heart of the City, or just relax in a beautiful environment, this is the place! By the way, we are golfers and found you can be on several nearby spectacular courses quite easily from this hotel’s central location.

Located on Ashford Avenue, this hotel is a welcoming oasis among a sea of cookie cutter properties. When one arrives, the greeting is warm, genuine and effusive from the high energy door persons (recognizing you, they say “welcome home” instead of “welcome back” - a really great touch).

At La Concha one person handles the bags from the start (not a cast of thousands), escorts you to the front desk, and then brings you and your bags to your room. Along the way and up the elevator, they will brief you thoroughly on the hotel and its attractions as well as the local gossip, or, alternatively, both.

There is a terrific water feature right by the front door entrance. At night it is amazing, but when you first arrive it instantly begins to put you into a state of relaxation. One also begins to realize that music is playing everywhere, and it is definitely not elevator music.

The Lobby is bright and cool. When we arrived, there were Christmas Decorations and Christmas Trees (white) everywhere. (You have to ask a local about the Christmas Holiday in Puerto Rico. They really know how to keep Christmas!) Nifty lobby bar area that leads outside to the pool atrium area, which is awash in giant Palm trees, palm fronds and plantings that are straight out of a Steven Spielberg Movie. (In fact, when you are in the pool atrium area at night, have a Mojito and you will swear you are in a movie set).

The Atrium and the adjacent Ocean are probably the most romantic settings in the evening anywhere in the Caribbean. Should you choose to walk out of the Atrium to stroll the beach; the sound of the waves will provide a backdrop that is breathtaking in its beauty.

And oh yes, one swims in a cove in front of the hotel that is protected from the surf (doesn’t everyone?).

Reception is one of the best. Knowledgeable staff, well trained, friendly and engaged. They truly seem to be delighted you are staying at the hotel (in fact, all the staff seems to be happy that you are a guest at La Concha-isn’t that refreshing?) Reception takes you through the formalities personably and you are off to your room.

If you haven’t already done so, request an oceanfront suite in the Tower, when you check in. Believe me, whatever the charge you will not regret it. The suites (and the rooms) facing the ocean have sliding glass doors. At night you can open them and listen to the ocean’s lullaby. This is why you came to Puerto Rico in the first place, isn’t it?

The suites are spectacular, with fridge, stove top, spacious living room, a really easy coffee maker with which to make coffee, bedroom with bath and a patio ensuite. Bathrooms are spacious, airy and modern with a rainfall shower and plenty of towels. Amenities are terrific and include mouthwash, which I always forget. Of course, the suite has Wi-Fi, gigantic flat screen TVS and stereo radios that will play your IPOD or MP3. So, your choice, if you want to stay connected or just kick back. (By the way, cell phone connection is terrific in Puerto Rico just about anywhere you chose to go).

Restaurants in the hotel are excellent. You have La Perla, the upscale restaurant on the mezzanine overlooking the ocean-well worth drinks and dinner one night (great wine list and seafood), The Italian Restaurant on the Mezzanine (can’t remember the name, but great food and you can dine on the patio at night overlooking the pool atrium area) and our favorite, Solera, the restaurant in the atrium pool area.

Now this restaurant by the pool isn’t just your ordinary restaurant. Not by a longshot. It offers Sushi (from the Sushi Bar, tucked in the corner of the atrium), local Puerto Rican specialties and other plates served in a Tapas format. They serve a wicked good Mojito (ask for the double, it saves time) and we strongly recommend at least a couple doubles on the first night if you are looking to unwind. Have a couple of the Tapas plates and listen to the song of the Coqui, the Puerto Rican Tree Frog (it is enchanting).

Nights in the pool atrium area are extraordinary . People watching (yes people come down to swim at all hours) is fascinating and on weekends there is live music. Toutes San Juan and tourists alike come to see and be seen and the air is full of besos and embrazos. Puerto Ricans in particular are people who love and thoroughly enjoy life. If you can smile, you will fit in.

And the people? Well, we saw geezers like ourselves unwinding and having a great time, as well as young and very young people dancing, listening to the music and chatting up a storm. If you decide to take it down a notch in the hotel, the lobby bar is a great place for a Margarita or, a final-final Mojito. Amazingly, this is also a business hotel with meetings and receptions. Incredibly, the two worlds-relaxed resort and business meetings never seem to get in each other’s way thanks to someone who knew how to design a hotel. Folks with briefcases ride down the elevators in the morning next to people in bathing suits. Typically, most are smiling and everyone is in a good mood.

Now I happen to be a very severe critic of hotel breakfasts because they are, to me, such a critical meal to get the day started right. Well La Concha gets it right. You can do off the menu, or you can partake of a spectacular buffet, that includes all the bells and whistles (presented in really nifty ways-so everything stays fresh-hot or cold, as appropriate. One really gets to enjoy the buffet items).

Ask for a patio table for breakfast, and if Luis is available ask for him as your waiter (he is from Mexico, but that is another story). The coffee is Puerto Rican and is addictive. Also, if you have a sweet tooth (as does most of Puerto Rico) lots of goodies to sample at the buffet. There is also an omelet station on the patio where you can get, literally, just about any type of combination you could imagine.

I have already noted that the staff are by far the best trained and friendliest I have ever experienced in Puerto Rico. Make a minimum effort to engage them and they will respond wonderfully. They are immensely proud of their hotel and their island; let them tell you.

So, if you have been coming to Puerto Rico for twenty five years, like some of us, La Concha will revive and refresh you as well as coddle you when you choose to relax. If this is your first trip to San Juan or Puerto Rico, you just can’t go wrong with this hotel. It will spoil you forever.

One thing it will never do, in my judgment, is let you down.

Room Tip: Try for an oceanfront.room. But guess what, if you wind up looking at the City, it will be spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Exeterbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,788
    1,848
    583
    214
    152
See reviews for
1,449
2,586
169
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My room was fabulous and the view was excellent. The staff were all very accomodating, helpfull and friendly.

Not a lot of pool area especially in the sun at this time of year anyway. Not the best beach but still decent.

Room Tip: Walgreens is a 5 min walk away. Not sure if there are better oceanview rooms but my room on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula4168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel several times and found it relaxing, fun and comfortable. The only down side to it is that there is a noisy road in front of the hotel and all the room doors point to that street. In the 1950's when it was built they did not have the ultra noisy stereos and cars with no exhaust mufflers so the design was fine. today they need to come up with sound proofing for the doors.
Thursday night in the lobby is a blast--Nightclub night!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

La Concha is a solid 4 star hotel in San Juan. A positive "pretty good" sums up every aspect of the hotel. A convenient 15 minutes from the airport, and right on the beach, it's a good location. Staff levels were very good, and the staff were very friendly. Food and drinks were good. The beach was good, and the water warm, but not clear, and had plenty of weeds kicked up from the waves. Waves were just right - enough to body surf, but easy to swim in. The beach is protected by reef, so easy swimming and warm. Overall the hotel has more of a euro feel - which I think is good - lots of white marble, etc. Rooms were modern and clean. The only downside for me was that there was street noise - even on the 9th floor. I didn't want to leave the sliding door open to the ocean because there was no screen, and I was concerned about bugs from the beach. I did spend a day with collegues at Caja de Muertos - which was beautiful and incredibly relaxing. I would definitely return to this hotel, and use it as a base for a personal trip in the future. Speaking of which, when people ask me if I would go back to PR, my response is it would be a great guy's trip location, but no wow factor for a romantic trip.

Room Tip: Choose the higest floor possible for the least street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trustorytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel was not for me but I recognize that, depending on what one is looking for, it could be a good choice for others. The public areas of the hotel had neon lights and a sort of Vegas feel which is not what I expected or wanted. That said, the guest rooms were modern, clean and comfortable with a great ocean view (but no balcony which sort of surprised me). My room seemed to be missing a dresser as there were no drawers for my clothes, the wifi was at times spotty and the on demand movie system wasn't working. The service at the hotel was excellent, including room service which was very reliable -- something which I really appreciate. I was there on a short business trip so didn't have the opportunity to spend time at the pool or the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

After reading tons of amazing reviews on La Concha, I had pretty high expectations for my pre cruise stay. Unfortunately, the hotel disappointed at almost every turn. The service was fine, but nothing great.

We paid to have a one bedroom suite in the Ocean Tower. The 'queen' size beds could barely qualify as such, and do not fit two adults. The beds are hard as a rock and our linens were dirty. If you are going to pay to be in this tower, might as well spend a few dollars more for an ocean view. The city view has you looking at a parking lot and garbage with some mountains in the distance.

The pools are small but fine and the beach in this area is just eh. I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend this hotel to others. There are so many choices.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbe907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've been to La Concha on past business trips, this time around I didn't enjoy it. Rooms are big, maybe good for a family, but i was facing the street in front of the hotel it was loud, people screaming at all hours of the night. Food on the property is just ridiculous. I had a cafe Latte at the Lobby bar and they Charged my $5.50. Staff is very friendly and there is a party atmosphere in the main lobby. Might work well with some people. Also finished my 3 night stay with tick sized bites on my legs...

the staff are friendly, but unresponsive. waited almost 30 min to replace the Iron which was defective. The few times I dialed the front test, on time they didn't even answer.

On the good side... The internet was free.

As a business traveler, I wouldn't recommend this Hotel, there are other Hotels in the Area better suited.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the Pool side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquaman0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael02, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies as the outdoor noise was a discomfort during your stay. As we respond to our guests concerns, we are excited to share with you that we began installing a noise reduction double-sided balcony glass door to all the Suites facing the Ashford Avenue.
We appreciate your additional comments and observations of which we will share with our management team.
I would like to welcome the opportunity to have you give us another chance to provide you with the genuine care and commitment we are known for.

I look forward to personally meet you in the near future and welcome you to La Concha for an unforgettable experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me to assist you with any arrangements you may inquire.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 5,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing