We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Juan Miramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is Marriott at its best in terms of comfort. Excellent beds and pillows, comfortable and spotless rooms. A small but nice pool and a small but functional fitness room. While I was there he restaurant and bar were open for the first time after remodeling and things were a little less than well-oiled, but the managers (all of them women) smoothed things over nicely. The only problem: for a four day trip this hotel is in the wrong location. It's in the middle of the new town, a long way from the beaches and an equally long way from the Convention Center and even further from old San Juan. It's presumably fine for people who are there for cruise ship trips, but for staying in San Juan itself its inconveniently located. That's made worse by the extremely expensive taxi system in San Juan.

Room Tip: Higher up the better so as to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    359
    193
    53
    20
See reviews for
211
265
54
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a suite at this hotel. Very nice and updated with flat tv's. Older property. My only issue is that the restaurant was closed to a private party. Walked down the street and found a few restaurants. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NortonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I picked this hotel because I had a free room voucher for up to a "Category 4" Marriott hotel. This one met my needs.

I'm puzzled over the other recent reviews regarding the state of their room. Perhaps some of the rooms at this property are older and have not been rennovated, but mine on the fifth floor was certainly up-to-date with no unusual smells or noises. It was clean, and the bathroom was adequate. The bed was comfortably soft. The pool was clean, and relatively average-sized for a city hotel. I was the only one there enjoying it at the time, so it was big enough for me! Because of space limitations, the business center is fairly small, but adequate enough to check emails or print out a boarding pass. Parking is $15/day, but that's typical for the hotels here in the city proper.

I did not eat at the hotel's (upscale) restaurant, and the property is rennovating another, more casual one which is available for breakfast. I chose to walk down a couple of blocks to see what I could find, and there were several choices - including the familiar Subway. A decent, neighborhood grocery store - Pueblo - is within a block. Walk one more, and you are at a modern movie theater, "Caribbean Fine Arts Cinema" where I saw Cloud Atlas.

I was happy with this stay, considering I just needed it for the one night, and I wasn't planning on running around San Juan. If you are not renting a car and do not want to be bothered with a roundtrip taxi fare of $30 to see Old ("Viejo") San Juan, then this hotel would probably meet your needs. If you might be a cruise ship passenger and want to get the most out of your vacation, my recommendation is to stay at the Sheraton in Old San Juan as it's almost right across from the cruise ship terminal, and you can walk throughout Old San Juan as well as take the ferry boat across the bay and hop in a taxi to the Bacardi factory ($3 per person each way) and buy a liter of rum for under $11.

Oh, and by the way, you no longer go through customs when you return to the States from San Juan. You can bring in as much liquor as your checked-in bag will store... and you have the opportunity to buy more in the airport's duty free shop for carry-on. Sweet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlankGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here before leaving on a cruise. One of the cheapest prices for a very nice room. Great location to the Carnival cruise port. I like nice hotels and was blown away by how modern and clean the hotel was for the $100 room. Most other 3 & 4 star hotels around $185-250+. Location was okay. About $20 fee to and from airport. Small authentic Puerto Rican diner within short walking distance that is opened 24 hours. Grocery store and Subway just down the street. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoraGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and would not stay a day longer. Staff was rude and kept saying how their restaurant was " high end." Please. Far from it. Room smelled musty and it was very outdated. The toilet flushing was so loud it sounded like you were on an airplane. The tub and sink took forever to drain. Wifi is only available in the lobby area, rooms have phone cord connection. Close to a few restaurants, but there is nothing to see in the area, but you can take a cab to attractions. Not too far from the airport - about 10 minutes. The elevator is beyonddddd slow. Took ten minutes to get downstairs. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbleeker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Liked the people and the location. Lots of food in walking distance. Rooms average. Air shuts off while you are sleeping, which sucks. But the people are nice and the room is decent. No complaints, would stay here again for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is small and clean. Good location. Is near food stores, restaurants, bakeries, etc... The only set back is the size of the bathroom is too small. They have a valet parking service because they don't have a self parking. For the right price I will stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abraham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#5 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 5,875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Juan Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Juan Miramar

Property: Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Address: 801 Ponce de Leon Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Family Hotel in San Juan
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Juan Miramar 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive for understanding our guests business and leisure needs providing them with the essential amenities that will ensure their satisfaction. Guestrooms with panoramic city and Condado Bay views that will allow our guests to be comfortable and productive at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard San Juan Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Juan Miramar Hotel San Juan
San Juan Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing