We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vibe”
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Da House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Luck Hill, Tortola
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Vibe”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed one night (Saturday) at Da' House and really enjoyed it. The staff is extremely helpful, happy to answer any questions and very enthusiastic about their jobs.

I'm a very light sleeper, so we booked a "quiet" room, and were still disturbed by other guests going in and out of their rooms. Still, having read reviews here and being aware that Da' House could be loud on weekends, I was actually pretty pleased with the quietness of our room. It's not the hotel's fault that guests don't know how to close their doors quietly, etc., and we definitely did not have any street or bar noise in room 402.

I was slightly disappointed with the quality of the room -- mostly just that some of the flooring was old and in need of replacing. But the room was clean, and the bathroom was updated and very clean. More than sufficient for our one-night stay.

My favorite part of the stay was just the great vibe of the place. From the relaxed, friendly staff, to the decor, to the unbeatable location in the heart of Old San Juan.

Room Tip: Book a quiet room if you're a light sleeper; staff are helpful in choosing the right room for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lale0naen0jada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    235
    107
    43
    39
See reviews for
28
359
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent one night at Da' House and enjoyed it, but it was a bit loud even in our "quiet" room. However the building itself is gorgeous, and the room and common areas had everything we needed. Also, the location is PERFECT as a home base for exploring Old San Juan. Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

There are a number of good points about this hotel- the location is good, the room we were in is large and airy, the common areas are great and there are no frills that you don't use, such as breakfast or TV. However, the bathroom was moldy and the toilet needed at least three flushes per poop. The big problem (which the staff is very upfront and honest about) is the street noise on nights when the club next door is operating. It's really loud- not so much music-noise as people-noise, but annoying to the point of missed sleep. Earplugs helped a little.
The staff has at least two really annoying people on it, but they are competent, and one of the front desk guys is really nice. The annoying ones made a point of telling us how "bohemian" the place is.

To summarize, if you don't ever use a toilet or don't mind noise, this place is great. I would stay there again on nights when the club is closed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yabanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Interior room 409

Pros:
Location is right in Old San Juan. Minutes walking to most of the restaurants and sights.
Room is clean
Price starts at 80 USD, our room was 100USD during spring break week
24 hour helpful reception

Cons:
wifi only works in the second floor lobby, not in rooms
Noise was ok. We stayed on a sunday and monday night. I didnt need earplugs but my other half used them.
The disinfectant or cleaning product they use has a very strong and unpleasant smell. We left windows open during the day to vent.
Lots of stairs but if you are fit this is not an issue.
Missing a shower door so water got everywhere in the bathroom regardless of how you positioned the shower nozzle.

Indifferent:
The rooftop is just that: a rooftop with a few chairs thrown up there. The hottub is up there but I wasnt too impressed and did not use it
Could use a mini fridge in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coast to Coast I am Transient
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here in 2009 and it was awesome. Super clean, with friendly staff. Rooms are beautiful, and you get a great view of the city from on the roof. It was not noisy here at all. They also had a computer in the main room, hooked up to the tv, so you could check email and such.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locadots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Da House was a good place to stay! It would have been very good if they would have had a coffee pot in the lobby! We walked a couple doors down to get some good coffee and pastries. The hotel is very old and just like the reviews we read before staying there said-be ready for lots of stairs! Our room was on the 4th floor. Our room opened onto a nice roof top patio where we enjoyed our pastries and coffee. We liked the historic architecture, our room was quiet and while plainly decorated, it was nice and close to everything! We had a little trouble with our internet, but it was quickly corrected by the very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Just send them an email with what you would like and they will send suggestions and pictures of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitz1015
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was expecting lots of noise from reading past reviews but our room (303 Silvia Kahn) was facing the main street, San Francisco St, which is perpendicular to the rowdy alley and we were fine. This hotel is walking distance to anything you may want to eat or buy and also walking distance to the port. We had small, carry-on size wheeled luggage and were perfectly fine walking down to the waterfront. It's about an 8 minute walk, if you're strolling. Fridays nights at Da House they have a free rooftop happy hour. There is a wifi lounge which is quite lovely (no wifi in the rooms unless you're close to the lounge). Also there are no TVs in the rooms so I hope you can make easy conversation with your roommate. Expect boutique hotel quality accommodations (ie a loose tile here or there) and the beds have thinner mattresses (definitely not a plush night's sleep) but the charm and uniqueness makes up for it. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skitz1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 47 in San Juan
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Property: Da House Hotel
Address: 312 Calle de San Francisco | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1720, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing