We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Andalucia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Andalucia House
Ranked #11 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Came to Puerto Rico for spring break with 2 friends. Andalucia Guest House had the perfect location, super friendly hosts, very clean, nice sized room. Was very comfortable and I highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgoodma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    83
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
184
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Andalucia for one night in November. The room was great: really comfortable and quiet. The hotel is really conveniently located. We could walk to the beach, dinner, and breakfast quite easily. The hosts were super friendly and accommodating of our schedule (our flight the first day got canceled). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at Andalucia March 5 - March 8. I arrived after check-in and Eteban and Emeo were very accommodating. My room was perfect, good size for one person. I really liked the location. Walking distance from great food, local shops and the typical commercial stores ie Walgreens. The thing I found very convenient was that the host had maps ready for all guests. They had laminated maps of Ocean Park, Old San Juan and Piones. I def recommend Andalucia and will return soon!

Room Tip: Single room if you are alone, they have all types including ones with kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ameil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Andalucia (again!) with Emeo & Esteban while I was in San Juan for a triathlon.

The guesthouse is the perfect mix of clean accommodation, cultural experience, and friendly atmosphere. My well appointed room faced the street, and even though Ocean Park is part of the city, I didn't hear any traffic or residual noise.

If you are seeking a resort, then stay at a resort! But if you want to be in a convenient location with great customer service and one of San Juan's best bakeries right across the street, then you can't go wrong with Andalucia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbean0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

From the moment we arrived, it felt like we were visiting long time friends. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. It wasn't a huge room but very comfy and quiet. Our host gave us directions to the most incrediable bakery, Kasalta. We ate a few meals there and was our favorite place to pick up a dessert any time. The beach, bus stop, shopping, eatery's were a short walk away. It's not fancy, but very clean and the hosts do every thing they can to make you feel at home. We stayed here for 3 days February 9 - 12, prior to going on a cruise, Once again Thank you so much Emeo and Esteban.

Dianne and Rauli Kovasin
Vancouver Island BC
Canada

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

You want to visit and stay in San Juan but are on a tight budget; but also want to stay at a place that is located in a reasonably safe area, is clean and is also reasonably priced: Andalusia Guest House is for you. We stayed at the guest house from January 13th to January 19th, 2012.

I can’t say enough good things of the friendly and courteous services that the owners, Esteban and Emeo, provided us during our six-days stay. Javier (we understand he works part-time) was also extremely helpful. Every question, every request or need we had was answered and/or provided graciously and without hesitation.

I guess that compared to expensive hotels nearby, the rooms in Andalusia Guest House are small but they are cozy and that compensates for the lack of room size. At first we were concerned but after the second day we did not even notice. One thing we noticed immediately at check-in was that the room and bathroom were very clean. Once a day, after an outing, the room was fixed and cleaned extremely well. Another couple we went with on this vacation had the same initial concern; but just as we, they felt exactly the same a day later. We would definitely come back.

Easily accessible and inside a two-minute walk from the guest house you find a wide beach. The beach is also good for swimming. Esteban and Emeo provide beach chairs and towels. The guest house has a charming patio with a Jacuzzi you can enjoy after you spend time at the beach; or it can be something to enjoy later in the evening. Buy a bottle of rum, and for a very reasonable price you can purchase soft drinks at the guest house and enjoy cheap Cuba Libre drinks – but don’t over do it (Coca Cola is best for Cuba Libres). Or you can purchase wine and cheese at the nearby Kasalta bakery and enjoy that as well. Some items sold in Kasalta can be a bit pricey; but everything they sell is good quality. Breakfast, lunch or dinner can be as cheap or as expensive as you want. Esteban and/or Emeo will give you suggestions for good places to eat in the area.

When you visit a place you are not familiar with you should always be careful and aware of your surroundings. As long as you don’t stray too far away from Ashford Avenue or McLeary Street, (within a few blocks McLeary Street becomes Ashford Avenue) you can take long evening walks and explore the expensive Hotels and Casinos located on Ashford Avenue.

Thank you, Esteban and Emeo, for helping us have a healthy, safe and inexpensive stay in San Juan.

Room Tip: Stayed on the back of guest house: room #3, next to the Jacuzzi. When needed, the AC worked very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Delaisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Andalucia was great. It was quiet but still had a lot of personality and Emeo and Esteban seem to have thought of everything. We stayed in room 8 on the bottom floor right next to the jacuzzi. What I liked most about this hotel was the sense of community and the trust that the owners give their patrons. They supplied wifi, beach towels, coolers, ice, boogie boards, maps, sunscreen, aloe, condiments at no extra charge and water, sodas, juice and snacks on an honor system. I really got the impression that they cared that their guests were comfortable and wanted to make sure they could help out as much as possible without being overbearing. The hotel was very clean, and our room was very comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially first-timers to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Room 8 was comfortable and convenient but, while it wasn't a problem for us, being close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chaupescao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.6 mi away
Coqui del Mar Guest House
Coqui del Mar Guest House
#5 of 29 in San Juan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dreamcatcher
The Dreamcatcher
#2 of 29 in San Juan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 29 in San Juan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tres Palmas Inn
Tres Palmas Inn
#6 of 29 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Del Mar
Hosteria Del Mar
#17 of 29 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andalucia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andalucia House

Property: Andalucia House
Address: 2011 McLeary Street | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Ocean Park beach is just 2 mins away and you will find yourself embraced by fine white sand, aqua-colored ocean and perfect blue sky. Then come relax and enjoy with your friends in our tropical patio and jacuzzi after a whole day in the sun. Each of our room is beautifully furnished with comfortable beds to make you feel like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Andalucia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andalucia Guest House Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing