We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great staff!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Hudson
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Cervantes in January and had read both negative and positive reviews on the hotel. We weren't able to get in for just one night at the Sheraton as we did the previous year so we opted to stay here. While the staff was gracious and my 'kids' 22&18 were never so happy to be out of the cab...my youngest thought were were going to die in that cab, I think they had lost our reservation. It took forever for them to find our reservation and then get the room ready. It was hot and stuffy but wow what an amazing shower! It was a room all in itself. The pull out sofa the kids had to use was ok at best, good think they are used to a dorm lifestyle, while our bed was comfortable the room remained stuffy and the ac was LOUD. Just when I would start to doze off it would start or the night life in the back alley would start.

Michelle was wonderful and VERY informative. She truly made the visit pleasant and helped us figure out our day before we boarded the ship.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We appreciate you remembering to review us after your stay in January. We apologize that your check in took too long and we will work hard to get this issue resolved. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. They are what truly make our hotel shine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    146
    43
    27
    26
See reviews for
78
248
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment we pulled up by taxi to the hotel, the entire staff was so friendly, cheerful, and accommodating, even the Chef helped bring in our luggage. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with balcony doors that open to a quaint street below. The location is perfect and within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the Bay, which we walked along after dinner. We ate dinner at the hotel, at an outside table, the food was delicious. They served a very nice Continental breakfast in the morning, with a freshly brewed cup of coffee for each customer. On our return from a cruise, the staff allowed us to store our bags until we had to leave for the airport. Next time we're in Puerto Rico, we are definitely staying here. In my opinion, it's a very romantic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the generous review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,220 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,409 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night for business in San Juan. I got one of the last rooms. It was quite large, but very expensive. This time of year rooms are in high demand because it is a crusie port.

The room and bathroom were clean. It was a bit annoying that I had to wait so long to check in to my room. Also, the included breakfast was just average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is pricey for what you get but location is awesome ... plus they tack on a 25$ service charge per night per room which we didn't know about before booking. Also, shower was cold in both rooms we had (morning and evening). Breakfast is included in the rate, but their orange juice is "Tang" type juice, which is quite deceiving for a place that actually produces oranges. We would not recommend this hotel, we much preferred "Da House" hotel which is a cheaper, no frills hotel, but as expected ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Wow, we were able to upgrade to the Presidential Suite on arrival. It was well worth it, beautiful with large glass French doors that opened up to our terrace with its own outdoor bathroom. The bathroom was huge and sumptuous. The service we received was excellent. After dinner out (right around the corner) we had yummy dessert's delivered and the wait staff lit all of our candles. The free Trolly is right out side the front of the hotel, we just jumped on and got on and off as we wished. Beautifully prepared breakfast included and we enjoyed a long morning rest in the beautiful dining room, very intimate and we felt like we were family. The front desk stored our luggage so we could shop the day away, prior to boarding our cruise. We didn't want to leave. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lauriebydasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're so glad you chose to stay in our classy and elegant, Presidential Suite. These reviews are very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to not only review us , but include great pictures too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you are looking for a place right in Old San Juan this is a great location. Rooms are large and comfortable. We had the King suite which opens to a huge balcony overlooking the street.
This hotel is just a few step away from the free trolley so access to the castles and some beach locations is really easy. Lots of shopping in the blocks surrounding the hotel.
We had dinner at the hotel (20% discount on dinner when you stay at the hotel) and while it was a bit pricey it was an excellent meal. The pumkin risotto was to die for.
I would recomend this hotel with one small caveot, it can be rather noisey at night since it is right in the middle of the city. If you normally go to bed early this is probably not the hotel for you. San Juan is a party town!

Room Tip: The King suite opens right on the main street and we enjoyed it. If noise is an issue ask for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate your positive review about our Hotel. So glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful King Suites and had a great dinner in our outstanding restaurant, Panza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved this hotel! The decor was modern and clean. The size of the room was perfect and cozy. Absolutely loved the french doors that opened up to the balcony. This hotel is also in a great location. Recinto Sur is one of the main streets along the waterfront where the cruise ships come in. A lot of great restaurants right outside and tons of shops in the surrounding streets of Old San Juan. The best part about the location is there are two 24 hours parking garages right across the street. Very convenient if you rented a car or drove.

The only things I would say could be better are :
The hotel is hard to find. It doubles as a restaurant and the name Chateau Cervantes is not displayed outside. There are a set of door with the letter C on them one backwards and one forwards, that is the only indicator. Once we found it and got inside the staff was very accomadating, patient, and friendly. Yuri checked us in and was very pleasant. Johnathan checked us out and was also great! I highly reccommend this hotel if you are planing to stay in Old San Juan!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinIrishAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#33 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing