We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of S.J. Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
S.J. Suites
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed overnight in March 2011 prior to a cruise departure. We were pleasantly surprised. I wanted to stay in Old San Juan and I happy we did. The hotel doesn't have any amenities--but the price was more than reasonable, too. The rooms were HUGE. Our's didn't have a window-but we knew this when we booked. The clerk/manager was very helpful and told us some great local places to go for cocktails and food. If you're looking for fancy--this isn't the place for you. However, if you're looking for a great location in the heart of Old San Juan with a large clean room, you won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Great location and value.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodifromJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for S.J. Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had booked this hotel for a 1 night stay along with 2 other couples prior to a cruise.

The hotel was ok for a nights stay if you are not too picky. I would not stay too much longer than a day or 2 at the most! It was a small hotel in the middle of Old San Juan. The staff was pleasant & very helpful. The rooms were clean although they had no windows because there are buildings built right next to each other. It does have air conditioning. When we got to our room it was warm & the ac was not on in our room. We went to the front desk & told them & they came right up turned it on. There are televisions in the rooms that have Direct TV.
There are showers that are clean & linens. They also offer coffee in the morning in the front lobby.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here one night pre cruise and it was great, excellent rooms and service, close to everything. Desk clerk was very helpful. Very easy walk to Carnival cruise terminal and all old san juan attractions

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deckhandoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location, but it is also the worst (keep reading and you will see why) The hotel itself was decent. The first night we were there we booked one of the larger rooms, so the room was nice size; queen bed, chair, small tv, decent bathroom. Plus, it is literally in the middle of San Juan... the location was PERFECT!!! All of the great restaurants and shopping and bars and everything along with the parking garages are EXTREMELY close... however, because of this, the noise in the room was VERY loud. Our room was facing the front of the hotel which was right over the street and we were awoken NUMEROUS times in the middle of the night by cars, trucks, cars with loud music, people screaming, people talking, people singing... EVERYTHING!!! It was miserable! So we requested a room change for our 2nd night. The room was smaller and the window was facing the side of the hotel rather than the front. However, the noise the 2nd night was still pretty bad; but we had hiked El Yunque that day so we were beat. Even then, we were still woken up numerous times by loud people singing on the street. So if you are used to city noise, it would probably be okay... but if not, don't expect to get much sleep!!

Room Tip: The larger rooms facing the front have a window along the whole street... and therefore the noise le...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great hotel location in the heart of old San Juan, short walk to the cruise ship! The help behind the desk was very informative.

Room Tip: Most rooms don't have windows so check if you're going to stay for longer then one night.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rollo278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in Old San Juan and the SJ Suites and were very happy with our accommodations. Ramon, the manager, was outgoing, friendly and full of info about Puerto Rico plus suggestions for restaurants, things to do, etc. We asked for a quiet room and we received one. It was very clean and had a great bed. We also visited the islands of Vieques and Culebra and had to return to San Juan for our flight home. We stayed at the SJ Suites for two more nights even though we had thought about trying another hotel. Again, thanks to Ramon (and Josue) for making our stay in Old San Juan so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We wanted an inexpensive room in Old San Juan two nights pre-cruise and so we booked the San Juan Suites. The picture of the room on the internet looked dated, but large and comfortable. Our room had no couch, and just barely enough room to walk around the bed! We were really dissappointed! The man at the front desk was nice enough. It was in a perfect location to walk to all the Old San Juan sites. The bathroom was also very small. The bed was very hard. The room was very dreary and depressing and had no window. The rooms do not have solid doors, but rather hollow core doors that you would use on a closet. This was both a noise issue and safety issue. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank lah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#25 of 47 in San Juan
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Hotel in Puerto Rico
My Hotel in Puerto Rico
#16 of 30 in San Juan
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing