We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It was a very great place to stay. The staff was more than welcoming, so kind and always giving us tips for our trip (where to go and what to eat)! The hotel was clean, the breakfast (included) was good and fresh made. The hotel is right in the middle of all the stores and restaurants to a walk distance and there is a parking lots that's cost only 2,60$ a day don't go for the expensive one (13$/day) there is another one just a little bit farther.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Janie M,
Thanks for the great review about your recent stay. We're very pleased our staff made your stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    147
    44
    27
    26
See reviews for
80
253
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Celebrating our 50th anniversary with children and grandchildren...this hotel could not have been more perfect for our group! This is a beautiful, unique hotel with a trolley stop out front and in walking distance to wonderful shops and restaurants. Our three rooms were huge, with lovely old fashioned balconies, but lovely modern baths...and robes. The separate living areas are spacious and a dividing curtain keeps things private. Each layout is unique. When we arrived (in a van) the desk assistant helped us with unloading in the front and getting our (many) suitcases inside. Not all rooms were ready but they kindly let us put all our luggage in one of the rooms while we did a little sightseeing...and looked for parking for our van which was too high for either of the lots across the street. When we arrived to officially check in later we were pleasantly surprised to see a Happy Anniversary note and swan towel decoration on our bed...a wonderfully thoughtful touch. Breakfast the next morning was great...rich coffee and warm delicious pastries, plus OJ, yogurt and cereal for the healthier eaters among us. Although it was a little noisy at night, we remembered what a lovely vibrant city Old San Juan is and that made it worthwhile. We will come back...

Room Tip: Higher floors towards the back of the hotel are quieter...suites are huge and reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonvicfl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Bonvicfl410,
Thank you for taking the time to write this thorough review. We loved having your family here with us and are so happy you enjoyed the short but memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

On my first visit to Puerto Rico I wanted to give my wife and a great gift for our 14th Anniversary. I searched on the net for a classic and elegant hotel and found the Cervantes Chateau. The hotel looked very good on the pictures and it had good reviews.We arrived on a Tuesday night, and we were welcome by Ana who took my wife and I quickly to our room after we checked in. The room looked nice and fancy. We were hungry and ask for suggestions of good restaurants. Ana gave us some names and after leaving our luggage in the room, we had our first meal in El Paseo de la Princesa. Later on we walked for 15 minutes enjoying the Caribbean Sea view. The following days were fantastic, and thanks to the staff suggestions we travel many places of interest in the Old San Juan. We met Michelle and her team who worked very hard to make our visit the best experience that we had for our Anniversary. The staff was very helpful and they always gave us the right directions to museums, and the important areas to visit in San Juan.They told us about the trolleys (urban buses) that took us to El Morro and El Castillo de San Felipe,, and to The City Hall in San Juan, We also visited little city malls, La Plaza de Armas in the city. We were very excited to know the cultural areas in Old San Juan. Finally, we went back to El Paseo de La Princesa to meet (Sunday night) groups of people who organize a beautiful festival party on the area. We enjoyed our trip to Puerto Rico.
Thank you Michelle

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank gabriel257217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Gabriel257217,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review on our Trip Advisor page about your recent stay in one of our beautiful Cervantes King Suites. We appreciate the kind words about our staff and are very thankful you graciously treated them as family. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope we will see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This small hotel is so welcoming and pretty <3
My boyfriend and I wanted to stay a couple of days at Old San Juan but every place we tried to book was full or too expensive for our budget, until we bumped with Cervantes in booking.com
We found a really good offer, no surprise fees, the process was easy and fast. The hotel was clean, the breakfast (included) was good -especially the croissants :) -

There's no parking with the hotel but just across the street is "Doña Fela" parking lot that charge a reasonable amount of money.

The only thing that I would preferred was to have access to the internet inside the room (not just the lobby) but aside from that everything was perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dayna S,
We're so glad you enjoyed staying with us in the heart of Old San Juan. We enjoy it very much when guests from our own island stay with us too. So happy you found us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First of all let me say, I loved this small, but family friendly hotel! I checked in on July 31, 2014 and check out Aug 2, 2014. Checking in and out was seamless. The women and men at the front desk were friendly and inviting. They were knowledgable about the area and gave good advice on where to go to eat and explore. The "free" trolley stopped right in front of the hotel and so we didn't have to walk far getting on or off the trolley which takes you around Old San Juan. The room was small but sufficient and well decorated. The balcony was a plus and the shower area was cobblestoned which gave it a spanish feel along with the modern style sink. I was given a tour of the suite upon request and loved it! During breakfast I couldn't believe they actually sat us down and "served" us our meal (what a treat)!! Anytime I stay in Old San Juan I will ONLY stay at this hotel. It was my first out of many visits to this hotel! Thumbs up to a hidden gem!!!!!! Oh, rooms were quiet, I slept GREAT!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7 I believe it was quiet and quaint, but I do not believe there is a bad room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Messina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Messina I,

We appreciate that you took the time to write this review. We're extremely happy that you enjoyed staying in room #7 , which is a standard queen room with a balcony. Our location is ideal for those looking to explore our city on foot or on the complimentary trolley. The daily complimentary breakfast that we serve our guest features a variety of pastries, yogurt, fruit and good coffee. Hoping to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My friend and I booked this hotel after having read other reviews and from the second we stepped into the hotel, we were obsessed.
First of all, our flight arrived at 2AM and we were nervous about being able to get into our room. We called the reception before we came and they assured us they would leave our key with the security guard and we would have no problem getting in. We got there, the guard was expecting us, and we went straight into our room. We stayed in the smallest room #12 for two nights and it ended up being $249 after all the fees (which there were many of).
The room had one big bed, TV with cable, very clean bathroom, and the best part... French doors leading out to a balcony overlooking a side street in Old San Juan.
The location was perfect, in the heart of Old San Juan. You can walk around the area or hop on a trolley (free of charge) and just enjoy the area.
Breakfast was very simple, but delicious. mini bagels and little pastries all warmed up. There was also coffee and cereal.
This hotel was absolutely charming and the staff was incredible. We spoke to them for a long time, asking them questions about Puerto Rico, and they were so helpful. They also let us leave our bags there for the day after we checked out. Such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Esther S,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are very glad you enjoyed staying in one of our balcony standard queen rooms. Our beautiful balconies face Tetuan Street, which is filled with many colorful buildings. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

For a location right in the midst of the action, this hotel has it all if you are looking for the basics! We were here just for our first night in Old San Juan before heading over to Vieques. We checked in with the friendly staff and were shown our room. Dumped off our luggage and hit the streets for fun!! The restaurants are just steps away, casino across the street, pier is 2 blocks away, and a CVS for essentials. When we made it back to the room, we relaxed a little before trying to sleep. I think we were on the 3rd floor. I can sleep through anything, my husband... not so much. VERY loud shouting, a dog barking, and garbage trucks kept him awake a lot of the night. Soooo, unless there are quieter rooms, I don't think we will be back which is a shame because the price which includes breakfast, can't be beat for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdpecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Rdpecha,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you mentioned, our hotel is right in the heart of Old San Juan. This city is known for its lively streets, music and culture. The weekends, are very busy here as many locals and tourist alike love to spend time walking around the restaurants and different activities it offers. As for any guest who is a light sleeper, we always try to accommodate them on the 5th floor since those rooms do not feature balconies but small windows instead. This feature contributes to less noise on that floor. We hope you reconsider us next time you visit and we will make sure to provide you with a room with less noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#33 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#27 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing