We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“Fantastic hotel and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is such a nice, smaller hotel. It is right in the middle of old San Juan and right near a trolley stop. Several restaurants are right outside the hotel door. The people at the front desk were very friendly and super helpful with maps, and info we needed to get around the area. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Katie S,
Thank you taking the time to review us. We're so excited you enjoyed your stay in Chateau Cervantes. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    168
    50
    32
    31
See reviews for
99
288
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We (our family of 4) stayed at the Cervantes for 2 nights, prior to and after our cruise. October 12 and October 21, 2013 We arrived late but had no problem checking in. The staff (Jennifer and Michelle) went out of their way to make our stay amazing. Yes, there is noise from garbage being picked up early, but given the narrow streets, it is totally understandable. The Junior Suite we stayed in was beautiful, the bed the most comfortable we have ever had. The Cervantes is convenient to the cruise port as well as the rest of Old San Juan. The staff also gave us excellent recommendations on where to find great authentic Puerto Rican restaurants. They also stored our luggage on our return while we explored prior to check in time. We would without a doubt stay here again and hope to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcbbeachbumwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Pcbbeachbumwannab,

So happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful Junior Suites. We appreciate the kind words about Jennifer and Michelle. Thank you for the great review and pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was a nice hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. We spent 2 nights at it was a great value, clean and the staff was very friendly. Its location is two blocks from the Cruise ship ports, 1 block from the Sheraton casino and hotel. More importantly the rental car is in the Sheraton so when you want to get out and around other parts of Puerto Rico its a quick walk to pick p the car. The rooms at the hotel were nice sized and we had a window that looked out onto one of the small stone streets of Old San Juan. It's definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cbionic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Cbionic,

Thank you for the great review and highlights about our location and staff. We look forward to your next stay at Chateau Cervantes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Cervantes for two nights prior to catching our Carnaval criuse Oct 11,12th 2013.
We picked it based on price as well as other tripadvisor reviews but most importantly " LOCATION"
We arrived later evening ( midnight ) into San Juan airport and caught a 15-20 min taxi ride to Old San Juan and to our hotel. The cost is regulated and was $25 U.S. with the tip.
The hotel looked closed but from previous email correspondence from the staff ,we knew someone would be there to check us in.
Once inside we were quickly resistered and headed off to our room after a long day of air travel from Canada. We were on the 4th floor on the back of the building.
The room for all intents is large enough and the A/C worked fine and the bathroom was nicely appointed and was tiled with marble and appeared to be very clean. The bed was large enough and comfortable. The flooring in the room , on the other hand , is carpet and to us appeared to be old, dingy and perhaps even dirty though it was difficult to tell as some of what appeared to be dirt might instead be old stains. In any event , it was difficult for me to get comfortable walking on it in bare feet.
As reported by other tripadvisors , you will encounter a substancial amount of noise at night coming from outside as there appears to be a popular meeting place or bar scene not far down the street ( visible from the balcony ). Also , as others have said , the garbage truck comes by at about 6am to pick up and dump 3-4 recycle or trash containers that are located in the street below.
The reason I know this is that both things woke me up both nights. Having said that , on each occasion I did manage to get back to sleep and don't consider it a hugh issue by any means. I'm not a sound sleeper anyway so someone else may not be affected at all by this. My spouse was smart enough to install ear plugs each night so she never experienced this issue.
We did experience a few other small issues that we don't consider deal breakers but more of just part of the experience... the safe didn't work until it was repaired , our room key card didn't work the first 4-5 time we used it and it took until the second day to get that corrected and the entire building A/C went out for a few hours one day. Again , none of these issues constitute huge probelms for us.
Essencially we would have rated the Cervates much higher than 3 had the room been slightly more presentable. By that I mean the carpet. Had they unpdate the flooring to match the marble tiles in the bathroom , our opinion would have been a bit different.
Thats the bad...or perhaps better said ... the not so good.

On the good side there is one inescapable fact that this hotel is extremely convenient to Old San Juan. It is barely 3 streets up from the harbour and if you are catching a cruise like we were , you can actually walk ( with luggage ) to any of the terminals within 5 minutes. I know because I timed it. Further , if your intent is to have time exploring the old city like ours was, everything is within walking distance. We really had only a day and a half but we easily covered it on foot without too much effort.
Also on the good side is the service of the Cervantes staff. Anyone and everyone who works at the hotel will do everything and anything to help you and when you are in a place that you have never been before this is greatly comforting. English is spoken perfectly ( without decernable accent ) not that that would matter. Smiles and friendliness seems to be the order of the day.
In conclusion , the service / staff and location is a 5+... the room on the other hand is perhaps a 3 at best. Having said that , I'm not sure we would or would not stay here again in the future or recommend it to other travellers. Alot would depend on the other hotels available in the area and their prices / locations and reviews.
Hope this helps someone.
All for now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandDNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
KandDNovaScotia,
We appreciate your thorough review on your stay at our hotel. Guest reviews allow us to understand where we need improvement and they are greatly appreciated by our staff and management. We always remind our guests that Old San Juan is a great city that not only tourists, but many locals love to enjoy on the weekends. The bars,restaurants and different attractions it has to offer make it a great destination. We apologize for all the minor mistakes you encountered while staying at Chateau Cervantes. Thank you for acknowledging the great customer service you received by our staff. We hope you give us a second chance !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay was delightful. The Staff were exceptionally accommodating to our needs. They graciously oriented us to the general layout of Old San Juan. We highly recommend it. One great feature if one is catching a Cruise ship is that you can walk the twe blocks to the dock even with luggage in tow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Jim P,
We appreciate this great review. We all agree our staff and location are the stars of our hotel. Hope you had a great time on the cruise. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great choice due to it's location and reviews. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. We want to specifically mention Anna (or Ana) who was OUTSTANDING! only two downsides...(1) noise from the street and (2) noise from the A/C unit. first item was beyond the control of any hotel. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Peter T,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your kind words with Ana and the rest of our staff. We're already looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a great hotel in a wonderful location. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful, especially Judy at Reception. We really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay here again and will be recommending this hotel to our friends,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank brcrow33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Brcrow33,
Wow! Thank you for that great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We're looking forward to the next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing