We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanted to keep it a secret, but...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dreamcatcher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dreamcatcher
Ranked #2 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I wanted to keep it a secret, but...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I've spent a total of 6 weeks at the DreamCatcher and feel like it's my home when in Puerto Rico. It's not just a place to sleep, but an experience in and of itself. Your senses are seduced the second you step through the gate. Really. It's unlike any place you've ever been to. An enchanted garden where in every corner you'll find something that intrigues you and takes your mind away and makes you forget anything other than what it's in front of you. Plus, you'll probably leave having met new friends; the people that stay at the DreamCatcher always seem to have interesting lives and stories sure to spark your imagination and sense of adventure. I didn't really want to write this review as I'd like to keep it a secret, but to keep this place a secret would be a grand disservice to humanity :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank meganiiirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    30
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
187
67
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Dreamcatcher is a true dream house. Very beautiful, clean and nice staff. You will also have the chance to interact with the amazing guests there. Really enjoyed my stay there and wish I could have stayed longer. I strongly recommend it to every one!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Dreamcatcher. Sylvia was the perfect host (great restaurant and sightseeing recommendations), and the house is beautifully decorated with antiques and vintage finds. We ended up staying here twice during our visit to PR, and I can't wait to return. There's a shared kitchen with tea and coffee for guests and lots of outdoor seating in the backyard patio and front porches. It's just two blocks from the beach and easy to get anywhere else in San Juan.

Room Tip: The descriptions on her airbnb site are accurate and capture the various options. I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jcpeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Look no further for a fun San Juan experience than to this lovely b&b on Ocean Park. The owners are very accommodating and have beautifully, simply and artfully designed a wonderful spot 2 blocks from the beach. The communal areas add to the atmosphere with outdoor showers, a kitchen, and many trees, hammocks and plants. Note: this is not a Four Seasons in the best possible way. Humble beauty providing relaxation and kindness.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

From the moment I arrived at Dreamcatcher guest house I knew I had picked the right place to stay!

I stayed in the Moroccan room, and loved how it was decorated. I liked how I had my own shelf in the kitchen and felt so at home, that I actually wanted to cook instead of going to a restaurant. But had I wanted to go out I was given a great map of the area with favourite locations marked out.

All guests were friendly and it was nice to sit on the porch chatting to new friends, but at the same time it was easy to find a space to sit on my own.

The beautiful beach was only a block away, which in the morning seemed like I had all to myself. I felt completely safe staying here, as it's in a gated community, which also meant I wasn't surrounded by big hotels but instead by local people and felt like I had a true taste of San Juan local life.

The only thing I could have asked for was more time there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fantastic place; can't think of anywhere better. The rooms were incredible and the location is fantastic for the beach. Sylvia and Stephan were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanP34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Dreamcatcher is a wonderfully refreshing alternative to so many of Puerto Rico's accomodations. It's nice, cozy, and friendly, like a cross between a B+B and the nicest hostels you can remember or imagine. Comfortable, easy, well-kept, with 1000 times more soul than any other place I've stayed on the island. It was fun to wander the surrounding area, finding everything I needed within a 10-minute walk. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank stxma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.4 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#29 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dreamcatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dreamcatcher

Property: The Dreamcatcher
Address: 2009 Calle Espana | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911-1432, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dreamcatcher 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous and intimate Guest House is located right at the beach in the pristine neighborhood of Ocean Park, only 10 minutes away from the Historical Old San Juan and the airport. The Dreamcatcher is the only vegetarian guest house in San Juan. Guests may sign up for yoga and meditation classes, take part in sightseeing tours, do paddle boarding, or opt for nature-adventure tours outside of the typical touristy options. They may also borrow a bicycle and go for a ride around the neighborhood beaches or the popular Loiza Street. The famous three-course breakfast is served daily by local chef Jerome who has been specializing in vegan and vegetarian cuisine since 2003. Guests may also choose between juice blends, homemade hemp milk and kombucha elixirs made with all natural ingredients. These in turn could be included in their daily detox meal plans. The Dreamcatcher is proud to be supporting this type of experience in which tourists enjoy healthy foods as they spend some time away from home. "Everything about this guesthouse suggests relaxation," according to the March 2014 issue of New York Magazine. It smells of incense, as one can listen to the meditation music in the background and hear the flow of water from the fountain. The Dreamcatcher is thoughtfully decorated with mostly vintage furniture and collectibles. The house holds beauty and memories alike, every corner tells a story. The awarded Inn is a true oasis with many areas to find privacy as well as to come together with other guests and friends.The common areas consist of a dining room, two lounging areas with rocking chairs and hammocks. A spacious living room that opens to the garden as well as a fully equipped Communal Kitchen. The garden is protected by dozens of Buddha's, which quietly sit among the fruit trees, the water fountain and in between the flowers. Every room is decorated with a Dreamcatcher to protect your sleep and entice sweet dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Dreamcatcher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing