We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T MISS THIS AWE-INSPIRING EXPERIENCE!”

Acampa Nature Adventure Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acampa specializes in true ecological nature adventures. We offer different services for all levels. Our friendly staff is well educated with vast knowledge about Puerto Rico. Our tours and adventures are done in small groups for a more personal experience. Please visit our website for a full description of our adventures and prices.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THIS AWE-INSPIRING EXPERIENCE!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Starting with an easy pickup near our place in Old San Juan, Raymond brought us steadily upward in the van, until we were almost above the treeline in the beautiful Toro Negro rainforest. Along the way, Raymond told us stories about some of the residents of the area, how they live in a place with limited resources, and how they utilize the land.

At the base camp, Raymond and Reynard provided day packs, along with rappelling harnesses and zip lining attachments. A brief hike through a cleared, but still demanding trail, brought us to our first beautiful site: the base of a small waterfall, whose basin, surrounded by sharp rocks, is extremely deep. A leap of faith, guided by Raymond, has each of us dropping pencil-like into the deep pool, carefully avoiding the surrounding sharp edges. Refreshing, delicious river-water cools us from our hike.

From this point on, Raymond and Reynard guide us through running waters, rainforest trails, boulders and sheer rock faces, all with careful instructions and utmost concern for our safety. Raymond and Reynard share their knowledge of the indigenous plants, flowers, trees and wildlife. Our particular interest in the Coqui frog (the official mascot of Puerto Rico) was fed by the guides’ knowledge of the 17 different varieties of this amphibian, and remarkably, Reynard was able to find and gently display one of the Coqui varieties to us, explaining its life cycle and answering our questions. This thrilled our 13 year old in particular, as he wanted very badly to see one of the tiny creatures with his own eyes, discouraged by others who told him that he would only hear them, but never see them. Reynard is the Coqui whisperer though, and it was wonderful to see his joy in being able to share his love of the Coqui with our frog-loving boy.

The day continued with an thrilling belay up a waterfall, several exciting zip lines and rappelling down a100 foot foot cliff into yet another gorgeous waterfall.

With their knowledge, concern for our safety, and evident pride in their birthplace, both Raymond and Reynard impressed us with their abilities, and also displayed a sense of humor and willingness to joke with us that fit perfectly with the members of our family. After the adventure, a rustic meal made by a local family was the perfect end to our day, with Raymond and Reynard sitting down with us to eat like they were part of the family, sharing stories and their vast knowledge of Puerto Rico. A final treat was that both of our boys had dreams of sugar cane dancing in their heads, and Raymond was able to find some growing nearby to share with them, which was the sweet icing on a perfect day of adventure led by these charming and capable ambassadors of the Toro Negro rainforest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,568
    45
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Awesome Experience Ever!!!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let me just start off by saying, WOW!!!! What an amazing adventure!! My family and I are sooo glad that I found ACAMPA. I was doing research months in advance for things to do while on vacation in Puerto Rico. And after lots of research I settled on ACAMPA. We knew we wanted to zip line but I didn't know who to go with. After looking at several websites and lots of reviews we settled on ACAMPA and we don't regret it. We had sooo much fun. From the moment they picked us up, we met them in San Juan at one of their pickup spots, but if you are staying at a hotel in San Juan they will pick you up at your hotel, we knew we made the right choice. It was about a 1 and 1/2 hour drive to the private section of rainforest where we began our adventure. It didn't even seem like it took that long because they had lots of interesting stories to tell which made the time go by fast. From the moment we met them at the pickup spot Alex and Reynard made us feel welcome. A short distance from the spot where we began our adventure we took a quick bathroom break at the place where we would be getting our lunch from. O yeah a late lunch is included, but more on that later. We got to the spot where we began our adventure and Alex and Reynard went over a few things with us. Like our equipment we would be using and how to put it on.
Now we begin our adventure. We put our equipment in our backpacks, make sure you bring one with you, and headed out. We started out hiking through the rainforest, which happens to be an old coffee plantation, until we come to our first zipline. The first one is a small and slow one to get you used to it, but still fun. Then more hiking and more ziplines. Each one more fun than the last. They even have you spin and go backwards on the later ones. Wow a lot of fun!!! During your adventure your will be hiking through virtually untouched rainforest, Climbing up waterfalls, repelling down waterfalls. going across ziplines, and even taking a plunge in the waterfalls. One of them is about 10 feet deep. Nice and refreshing. O and you don't need to bring much water with you because you will be filling up on the way. Yes you read right. You will be filling up your water from the streams that are in the rainforest. This water tastes much better than any water you could buy in a store.

And now to the end of your adventure. The late lunch I was telling you about. You finish off your adventure with a home cooked authentic Puerto Rican meal from the place you stopped earlier. They bring it there and everyone sits down to enjoy the wonderful food that was prepared for them. MMM MMM Good!!! The food was delicious!!!

A perfect end to a perfect day. We hated to see it end because we had sooo much fun. Me, My wife and our 12 year old daughter had so much fun we are already planning our next trip to Puerto Rico, Probably around February, that's when the oranges that we seen on the trail will be ripe, and ACAMPA is first on our list of things to do. You will not regret doing this adventure. Make sure this is on the top of your list of things to do while in Puerto Rico and you will be glad you did.

Thanks again to Alex and Reynard for a wonderful day. :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adventure to Remember!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you want to experience Real Puerto Rico outside the touristy beach strips and get a feel of the mountainous village culture, book the Acampa Adventure! Came to Acampa on 4th of July and it was an amazing experience!

From the beginning of the pickup to the end, the trip was enjoyable, entertaining, cultured and exciting! The two tour guides we had were Ramon y Reynard. They were very knowledgable about their Puerto Rican culture and very informing about all activities (zip lining, rappelling, rock climbing, hiking) of best practices and safety. My highlight was the zip lines (5 lines). The 6 hour adventure ended with a hike back to our vans and to see local fresh Puerto Rican lunch (rice & beans, roasted chicken, pork ribs, tostones). Worth it!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jtizzles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Adventure - Awesome Guides”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We took the half day Rain Forest/Zip Line tour with our group of 12 people in June. It rained the night before so it was even more muddy and wet than normal, but we had an amazing time regardless. Most of the people in our group had never done anything like this before, but Eduardo & Reynard were very professional and safety oriented so everyone felt very comfortable. Our guides were also very entertaining and knowledgeable about the area. This was a trip to remember and would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OUKim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just Awsome! Won't regret it...”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you are in PR and want to really enjoy a rain forest, get muddy and wet... This is the tour. Great and professional service from the tour guys, explain everything in the way, from the moment you get in the van (rout,maps,ecosistems,plants, varietys of fruts,climate,geology etc etc)till you get down (best local places to eat, night life,culture,other activities in the area etc etc). It's a great experience with great local people that will make you feel like FAMILY........

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boriken88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acampa Nature Adventure Tours also viewed

 

Been to Acampa Nature Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing