We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“In the heart of old San Juan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Da House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
St.Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“In the heart of old San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This old hotel is in a great location in Old San Juan. It's old walls are covered with artwork, keeping in spirit with the fact that it was once an art school of some kind. If you are looking for something unique that has no resemblance to the hotel chains, this place is for you. The rooms are pretty small, but the hotel has a big lounge area on the second floor with free Wi-Fi. The rooms are clean and have a lot of character. This area is very busy, so it will be noisy throughout the night, but this all adds to the experience of staying here. We were on the third floor and slept fine. There is also a great traditional place to grab breakfast within 1 minutes walk from the hotel. Staying here will also save you the cost and hassle of trying to get in and out of Old San Juan. I loved Old San Juan, and will definitely come again!

We stayed here before our cruise. The taxi fare from the airport was about $21, and we were able to walk down to the pier to get on our cruise ship. It was a 15 minute walk with our luggage. The hotel website is www.dahousehotelpr.com/

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aron-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    225
    92
    38
    39
See reviews for
26
324
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rowlett
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed one night before our cruise left and really enjoyed the hotel. It's in the middle of Old San Juan and very unique. I had read about it being noisy so we brought earplugs and heard nothing! (On the 4th floor). Be aware there is no elevator so your luggage has to be carried up. But isn't that what husbands are for? Staff was extremely helpful and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor interior with earplugs was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindagiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I were there for 4 nights in June - been away from TA for awhile. Very central, clean, friendly staff, comfortable room on the 3rd floor - no elevator


The noise is an issue from the neighboring club. Bring headphones or dance the night away.

The best part is the view from the roof - with a hot tub! We enjoyed drinks upstairs most nights and a walk to a nearby restaurant.

Room Tip: get a room upstairs, near the front of the building for a quieter setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpylamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night (Sunday) in room 406 - definitely a hike to get up and down, but was really only an issue when I had luggage.

Room was clean and comfortable - on the small side. As other reviewers have said, no hair dryer, ironing board, shampoo, tv.

Rooftop had an amazing view - hot tub was very hot, despite what other reviewers have said.

Seemed like Sunday night was pretty dead in San Juan, so I would guess that noise was not as loud as usual - didn't bother me at all.

Lots of places to eat/drink within walking distance.

Overall - would definitely recommend to friends and would stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Loved this Bohemian style, funky hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. Front desk people were all wonderful. We had an inside room so it was very quiet. Loved all the art work everywhere. Nice and unique lobby area with local products. Loved the samples of soap. I'd stay here again in a heart beat. Reminded me of being in Europe with the ocean just down the street. Lovely shops, great restaurants. VERY well patrolled so as a single woman, I felt very safe walking to a restaurant at night. Wonderful hat shop down afew streets.. Ole Panama Hat Shop.
Excellent WiFi connection on 2nd floor. Small refrig. in room was very convenient. Handsome bartender across the alley. Loved staying here.
Highly recommend. Not for faint of heart...no elevator. Being in good shape is very helpful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and courteous. The hotel itself is gorgeous and funky and the rooms are immaculate and comfortable. The best thing about this place is the rooftop hot tub. What a view!
The party downstairs was certainly raucous, but if you are in an interior room, you will be fine. And if the sounds of salsa and reggaeton are keeping you up, go downstairs and have a cocktail and dance the night away!
Of all of the places that I have stayed in San Juan, this is by far the best for your money. The ambiance is fab and the location cannot be beat!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter but outer rooms have a great breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lainam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I knew what I was getting into by staying at Da House before I even came. I chose it because of the great location. I stayed in an interior room hoping that it would be a little quieter late in the evening but it was not. The music from the club downstairs thumped until 3:00 a.m. That's ok though. Like I said, I anticipated it. I would not stay here again, however. If you have to check out of the hotel before 8:00 a.m., there is no one there to take your key or give a receipt. Everything is locked up until then. This is the perfect place for people who just want to party all night, get a few hours sleep and a quick shower in the morning. This is not a place for relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemytanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#17 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Property: Da House Hotel
Address: 312 Plaza San Francisco | Old San Juan, San Juan 00927-5812, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing