We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ocean view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ocean view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel is really nice, the service is awsome! We were there for two nights in a junior suit with a fantastic view of the ocean, the room was large and furnished comfortably. We only ate there once as it was very expensive and there are many good resturants with in walking distance. The pool is great with very warm water and nice atmosphere. I would deffinatly stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unlisted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,156
    1,993
    624
    235
    169
See reviews for
1,575
2,849
187
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent 5 days at this hotel resort as part of our winter vacation. We had a lovely room in a tower spa suite which ample, well furnished, large and well appointed. If you wish to have meals in the room there is a microwave oven and a very large fridge as well as utensils etc.I would not make dinner there, but its great for breakfast before hitting the beach which is clean lovely, and very inviting. Plenty of room on the beach, pool lovely though a little bit crowded. It is particularly appropriate for a young couple contemplating a honeymoon, a " babymoon" ( a new idea I heard about for those young parents expecting their first child....IMHO Do it!) The music is great and there is a young hip crowd around.
There are several restaurants in the Hotel:
Voga, generally undistinguished and , though not overpriced, not really worth it.
Perla which was an excellent restaurant with excellent service and excellent food at a reasonably high price ( more expensive than a good New York restaurant).
The Casino: Very small minded , very stingy with its tables but having a certain local flavor which I found amusing. Not for the serious gambler.

The staff, attentive, friendly and generally well trained.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seberus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel was great! The view of the ocean was exacly what we wanted but before you check in make sure you are getting the room you asked for. The only reason i booked a room in that hotel was so i could get the ocean view room i requested and when i got to the hotel they had moved me to a city view. MAKE SURE you double check what room you are getting before you make your reservation. I also heard that the city view rooms can be noisy but thats what i was told, cant really tell you for sure.

The food is great, the service is very good and overall we had a great weekend.
Must eat at the Pearl...exquisite meal!

Room Tip: Waterview is amazing but the city view seems to be noisy the pool view room gets the noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovemytrips11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from 4 nights at La Concha. We had a 1-bedroom suite with a partial ocean view and balcony. The partial ocean view becomes more partial depending on the floor level and on the distance from the elevator. We stayed in 658 and I found the view to be nice enough. The room was huge for 2 people with a nice living room, modern kitchen, king bed, desk, two televisions, and good closet space. The shower had a glass wall and two shower heads: a rainfall and a handheld wand. The outline of a person in the shower is visible from the bedroom - this would be a problem. There is a club called Ocean a block away. One night we were made awake by drumming and very loud music. My guess is that all rooms with a partial ocean views can easily hear this club on Saturday nights.

The location of the hotel is great for Condado. Access to Old San Juan and the airport are easily accomplished. The beach in front of the hotel is wide and one can walk easily to different sections. Waves in the winter are big and fun. As a runner, I was able to run from the hotel to Old San Juan and back while my enjoyed the beach.

I did not have much luck in the casino, but it is a nice amenity to have.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mercury251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, and will give you a breakdown of what is good and what is not...

The Good: Spacious rooms, courteous staff, efficient lobby bartenders and casino staff, good location, very clean.

The only positive thing that I can really say about this hotel is that the location is great and the rooms are spacious. There is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and costs 75 cents to Old San Juan, only 1 stop over. The lobby bartenders were probably the most efficient of the entire hotel staff, and were extremely friendly. That is pretty much all that this place has going for them.

The Bad: Overpriced for what you get, small pools, crowded pools, lack of pool seating, uncomfortable / creaky bed, mediocre food, extremely slow service by staff (check-in, baggage handlers, waitstaff at poolbar).

Although the staff is very courteous and nice, you just can't get over how slow and inefficient everything is at the hotel. I understand people may say relax you're in San Juan, but if they are charging high prices and ask guests to dress in a certain manner at the hotel, then we should expect a certain level of attentiveness. Also, the adult only pool area is SO SMALL, and if it is meant to be adults only, then they should enforce it by not letting any children in that area.

Overall, it was a decent experience, but I think the hotel is trying too hard to be something it can never be. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in a corner room in the old tower on the top floor, facing both the beach and had side city vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlynnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Perhaps my experience was tainted because we spent 2 nights at the Ritz prior to transferring to La Concha, but I was disappointed. The lobby bar area is cool, the pool areas are nice, and our ocean front view was great, too, but looks aren't everything. Although everyone was very nice, the service was consistently sub-par. My wife and I decided that they just didn't have enough people. The wait at the restaurants was long, the beach service was spotty, I had to ask for silverware/napkins on 2 different occasions, etc. The food was average: While we had a good meal at Perla, the other meals were all disappointing: guacamole from a mix, a Mojitos without sugar, cold food, powdered eggs, etc. The beach is fine, but the shadow of the building creates shade in the mid/late afternoon. The water isn't all that great either (lots of sea grass...). We were reminded once more of the sub-par service as we waited for the bellman to hail us a cab. He was too busy talking to someone else, so we just bypassed him. In the end, the place is fine, but I wish we had paid more to stay at the Ritz. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atl_traveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed pre-cruise at the La Concha. Beautiful hotel with professional staff. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Had an oceanview suite on the 11th floor that was amazing. Nothing better than having morning coffee overlooking the ocean!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, you wont regret paying the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PegySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing