We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,351)
Filter reviews
2,351 results
Traveler rating
1,826
319
110
47
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,826
319
110
47
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tacos butler service west tower biltmore suite greeted with champagne tequila restaurant beautiful hotel infinity pool puerto rico turn down service ocean view old san juan five star hotel one bedroom suite pool staff the ritz carlton main pool
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 2,351 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best hotels we have stayed in on Puerto Rico. Bedroom was superb with a fab view, we took and one bedroom suite. Our maid service was the best we have experienced, all our bits and bobs were lined up in the bathroom!!! Staff were amongst the friendliest we have encountered. Food in restaurant was fab Beach is a bit naf but the pool seating areas around hotel make up for it!! All in all an enjoyable stay!

Room tip: One Bedroom suite have a fab view of the Ocean
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TraceyA318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Raphael , Francisco, and Gabriel tended bar at the VC lounge and each night created unique cocktails for us based on what we told them we were in the mood for. Although San Juan has an up and coming craft cocktail scene headlined by La Factoria in Old San Juan, we were more impressed by the skills and knowledge of the bar tending staff at the Condado Vanderbilt lounge. It was our first visit to Puerto Rico and when we return we will certainly go back for cocktails at the VC lounge.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank RobertP2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Condado Vanderbilt is one of the better luxury hotels in Puerto Rico, and I am not familiar with any that are both better and specifically in the city limits of San Juan (the Ritz Carlton Dorado and the St. Regis, while spectacular, are outside San Juan).

The Condado Vanderbilt facility is beautiful, the pools numerous and spacious, the service ranged from good to exceptional, and the room (a "Biltmore 1BR Suite") was nicely appointed. And the location is ideal, an easy walk to restaurants and casinos, and a long (50 min) but scenic walk to Old San Juan.

Although we had some concern over the recent spate of murders in San Juan, we saw nothing to cause alarm. In fact, we walked around San Juan quite a bit and saw numerous joggers/runners at all hours.

[For AmEx FHR travelers, this hotel DID provide us with a room upgrade -- a "perk when available" that seems in our experience to be honored with less and less frequency, and I think that we may have been upgraded more than a single level of hotel rooms. Also, we arrived at the hotel in early afternoon, long before the hotel's late 4pm check-in time, but were able to access our hotel room immediately upon arrival.]

Nitpicking: Our shower floor tile needs replacing (it is uneven, it does not flow to the drain, and it is a little grungy), the drinks at the pools are a little pricey, the hotel does not really have its own beach (there is a popular public beach to the east of the hotel property), and I needed to scold our waiter at 1919 for ignoring us for long periods of time in favor of a large group of suit & tie business folks. But those issues did not really detract from the good time we had.

Next time to Puerto Rico, I will consider returning to this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank TravelLover23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to visit Puerto Rico for our anniversary..I wish we had picked another hotel.
We have been in room 611 for 3 nights now and I want to go home. This is one of the worst rooms we have ever stayed in. It smells like mildew all the time, the shower drips all night and the air conditioner turns itself off when no one is moving in the room. I woke up in a puddle of sweat for the 3rd night in a row. Your prob thinking...move rooms...they don't have another room...call someone to fix it....the fix for mildew is a spray I am allergic to. Open the window..that works until the chinese food restaurant below the window opens and the room stinks like fried rice.

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is amazing. We have a great view from the balcony but if you cant sleep and are cranky all day what's the point?

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PreppyinPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was way overpriced and was the size of a Crackerjack box. I reserved a room with a queen bed. To mainland US residents, the "queen beds" are really a mainland US full-sized bed. Hotel lobby was beautiful. The staff was nice, champagne at check-in was nice, but the bags took so long to get to the room that we had to go searching for them. We booked a reservation 5 months ago at 1919 restaurant, but it was cancelled the day before the reservation. Overall, I would not consider this hotel a 5 star property.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank TexasKate22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews