We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Cervantes was excellent. Our host Michelle was a sweet and helpful person. She was a plus to the nice stay we had here the day before our cruise. We will go back because of the warm friendly staff. Thank you Michelle so very much. You were the spark we needed on Saturday morning to get over our rough trip on Friday to get us in the vacation mood.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mic289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Mic289,
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the generous and loving words about how I made your stay an excellent one. It is what I thrive for at my job. Hoping you had a great time and we will see each other again at Chateau Cervantes!

-Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    168
    49
    31
    31
See reviews for
96
286
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allyn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

It was better for us to fly to PR, then to St. Thomas. So we spent 2 nights at Cervantes. The location was perfect. Very good restaurants within walking distance. Cab from the airport for 3 was $25. Judy and Anna were very helpful. Arriving at midnight was very easy. Great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Jan D,
We appreciate your great review and pointing out some of our best features like our location and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked Cervantes for an after cruise stay and couldn't have been happier! The hotel is located a short walk from the Carnival port. Anna and Michelle were wonderful and very helpful. We arrived early and left our luggage and then wandered around the area until our room was ready. The suite (5th floor) we booked was beautiful and roomy. The bed is heavenly, made up with nice linens. The bathroom was huge! Nice double sinks, large marble shower an seperate toilet and bidet. We stayed on a Sunday night and didn't hear any noise from the street as some have complained about, the trash was collected before we went to bed so not really a problem. We loved the feel of Old San Juan and the hotel itself is romantic and charming. Our breakfast was delicious: coffee, yogurt, muffins, bagels, cinnamon rolls and juice. We can't wait to go back and stay longer at the Cervantes!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElusiveDream_524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
ElusiveDream_524,
Thank you for the great review on your stay at our hotel. We will share the kind words with our staff. Already looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to Dominica. We just needed a simple place for the night and it fulfilled that need very well. The room was nice and clean and the concierge at the front desk was very helpful for pointing out places to eat and tour. The hotel is in a great location in Old San Juan, it was very easy to walk to everything we wanted to see. Honestly the only downside was that their wifi is only accessible in the lobby and their router is a little tricky to connect to. The breakfast was simple, but again it fit what we needed just fine. All in all, a very pleasant layover hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Matthew H,
We appreciate your great review and are very happy you were delighted with your stay. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and their knowledge. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here before our cruise (located about 10 min walk to port). Loved the hotel and the location. Check in was super fast and the staff was very friendly. We asked for recommendations on where to eat and explore and they offered great suggestions. We really enjoyed the local cuisine at Manolin and the Cigar House. The room was beautiful and the bed was super comfy. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a chill place to stay in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Margaret F,
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel prior to your cruise. We look forward to your next stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

great location in the heart of Old San Juan , nice rooms and friendly staff.I had a nice room upgaded due to unavailability of standard rooms Breakfast was really poor compared to the price and other services. NO big spaces in the lobby area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank marco p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We all had an excellent stay at Cervantes. The rooms are clean and elegant but the best part of the stay was the staff. They gave us great recommendations on restaurants, arranged transportation for 8 people to and from the airport and took care of our baggage. The service and attention to detail was outstanding. This is a 5 star hotel with a great staff!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the street - they are large and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Jeff B,
Thank you for choosing Chateau Cervantes for your recent trip with the family. We really enjoyed having you here in our Cervantes Suites. I will share the kind words about our staff with them. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing