We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S.J. Suites is the place to stay!”
Review of S.J. Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
S.J. Suites
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Eaton, Colorado
2 reviews
“S.J. Suites is the place to stay!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at S.J. Suites for one night before our honeymoon cruise and we had a great stay. The manager was extremely friendly and helpful by explaining to us where the best places to eat were located as well as the highlights of Old San Juan. We followed all of his advice and we were very pleased with the food and the entire experience. This hotel is located in the neatest area of Old San Juan and it puts everything within walking distance. The manager locked up our luggage for us while we walked around town and even let us keep our luggage there again when we came back from the cruise and had some free time, even though we had only stayed the one night! If we ever go back to Puerto Rico, we will be staying here again. In fact, our experience at this hotel is what makes us want to go back to Puerto Rico again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    81
    68
    25
    33
See reviews for
26
130
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

So I flew in to San Juan and didn't know where to stay so I looked for the cheapest hotel I could find close to old San Juan. Just reserved this one short notice. The staff is nice, check in was quick. they have real door keys instead of key cards. internet works and its free. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I mean the tv is kinda small, not many channels but enough for me, there's no pool or gym or anything. Its not luxury but it is safe, quiet, clean, comfortable, close to everything. Overall I was pretty happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel to people wanting to save money and get a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger and have a couch I think. I stayed in a regular room by myself and it was ok. mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRiggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked this hotel because of proximity to cruise ship docks and we were glad we did. What it lacks in views and offerings,it certainly makes up for in cleanliness, efficiency, friendliness and location. All of Old San Juan sites are within easy walking distances, and the front desk was more than eager to show the attractions on a map, and offer great advice. Great restaurants are also nearby.
If you are taking a cruise ship, don't bother with a taxi, the ship dock is only a few blocks away.
A great find this SJ Suites was!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingmoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was to board a cruise ship on Saturday, and thought it would be nice to spend a couple of days in Puerto Rico as I had not been there before. I booked the S. J. Suites Hotel on the internet, and was intrigued with what I found. The entrance to the hotel is right off Fortaleza St. and an elevator takes you up to Reception on the second floor. Everything is neat and compact, and very secure. My room was immaculate and the bath had plenty of hot water. Located in the heart of old San Juan all the tourist attractions were within easy reach. Free bus and tour train service passed in front of the hotel. Restaurants and souvenir shops right at hand. Slept well both nights with nary a sound from outside. Yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the S.J. Suites in Old San Juan prior to our cruise to the Southern Caribbean. Since the cruise was port intensive, we wanted to experience Old San Juan rather than the beach area of Puerto Rico. This hotel was perfect!! It was not fancy but it was clean and provided a nice haven to visit the sights of old San Juan. The staff was exceptional and provided us with knowledge of local restaurants and watering holes which were excellent. The dinner at the Mojito and breakfast at the Mandolin were enjoyable. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Dave Woods, Nashville, Indiana

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrnCty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos, son
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is smack dab in the middle of Fortaleza Street in old San Juan, which is a very good place to be. Some of the world's finest dining is only a few minute's walk away and all the attractions of the compact Old San Juan area is easily accessible by foot. The hotel is small and basic but our room was comfortable and clean. The staff is knowledgable and helpful and manager Raymond might possibly be the friendliest person I've ever met. This hotel is perfect for travelers who only want a basic hotel in a good location and aren't interested in staying at an expensive luxury hotel with a ton of amenities. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you stay in the back of the hotel, the room will be quiet and the view will be bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked this property because we only needed one night after our cruise. We arrived about 10 am and were a little put off by how small the entrance was. But once inside, we got it! The front desk clerk was fantastic! He was able to accommodate our desire to check in early and we were able get some rest that we desperately needed. When we got hungry, there is no lack of restaurants nearby to satisfy whatever you feel like eating. The front desk clerk later was able to print our boarding passes for our flights the next day, which was also very nice. This property definitely scored high in customer service. Now, for the cons.....we don't know what was up with the A/C but it was on high all night and there is NO thermostat in the room. It was in the hallway so whoever wanted to change the temp on that floor, well...could. At the very least give guests the opportunity to close a vent in our room if you insist on keeping the thermostat on super-cold. We were freezing in our room all night, which was not fun. Also, there wasn't a phone in our room, so every time I needed something I had to go downstairs (we were on the 4th floor, the lobby is on the 2nd) to request fill-in-the-blank. Seriously, get some phones in the rooms - the one night we were there I had to go down three different times (boarding passes, request for ice, and a question about checkout). The walls are pretty thin, we could hear the conversations outside our door and next door quite clearly. It was pretty annoying. Our complaints have to do with the property itself, not the staff, so if you are looking for a place to crash where you will be treated right but you don't care what kind of room you are in, bring some flannel jammies, ear plugs and your running shoes and you'll be good to go!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brads_Wifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 48 in San Juan
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.2 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 48 in San Juan
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#26 of 48 in San Juan
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Property: S.J. Suites
Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing