We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work of art”
Review of Posada Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Colonial
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Although tucked away in a residential side street, which might make less intrepid visitors a bit apprehensive, this "posada" is worth seeing. The owners are artists and have constructed everything down to the hand-fired decorative tiles with their own hands. One only wishes they would decorate the walls with some of their own creations as well. This local family deserves all thumbs up for their successful efforts and loving spirits. English spoken flawlessly which can be comforting.

Room Tip: Each set of rooms is unique. The bottom back has a terrace which is welcome. Ask to take a peek at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JWGrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed in Posada Colonial twice - in 2009 and 2011 - and found it a stunning place for stay either as a couple or with friends.

Both times I stayed in the 2-room apartment on the second floor. The pace is very nice and clean. It´s like home away from home:) I usually don´t visit same places for several times - but I did return to Puerto Rico nad one of the reasons was the lovely Posada Colonial.

The 2-room second floor apartment has 2 beds, a kitchenette and WC/batroom. There´s a wardrobe and small night-stand in the bedroom and a dining table in the front room. Every corner of the place is very neat and clean. The place proved being very safe - we kept our money and other valuables in the room and everything was OK.

The best part of the place (if I may say so) is its owners. Christiane nad her family in extremely helpful and friendly and they provide really great service. There´s no problem they couldn´t help you with. It feels like staying with friends.

The place is located on a quiet street in a resedential part of San Juan. There´s a beach nearby and some great eateries, incl Bebo´s Cafe with its nice Caribbean dishes and great cocktails. There´s supermarket nearby so it´s perfectly possible to buy something for breakfast.

It´s possible to park a car outside the house.

The family provides free airport pick-up and drop-off and even take you to the car-rental if asked. As I had no US phone number, they helped me with calling and arranging the bio-bay tour as well as suggesting a good company.

There´s a wifi access in the house as well as TV in the apartment.

I am completely in love with this place. I am even considering staying there again - for the third time - should there be good flight tickets offer to Puerto Rico :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This place is awesome for an independent minded traveller who isn't looking for the resort/all inclusive visit to Puerto Rico. The owners go above and way beyond to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible... my wife and I have travelled to lots of countries and rented short-term apartments for 2-7 days in lots of places and never have we gotten this type of service (not even close).
We stayed in the downstairs back apartment which was quiet, clean, well furnished with A/C, cable TV, reliable hot water 24h, kitchen (we didn't actually do any cooking but we did use the fridge to chill our wine :)
Location is great since it's close to beach, convenient to Old San Juan (short bus or taxi ride), close to Luigi's (better than any Italian restaurant I went to in multiple trips to Italy!) and set back just enough to get a quiet night's sleep.
We had an amazing trip to San Juan and this place was key!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ebernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, and appreciated the airport pick-up, cruise port drop-off and the city "tour" along the drive. We got great information on the city also. We had two units and they were both charming, with well equipped kitchens. The location is walking distance to beach and grocery, restaurants, etc.. The only downside was air conditioning only in the bedrooms and not in the living area. The patio was relaxing and comfortable. We plan to stay here again next time!

Room Tip: One unit has "private" patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravelMookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

An absolute steal for vacation lodging in San Juan. The owner, Christianne, and her family run this small 4 apartment guesthouse and really treat guests well. Christianne is super friendly and helpful with directions, local advice etc and always willing to answer a question.

I rented the upstairs 2-bedroom apartment for a vacation with my mom. It was very clean, plenty large enough and had everything we needed. Good quality mattresses made for a solid nights sleep and there are both ceiling fans and wall unit air-conditioners in the bedrooms (ceiling fan only in the living/dining area). I never did turn on my A/C but it was a bit noisy at night for some people (like my mom who just turned on her A/C at night and was quiet happy with that). I say "noisy" but it wasn't like a party zone or anything, just some average urban residential noise that happens when everyone has their windows open. Some dogs barking, TV or radios on at normal volumes, garage trucks etc.

Having a kitchen available made for huge cost savings as we could enjoy breakfast from the supermarket and coffee (coffee maker there, BYO coffee) and sometimes take-out dinner from the supermarket or leftovers from a big lunch meal. Remember that you are in the tropics and sugar ants will gather if there are crumbs or drips of food. No problems at all with any other bugs or even mosquitoes (something I've never been able to say anywhere else in the tropics).

Short walk to a nice beach and a few minutes more to a slightly nicer beach (one with a bouyed swimming area for a little more safety). Very clean and nice beaches there, no big hotels along Ocean Park. Located in a residential area that is fairly middle-class. It might appear a bit run down but the tropical weather does a number on the buildings and stray dogs and cats are everywhere in SJ. Neighborhood and main streets were safe with a little urban common sense.

Airport pickup and drop-off is a nice $ savings AND reduces stress on arriving in a new city. Even if you plan to rent a car, I'd say take the airport pick-up and take the time to get acquainted with the way people drive in this city before getting behind the wheel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ShelleyinKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Posada Colonial was WONDERFUL!

Christiane & her husband Sean are amazing hosts! They picked my husband and me up from the airport after a late flight and gave us an informative tour of the area surrounding the apartments. Take their advice on attractions and restaurants – they know what they’re talking about!

When Christiane found out we were on our honeymoon, the next morning when we opened the door to the apartment, she had left us a beautiful gift basket of wine, chocolates & flowers – can you get any sweeter than that?!? (By the way, you MUST try the Bueno chocolate bars – they are amazing! Get them at the Super Max, a 24 hour grocery store about 3 blocks away).

The apartments were exactly what we were expecting. We’re not the fancy hotel kind of people, but we like quaint, clean & convenient – and this was definitely the perfect location for us! We stayed in the one bedroom upstairs apartment with all of the beautiful tile work. The bed was comfortable, linens were clean and bedroom air conditioner worked wonderfully. There was a twin bed in the dining area (with a pull-out beneath it, wow – 3 beds in one apartment!). There was a table that seats 4 and a kitchen fully equipped with microwave, stove-top, toaster & coffee maker (no oven). All the dishes and pots and pans you could need were provided. We didn’t use the kitchen very much because we found that the grocery food was much more expensive than at our home in Michigan (milk is $6, but the higher prices should be expected on an island) – if you find a Walmart at the beginning of your trip, their food was more reasonably priced. The apartment bathroom was beautiful. 2 sets of towels per person (one for bath, one for beach), toilet paper, hand soap, hair dryer, umbrellas, beach bag, beach chairs, board games, books for reading, local phone book, travel maps, books & information were ALL provided in our apartment! If you need anything else, ask Christiane – she was ALWAYS more than willing to help us out! He mom even took us to pick up our rental car!

Here’s my advice on the area attractions…

Always take the T-5 bus (also called A-5). The bus stop is about 1 block from the apartments. It’s the fastest bus to Old San Juan, about 15 minutes. Fair is 75cents, and if you have a student card only 35cents – make sure you have exact change and they wont take any bills. Don’t take the T-53 because it takes FOREVER to get to OSJ. Also, don’t go to Rio Grande – it was a poor side of town and took at least 50 minutes to get there by bus. The Rainforest was BEAUTIFUL and the Bio Bay was a lot of fun with Pure Adventure (pick up a coupon at the car rental place and save $10!), we did both trips in 1 day. If you want amazing criolla food (local food) go to Bebos!! It’s only 2 blocks away – we ate there 3 times and loved the Monfongo. Bebos has reasonable prices & huge quantities of food! Also, Kasaltas is a wonderful bakery with excellent desserts – yum! And España is a great café as well, amazing home-made doughnuts! Also, the beach is about 2 blocks away - quiet and beautiful!

We’re recommending Posada Colonial to everyone we know! Christiane is such a wonderful host and the apartments truly are beautiful, you really can’t get more bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank H0nest_Reviewer_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Just returned from spending 4 nights in the downstairs 1 bed apt. Cute, good location, ample street parking, 5 min walk to the beach. Christianne is hospitable, cheery and very accommodating. I went with my husband and 6 year old child. Kitchenette is perfect with a full size fridge, microwave, cooktop, toaster, coffee maker and dishes & utensils. Great for making breakfast in the mornings and then packing lunch to go for day trips. The apt was spacious. A/C only in the bedroom and floor fan for front twin beds for our child. Bring bug spray - it was rainy and we got bitten a lot! Free wi-fi - unbelievable! Spent $300 in total for 4 nights! SuperMax supermarket is like 5 blocks away and you can get your food there. BE SURE to eat at Bebo's - best comida criolla around. The beach is close and nice with trees for shade. The water pressure wasn't the greatest, but again, this isn't a fancy hotel or anything. The outside patio area was cute with gorgeous plants everywhere. Wasn't noisy at all. I would stay here again. It's nice, affordable, nothing fancy, but clean and safe accommodations. I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tpenadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
930 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Colonial

Address: 108 Calle Perez | Condado / Ocean Park, San Juan 00911-2115, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range: $91 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to make traveling to the Island Puerto Rico accessible to all. We offer a nice very clean private apartment in a neighborhood near the beach. We are a small family with a house with three independent apartments and we love for people to experience Puertorican life. Includes ac, wireless Internet, cable TV, fully equipped kitchen, washer dryer,(no cost). Once a week cleaning (no extra fee) on request , pickup and drop off at the airport or cruise terminal(no extra fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Posada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Colonial Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing