We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candid Revew of La Concha”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed in an ocean view room for 10 days between March 4 and March 14, 2011. I chose this hotel primarily because of the reviews I read on trip advisor. It is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. The strengths of the hotel include its 4 pools, cleanliness, beach location and atmosphere for making new friends and acquaintances.

The negatives include very slow pool and ocean side bar service as we had to get drinks a number of times ourselves simply because no server came around. (If I were in college I would take a summer job here and make a fortune as the servers appear to be very poorly motivated to sell drinks and thus make tips. I just didn't understand the lack of pool and ocean side service.)

We tried the breakfast buffet our first morning and we didn't come back. Generally, the breafast buffets at Marriott hotels are excellent but this one was lacking in food and good quality. It is definitely not worth 50 dollars for two. However we did have breakfast delivered to our rooms several times and it was all very good and timely delivered.

We had a fantastic dinner at Perlas restaurant which is located in the hotel. I recommend it highly for food quality, ambiance and service. Try and get a table next to the large windows facing the ocean.

The hotel did not have a spa which most 4 star properties offer in resort areas like San Juan. The pop machine on our floor was never filled up the whole time we stayed at the hotel again another loss of revenue for the hotel. We made a couple of trips to Walgreens nearby to stock up on cokes, etc. It was also disappointing that room service ended at 11 pam. I would have expected 24 hour room service but alas, it was not to be.

Housekeeping was difficult to figure out as we had to call several times to get our room cleaned but they always timely responded. Some food was left in the room refrigerator from the previous guests so we just tossed it.

I do recommend ocean view rooms as the view is awesome. I would also get room as high up as possible. Sometimes, particularly on the weekends it can get pretty noisy in the hotel lobby bar. This hotel is the "in place" to be for week end partying. I knew this based upon reading prior reviews so we were prepared for it. We like to have a good time too even though we are in our 50's but some people complained. La Concha is not the kind of hotel I would recommend for a nice quiet get away. It is a happening place which we enjoyed. Most of the guests were in their 20's, 30's and 40's.

I also recommend the "Latin Sliders" for simple bar food. These are a combination of hamburger and pook and are really delicious. We tried a fajita sandwhich however which was not edible.

The hotel is host to several weddings a weekend and as a result some of the pool areas get blocked for the wedding guests which means hotel guests have to find another place to relax. This was somewhat inconvenient but there were enough pools and the beach to accomodate the inconvenience.

All in all we had a terrific time and we would definitely go back to the La Concha. I would give it a minimum 4 star rating which could be easlily improved if the management paid more attention and corrected the deficiencies noted in this post.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank derbycityvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,646 - 6,652 of 7,593 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed for a few days in an ocean-view room. The hotel and room were very clean, and the location was excellent. But the service in the hotel restaurants--and we tried nearly every one, plus room service--was really lacking. It wasn't that the service people weren't pleasant, because they were. But service times weren't good, and the food was often late and/or cold. And, of course, expensive.

Oh, and the "resort charge" on the hotel bill is just annoying.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafael02, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. We believe that the comfort and well being of our guests is of utmost importance, therefore it is helpful for us to learn from feedback like yours to ensure improvement and correct these shortcomings. Service and hospitality is our highest mission at La Concha and each of our Team Members must strive to exceed our guests expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. These do not represent what we are all about. I will share all your comments with our management team in order to take action and enhance our services.

I hope you give us another opportunity in the near future to meet your expectations.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
lrivera@laconcharesort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We had a great stay in so many ways and the start of it with a warm welcome from the ebullient Felix augured well. The Beach is fine;the pools are lovely. The staff is very friendly and wants to help. (The concierge could be more knowledgeable as to what is really happening on the island.) Don't bother with Solera restaurant or the bar; both are overpriced and slow. The breakfast place is very good with fab omelets. La Perla is expensive but worth it. The location is perfect for so many things. Highly enjoyable time at La Concha.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borninthebronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My wife, daughter, and I stayed for 9 days. Normally by day 7, we've had enough and want to go home. On this trip, we don't want to leave.

The hotel lobby is stylish with energetic music and staff. It turns out that La Concha is the hotel for the stars as J-Lo, Mark Anthony, and Lauren Conrad were staying the same time. Also, there was a fashion shoot with a multitude of beautiful people present.

The staff were attentive and wonderful.

The pools are clean and the heating is perfect for relief from the sun.

The hotel has great beach and ocean access. The surf was manageable and enjoyable for body surfing.

The rooms are nice with the best in the tower. There's plenty of ocean view rooms.

The poolside food is great. Try the sliders!

The hotel bar is a San Juan night spot.

The restaurants are great. We had magnificent meal at Perla.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I went on a mother/daughter trip so safety was a concern. The hotel was nice and we felt very safe. We loved the open air lobby and ambience...three pools and beach access. Live music poolside or in the lounge would have been an added plus. The rooms were nice. Housekeeeing was excellent. Really our only complaint with the hotel was the service.

Old San Juan was only a $14 taxi ride away. We did much better booking excursions on our own than we did through the hotel concierge. There were better and less expensive excursion options. We were given inaccurate information including times more than once. And the bellman gave our taxi driver inaccurate infomation in one instance.

The La Pearla Restaurant was a huge disappointment. Non existent service which was inexcusable for a restaurant of that caliber. Not offered a wine list, no menu explanations, no follow up during the meal... our bread was brought while we were eating dessert. When we pointed this out they put it back in the basket picked up our plates and gave them to the people at the table next to us. Appalling. I'm still waiting on the sweetner for my coffee.

Overall a good stay with the eception of La Pearla.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed at the La Concha based on previous TripAdvisor reviews. We just moved into the Ritz Carlton for a business conference for the next 3 days. No doubt about it, we had a much better set up at the La Concha!! First of all, love the retro look of this hotel, lobby is white marble flooring and art deco, staff are absolutely fantastic, and here's the big surprise ... the food here is wonderful! There are 3 or 4 different pool areas, it's right on the beach, get an ocean view if you can, it's heavenly! I'm a clean freak, and this place passed the test. There was a musty smell when the AC was off, but that's to be expected when you are on the beach. We had breakfast on our balcony each morning, and the food always exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HayOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Have been to Puerto Rico many times, but really enjoyed our stay at La Concha Resort. It has a great city, hip vibe, but is right on the ocean. Perfect location near Old San Juan, airport and in the trendy Condado neighborhood. Great service, staff are fabulous! Their F&B director, Jose, is excellent. He took a lot of time recommending restaurants for us and making reservations - totally outside his job description. From their bellman to their bartenders, the entire staff is excellent. For a real treat, have the bartender in the lobby, Oriana, make her passionfruit frozen rum drink. Not to be missed! Will definitely go back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,203 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
17.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $233 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing