We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place in Old San Juan”
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Place in Old San Juan”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We only stayed at the Cervantes for a night. This is a beautiful boutique hotel at a great location in Old San Juan. The included breakfast is good, fresh food would be a nice add on. We had two rooms, and all the beds were very comfortable, with a nice bathroom and a lot of water pressure in the shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was nice staying in a smaller hotel with very personal service. I will be back the next time I am in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcirtapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Kcirtapp,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful Standard Rooms and our spacious Junior Suites. We were delighted to have your family stay with us and are already looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    168
    51
    32
    31
See reviews for
99
290
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Excellent Old San Juan Visit!

EVERYTHING! Cervantes Boutique Hotel was VERY NICE! and Location is ALIVE in a Tranquil Setting! Super ACCESS! into all points Old San Juan with a Restaurant VARIETY! practically at your doorstep!

Our Stay (couple): 2 Weekday Nights (wish it was longer) was in the Standard Queen. Breakfast Coffee, Beverage, Pastries, Breads, Cereals, Yogurt...included. Very Nice!

Our Rating: EXCELLENT! Staff, Housekeeping, Security, Location, Façade, Lobby, Elevator, Room, SILENT Air Conditioning, Bath, Balcony. Beautiful Boutique Experience! Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Our Stay was in the Standard Queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
John B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in one of our beautiful Standard Queen rooms with balcony. We enjoyed having you here as our guest and are already looking forward to your next stay with us. We appreciate the kind words about our whole staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I am not giving a complete excellent rate to this boutique hotel because the sleep quality of my room wasn't good. I had a room on the back side of the hotel and I couldn't sleep very well because of all the noise of the street and the garbage trucks that came very often to pick up the trash cans from the restaurants. Besides that factor, the hotel staff members were very attentive, friendly and informative.

The hotel is very well located and I don't recommend you to rent a car, if you are planning to only stay in the Old San Juan area. However, if you are planning to rent a car, I will recommend to park your car at Dona Fela's garage (the red big parking garage), located across the hotel.

The hotel room was very small but cozy and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mili20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Mili20,
We appreciate that you took the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.Our hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan and is steps away from many attractions and restaurants. During the weekends, Old San Juan gets very crowded as many tourist and locals like to come and enjoy the evenings. Thank you for the kinds words about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice boutique hotel (12 rooms). The rooms are small, perfect for sleeping. Do spend most of your time exploring Old San Juan, great place! Breakfast(coffee,pastries, cereals, no fresh fruits )is inclusive but parking is not. If you have a car park in the red garage down the street. The cream garage across from the hotel is very expensive. Overall very nice, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
PYY2014,

Thanks for the review! Our location is great for those wishing to explore Old San Juan and its many attractions. Our complimentary Continental Breakfast is served daily from 8:30am to 10:30am. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was a great hotel with updated bathroom in the room and lovely balcony overlooking the city. Very easy to get to the ferry and go for the Bacardi Rum Tour (well worth your time!) as well as a short cab ride to the pier for our Royal Caribbean cruise. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for an inside room - otherwise be prepared to have noise from the street - wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
WorldTraveler82,
Thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review.. Old San Juan is a beautiful city and we're so happy most of our rooms feature balconies for our guests to enjoy the views. Hoping you had a great time on the cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wonder staff, knowledgeable and helpful, especially Michelle. Great location and intimate boutique hotel. Complementary continental breakfast was an unexpected treat. Our junior suite was spacious, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SusanChris74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
SusanChris74,

We're very happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our beatiful Junior Suites with a balcony overlooking Old San Juan. Our staff is our best feature and always have the best tips for ours guests. We appreciate the kind words about them. Hoping to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

You can walk from the Hotel to any place in Old San Juan. Not too far from the airport either.
The staff was very helpful and assisted us on planning our trip at the last minute.
The room was nice and clean and the bed very comfortable but a bit noisy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clembc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Clembc,
Our location is perfect for exploring Old San Juan on foot or on the free trolley. We're also just a 15 minute drive from the airport.So glad our great staff assisted you with making your trip a memorable one. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#11 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing