We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this.”
Review of Posada Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Colonial
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this.”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Obviously it's all been said already because Christian and Sean run a wonderful business but I have to reiterate how amazing our experience was. My boyfriend and I went here on a vacation but we didn't look into booking hotels until very last minute. We contacted them about a week before we were trying to go down there. Christian got back to me almost immediately. The apartment we had wanted had been booked so she offered us the larger one at a discounted price. When we arrived they picked us up at the airport and it was so comforting to have a local show us around. The next day we walked to the beach and I realize that it isn't the same sort of experience you would get at some of the resorts but for us it was really fun to see the more "real" side of Puerto Rico. Most of our time there we didn't have a car and we were able to walk to just about everything we needed. We did decide to rent a car to go to the East side of the island and Christian's mom was kind enough to drive us to the rental car place. These apartments were also great because they have a fridge so we were able to save some money on food. I would recommend this place to everybody!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    23
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
81
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Valley, Anguilla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

My preveious visits to Puerto Rico I would always stay albeit at an inexpensive hotels, but this situation was a litte different and needed to be near a medical facility for children. Posada Colonial was recommended so I went with an open mind. I left thinking WOW! is it for real? truly the owners and the whole experience is remarkable in restoring faith in genuine kindness and excellent value fo rmoney. This was simply the best experience of my visits to Puerto Rico! Highly recommended!
Ronnie, Marlon, Dianne

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank axacyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Great location. Away from all the tourists (hotels/resorts/etc) but close enough to the San Juan attractions. Christiane and her mom are very friendly ...they're the ones that I communicated with from the day I booked our trip to the day we left. Very nice people! We got a 1 bedroom guesthouse, and it was so cute!! Nice kitchen and most important (to me); a clean bathroom and bedroom. Nicely decorated! We had our only little patio area as well. Gotta see it for yourself! Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JQuest81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband does not enjoy "beach" vacations so in order to get him to take a long weekend on a tropical island - I had to find one with some sites worth seeing (Old San Jaun is beautiful and the Rain Forest is amazing), In order to make it even more appealing, I decided to look for something different than the beachfront hotel that one thinks of when booking an island vacation.. The Posada fit the bill...and the pictures made it look so beautiful. I even waited an extra month to get my beach fix (We originally planned to go in March but it wasn't available until Apri). We were not disappointed.

A short walk to the beach (5 minutes or so) and any number of excellent resturants, the location is quite good. The small apartment was absolutely perfect for us and the craftmanship around the windows in the kitchen is extraordinary. The patio area right outside our door was a beautiful place to end our evenings with a glass of wine and a bit of cheese.

And the family? So very hospitable and accomodating! An extremely friendly pick up and drop off at the airport, as well as the feeling that if we needed them at any time, they would be with us.

You won't be disappointed.

PS: Use the Charlie Car Rental...saved hundreds and they were very friendly with clean newer cars and good locations to pick up.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffaloswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolinas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The nicest people run this place. They pick you up and drop you off at the airport, and the actual apartments are lovely, with excellent ceramic work and totally cooking-friendly kitchens. Plus, you can walk to an excellent beach, Bebos, and, the buses to Isla Verde and Old San Juan. Great place, we miss it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grafvonanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We cannot stop raving about the wonderful experience we had staying at this guesthouse. It's in the heart of the touristy area of San Juan. Only five minutes to Ocean Park beach. Everything was clean, convenient and extremely affordable. The owners graciously picked us up and dropped us off at the airport. They gave us great recommendations for things to do and they have beautified the apartments with elegant tile work. We can't wait to come back to La Posada Colonial, our new home away from home in Puerto Rico!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalCitizen810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I just want to say that I just book the posada colonial, and christina has been amazing so far!! I always have many questions before I travel ( i get overly exited when i go on vacation) and she always emails me back and answers my question the best she can and honestly! thank you christina

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank domincan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 48 in San Juan
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Colonial

Property: Posada Colonial
Address: 108 Calle Perez | Condado / Ocean Park, San Juan 00911-2115, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to make traveling to the Island Puerto Rico accessible to all. We offer a nice very clean private apartment in a neighborhood near the beach. We are a small family with a house with three independent apartments and we love for people to experience Puertorican life. Includes ac, wireless Internet, cable TV, fully equipped kitchen, washer dryer,(no cost). Once a week cleaning (no extra fee) on request , pickup and drop off at the airport or cruise terminal(no extra fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Colonial Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing