We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cervantes
Nearby Hotels
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$199
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
240
171
51
34
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
171
51
34
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold san juangave us a mapstreet noisewithin walking distancejunior suitepuerto ricocruise terminalyogurtbring earplugsfree trolleysmall hotelcomfy bedthe hotel stafftaxi standstandard roomawesome locationone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 531 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Location is perfect. Personal is very helpfull. Room was nice, but unfortunally without balcony. For cruise ships passengers - the best choise. Only few steps to terminal. Nice breakfest, good coffee. Thank You!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jelena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Jelena Z,
Thank you for the great review. I suggest for any future stay , to request a room with a balcony and we will try out best to accomodate your request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived early and were allowed to leave our bags at the hotel till our room was ready. we asked fro a place to eat that was close and within reason $ wise. we went to the place she told us to and had a great meal. When we came back and went too our room we were absolutely pleased with it.........great view and lots of room for all four of us. Even my daughter with ocd and a germ issue was happy with this room and it's cleanliness! 5 stars from us and we will come back!
The help was the best here and the breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast!
We absolutely recommend this hotel!
Thank you for making our 2 night visit a memorable and happy one.

Room Tip: any room is good here we had a corner room 4th fl balcony loved it gotta get a balcony!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Desiree50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Desiree50,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our balcony rooms. I will make sure to share your kind words about our cleaning with our Housekeeping Department. We look forward to a future stay with us at Chateau Cervantes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We purchased our reservation on a travel website for a per night charge. It was a guaranteed price. The hotel was nicely decorated and was very clean. Breakfast was continental - breads - and they give you sparse specialty coffee. We felt minimized in the portions - like in Europe, and refills were hard to come by. The local taxes are expensive and include tax, room occupancy, and another third possibly "questionable" tax in our view. To explain, we noticed that our bill seemed to add a fee that increased our costs at checkout, and this fee was ambiguous. We had experienced a toilet problem due to the hotels lack of repair of the flush stopper (it did not flush) - so they gave us another room. They advised due to our trouble that they gave us a slightly bigger room, but then when the bill came, this extra fee made us think that this may be a "backdoor" additional room charge rather than an upgrade assistance due to our trouble with the toilet. We did not even ask for the room upgrade, as we are quiet people - we would have been happy with a comparable room. However, this fee was on our bill without explanation or pre-informing us, and appeared to be a tax on top of the other two local taxes - but was listed in a way that made us think it might be a hotel backdoor increased room charge and not a tax. We settled the bill, but will definately re-think staying in old town San Juan Puerto Rico if we visit again. For the same price we ended up paying, we could have gone to the Sheraton or a newer, better hotel, with better overall services.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center and no pool. The wooden front door entrance is there but it is hard to find and it has no door handle. You have to push the door to enter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Richard C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. First, we apologize for the minor toilet issue you faced in our Standard Queen Room. It was resolved the next day. We upgraded you without hesitation or additional charge to a King Suite but first we did ask if you would like to move to another room. You booked through Booking.com, which is our primary booking site. The daily rate was $162.50, without taxes or fees and this was clearly stated on the website, email confirmation and reservation paperwork from Booking.com that we had here at the hotel. The total stay per night with taxes and fees was $216.76. The total for your stay of two nights was $433.52. Our highly experienced and trained staff would’ve gladly explained and addressed any billing concerns. Our daily continental breakfast is complimentary to all of our guests. Also includes local coffee brewed to order without limits of how many cups. Our staff would have gladly provided you with more coffee and breakfast as we do with all of our guests. We pride ourselves in being a Boutique Hotel. Since we do not have the facilities of a pool or fitness center, we provide guests with information on the nearest ones for their convenience. We hope you reconsider coming back to Old San Juan in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My fiance and I spent a couple nights here before leaving on a cruise. The staff were the nicest people in town. They accommodated us arriving early in the morning by holding our bags and putting us in a room that was available. They told us all the spots to hit and always greeted us with a smile and hello. They even let us keep our bags in the lobby for the day after returning from our cruise so we could get a pina colada before returning home. The room was great and we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Todd D,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We're so glad the service provided by our staff was the highlight of the trip. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at this property on November 9th, 2013 prior to a Carnival Cruise. Great Property in the middle of Old San Juan. Our room was room 6 on the 4th floor and was very nice. The noise on the streets was not distracting at all. Staff at property was great and the breakfast was wonderful. Less than 5 minute walk to Carnival Cruise port with luggage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of property have less street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 599BillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Bill B,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. So glad you enjoyed staying in one of our Junior Suites. Hope you had a great time on your cruise. Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews