We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Value!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Value!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

For a location right in the midst of the action, this hotel has it all if you are looking for the basics! We were here just for our first night in Old San Juan before heading over to Vieques. We checked in with the friendly staff and were shown our room. Dumped off our luggage and hit the streets for fun!! The restaurants are just steps away, casino across the street, pier is 2 blocks away, and a CVS for essentials. When we made it back to the room, we relaxed a little before trying to sleep. I think we were on the 3rd floor. I can sleep through anything, my husband... not so much. VERY loud shouting, a dog barking, and garbage trucks kept him awake a lot of the night. Soooo, unless there are quieter rooms, I don't think we will be back which is a shame because the price which includes breakfast, can't be beat for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdpecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Rdpecha,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. As you mentioned, our hotel is right in the heart of Old San Juan. This city is known for its lively streets, music and culture. The weekends, are very busy here as many locals and tourist alike love to spend time walking around the restaurants and different activities it offers. As for any guest who is a light sleeper, we always try to accommodate them on the 5th floor since those rooms do not feature balconies but small windows instead. This feature contributes to less noise on that floor. We hope you reconsider us next time you visit and we will make sure to provide you with a room with less noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    159
    48
    29
    30
See reviews for
90
275
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Michelle at concierge was comply put the best. I loved the location... Near cvs and the best fish tacos in the city! It was my favorite time visiting OSJ. My vacation photos from my balcony will be framed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Caitlin S,

We appreciate that you took the time to review your recent stay with us. We all enjoyed having you as our guests and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent our first night in San Juan at the Chateau Cervantes. The hotel was clean and attractive, and the staff was great! We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the street. It was loud through the night due to the business below. Later, we discovered that we hadn't shut the balcony door completely so the noise was our own fault! Beautiful views from the balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamarindaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
TamarindaL,

Thank you for the great review. We're pleased you enjoyed staying in one of our Standard Queen rooms with balconies. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were able to drop off our luggage and start looking around before going to our rm. The people at the front desk were very nice. It is surrounded by nice restaurants and fun shopping. It's fun to just walk up and down the streets and enjoy the atmosphere. It's a short walk to see the water. We all were pleased walking into our rms. You can see fresh coats of paint going up on stores and it looks pretty. Our rm had a lot of street noise but I also had a 4 yr old in my bed. Once I had her moved I was able to sleep through the sounds. I think it was worth the sounds to be so close to everything. Overall we were really pleased.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
GirlTraveler1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our location is ideal for those wishing to explore our beautiful city on foot or by the complimentary Trolley service. Our quiet rooms are located on the top floor as they do not have balconies. We're very happy that you were pleased with your stay. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We arrived at this awesome boutique on a Saturday morning after a 7 day cruise. We met Michelle ( You Rock ) left our luggage and received a lot of information on what to do . We took the trolley and had a blast. The location of the boutique was fantastic . We arrived back in the afternoon and were really excited about the suite we had booked. WOW , this suite was FANTASTIC and beautiful. The 3 balconies were sweet . The bathroom was da bomb. The room was very clean and we enjoyed people watching from all 3 balconies. The bed was perfect . Our room was very clean and the living room was really KOOL . We spent the rest of the afternoon and evening scoping out Old San Juan . What fun. The only complaint we had was the noise level in the early morning hours from all the people leaving the bars early Sunday morning . The staff was great and very friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
David V,
We're so pleased that you took the time to write this wonderful review about your recent stay in one of our beautiful and spacious Cervantes King Suites. It was perfect for your family. Thank you for the kind words about our whole staff. The rooms on the top floor experience less noise levels because they do not feature balconies. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I just returned from a girls getaway to Old San Juan. We chose the Cervantes and am glad we did.
Michelle and her co-workers made our stay memorible and were accomodating in every way. Our room was beautiful and very clean. An ample breakfast was served daily.
The Cervantes is located within walking distance to the Cruise Ship Dock, the Casino, Senior Frogs, CVS, Starbucks, the parking garage and a wide assortment of restaurants.
I would not hesitate to return to the Cervantes if ever I visit beautiful San Juan again. The hotel is small and books quickly, don't let it get away!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Galethewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
GaleTheWhale,
We're very happy you chose Cervantes as your hotel for the Girl's Weekend. Our whole staff really enjoyed having you all here with us. We hope you enjoyed staying in our beautiful Presidential Suite. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Chateau Cervantes! The staff were amazing. They helped with all of our needs and went out of their way to provide recommendations for restaurants and points of interest in Puerto Rico and assist with our travel plans to and from other destinations on our trip. When we returned to San Juan at the end of the trip, we were able to leave our luggage at Chateau Cervantes while we explored the city for a few hours. Excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Emily R,
We're very pleased you had an excellent time at our hotel. Our staff strives to provide the best service possible to all of our guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#4 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing