We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for short stays”
Review of S.J. Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
S.J. Suites
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night before leaving on a cruise. The elevator was out of order, so we had to carry our luggage up to the 5th floor. Our room didn't have a window, and was freezing cold with no way to control the temperature. Overall though, not a terrible place to spend one night (we are two recent graduates looking to experience the actual cities we travel to, not necessarily luxurious hotels), but I wouldn't recommend this place for longer stays.

The location is great though, right in Old San Juan; and they held onto our luggage after we had checked out so that we could explore the city before our ship left.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwtgreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 268 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

The elevator was out of service!!! The stairs are steep! We didn't get any help bringing our luggage up. There is no air conditioning control in the rooms, it is controlled outside the rooms, it was hot, so we asked for a fan, the desk gave us theirs! They were nice here though. The bathroom was rather small. The bed was ok, but not bad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 143vrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here a week ago for two nights. The elevator is out of order; the room temps are controlled by floor. Be prepared to walk several flights of stairs to get to your room ~ we ended up with a heck of a workout as many times as we went back to the room because of rain in Old San Juan. As long as the staff knows how to work the thermostat, it's not bad, but they really need written instructions because the guy on duty one night had no idea how to work it. We were freezing to death because he'd made the fan stay on and then (due to other complaints about cold), he blocked the door to the hallway (where the thermostat is) open to allow warm air in. Logically, when the thermostat is turned down too much and then you add warm air to it, it will work even harder . . . making the rooms that much colder. Clean room, courteous people, but I was miserably cold ~ like in bed under covers with long sleeves, jeans, and winter socks . . . in the middle or Puerto Rico. The next morning, there was a nice man who knew the controls. He fixed it, thank goodness.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank USGolfGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I loved the location of this hotel. It is right in the centre of old San Juan. It is a walk away from the port if you are on a cruise, very close to the tourist office, in the middle of lots of restaurants and shops. The negative of this hotel is our room did not have a window and it smelt really weird. The lift did not work but we were helped with our luggage. I would not advise this hotel for the older folks. or people with issues walking to stay here as there is only one elevator and the stairs are steep. Our room was quiet which was great as we met other people who had stayed at far more expensive locations and were bothered by noise all night. The room was clean and the staff were really nice. They use old fashioned keys, not electronic keys. There are no food facilities but there is a shared fridge in the lobby. The price is good, the location is fab, the staff are great but the lack of a window and the smell forces me to rate this place as a two however I would stay here again from a value perspective.

Room Tip: I am not sure if any of the rooms have windows but from a safety perspective it might be wise to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Ah, the S.J. Suites. First, the positives. The location is good, but honestly, Old San Juan is so compact, just about any hotel would be as good. And the daytime staff was excellent--very helpful, informative, and actually great fun to interact with. We had more trouble communicating with the night staff, but this was quite possibly largely due to the language barrier. Overall, the room served us just fine, but be warned: there are some issues.

As others have noted, these are in NO way suites, so don't be fooled. In fact, some of the rooms are even a little cramped and have no windows at all (no phones in the rooms, either, but this wasn't a problem for us). The temperature in the rooms is all over the place, too. The first night it was freezing cold, but the second night it was warm and sticky. The bathroom was fine, though you only have hot water sometimes (we didn't have any after 8:00 a.m. the first day; shower early!). And, finally, the elevator was out the entire weekend we were there, which was just a mild nuisance to us but a serious problem for older guests and those in wheelchairs. This will surely get fixed at some point, but anyone looking to book this week might reconsider if stairs are a problem.

All in all, we would probably not stay there again if we had a choice, but it's not like we were traumatized by the experience, either. All part of the adventure of travel!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for another room if you hate yours! Our first room was hot, cramped, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hgoggans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not fancy, but neat and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Right in the heart of Old San Juan. Only a few blocks to the cruise port and we were able to walk to our cruise ship from there. The hotel is right on the trolley line and you can ride the trolley free to all the sights in Old Town San Juan.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck515151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you are taking a cruise and need a place within walking distance of the pier (about a 5 minute walk downhill to the pier), at a reasonable price, then S.J. Suites is ideal. It's nothing fancy, but the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are just rooms - don't expect a view, this is old San Juan where buildings are old and right next to each other. You are within walking distance of several restaurants also.
As I mentioned, its a 5 minute walk downhill to the pier, so remember its a 10 minute walk uphill when you are getting off the cruise and going to the hotel. Taxi service from the airport to the hotel runs you less than $25 (as of Sept 2013).
Minuses - nothing fancy, no view.
Pluses - reasonably priced, very secure, friendly staff

Room Tip: Ask for an end room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
5.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#21 of 47 in San Juan
831 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#40 of 47 in San Juan
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $128 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing