We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay & fine for 1 night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Airport Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Average stay & fine for 1 night”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We needed a place to stay on our first night in Puerto Rico because the apartment we rented was booked for that night; see the Posada Colonial under specialty lodging for that review. Since we were flying in late and based on the ok reviews here, we chose this place. It was fine for one night, we got a AAA rate of $133/night (without tax) and I would stay here again but only for flying in or out.

We got a room with two double beds. The room was ok size; not tiny but not spacious either. It was fine for two adults but four people of any size would have felt cramped. The bathroom was small but there was hot water when needed and the water pressure was excellent. We were on the 4th floor and the view from our room was of the mechanicals on the roof of the 3rd floor; not scenic at all. The room was clean and everything appeared to work, though we did not use the coffeemaker. The room’s heating/cooling unit worked just fine and was very quiet. The room was also very soundproof; even being at the airport, we could not hear the planes from our room and we did not have problems with noise from the hall. The beds, pillows and linens were fine; we had no problems sleeping.

The free continental breakfast was fresh fruit, canned fruit in syrup, cold cereal, pastries, juice, yogurt, milk, and coffee & hot chocolate from a machine. The hot items were oatmeal and hard boiled eggs. Everything was acceptable and edible; nothing to rave about but it will fill you up for breakfast. The place gets crowded but the staff kept items stocked. However, someone spilled something on the tile floor and my sister almost slipped and fell because of it; it took a good 10 mins before the staff cleaned it up. There is also a restaurant on site, BJ's Bistro; see it for my review.

On the 4th floor there is an outdoor patio area with 2 four person tubs; one warm, one cold though neither had any jets you could turn on. The deck also had tables with chairs and deck chairs. It was a nice place to hang out and soak up the warm, sunny Puerto Rico weather while we waited for our ride. There are also wash machines & dryers to do your laundry but we did not use them so don't know how good they are.

Finally check in and check out were terrible. Checking in we had to wait because someone fell on the stairs to the front desk from the airport and he was bleeding. This clearly frazzled all the staff. They told us that had never happened before. Check out was even worse. We saw no “self check out” option and with a mass of people trying to check out (50+ all at once), it took us a ½ hour to get through the line. The check in/out area is very small so that did not help. What a mess! Luckily we were not in a hurry either time.

So if you need to stay at the airport, this will fit the bill and I would stay here again. But I don’t recommend it for anything else.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttiottn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    279
    282
    114
    100
See reviews for
237
367
110
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

If your flight requires an overnight in San Juan and you want to save the time and trouble of taking a taxi into town for the night, this airport hotel is fine for this purpose. You might get a couple extra hours of sleep before your early morning departure. The American Airlines counter is just steps from the hotel desk.

The hotel is old, but the bathroom in our tiny room seems to have been updated. The room has working wi-fi and TV. It's quiet, clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower worked, good hot water pressure. The accommodations are basic, but all you need for a good night's rest. The room, for me, would be too small for any longer stay.

Check-in took minutes, the front counter staff was friendly and efficient.

The on-site sushi bar (BJ's Bistro) was surprisingly good. The sushi was fresh and professionally made to order.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FengSui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Rooms are small, bathroom in a very bad condition. The restaurant is awful, a lot of noise in the halls.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramtha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2011

It took 2 hours just to check in. I had made reservations, had an email with confirmation number they could not find my reservation, The room temparature extremely low had to sleep with sweater and still could not warm up. Not very clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaClara_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

we had an unexpected layover in san Juan thanks to a screw up by American airline. They covered the cost of the hotel-i dont know the actual cost of the room so my rating on value is not truly accurate. the room is small and yes like others say the tv is tiny, but when all you are looking for is a clean room and comfy bed, this hotel was great. we had a late bite to eat at the restaurant and the food was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This hotel was awful. The only reason you would stay here is if you didn't know any better. It's location is great if you have an early morning departure or a late night arrival. But you'll have a better nights sleep probably anywhere else. Spend the $15 for a cab ride to another hotel.

The hotel smelled dank, the rooms were small & smelly, the bed was hard, the shower head was really short (perfect for the average 10yr old), & the 'breakfast' wasn't worth the walk down the hall to the dining room. The front desk staff was very unhelpful, the internet didn't work (& we didn't bother to call for help since we knew we wouldn't get any anyway). In some ways it was the best place to stay before heading home. By the morning, I was ready to leave & couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanh456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The description indicates it is an AWARD Winning Hotel......don't miss the part that says it is in the 2 star category. I really don't think that it qualifies for a two star. They did not have extra pillows, towels. The TV was a 13inch. The room was way small. The sad part is the Hotel charged 150.00 a night......NOT EVEN CLOSE TO BEING WORTH IT! We stayed four nights before staying at the BW at the Condado in San Jaun for $180.00 which was an awesome Hotel on the Ocean....this was also with an Ocean View room. Do not waste your $150.00 on the Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joewhite57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
4.1 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
258 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
988 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Airport Hotel

Property: San Juan Airport Hotel
Address: Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan 00937, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning San Juan Airport Hotel is the only HOTEL located at the airport, just steps from the Airlines counter. We have received the Best of the Best Award and Best of the Best 2 Star Hotel in Puerto Rico by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. We have amazing rooms and complimentary amenities including FREE HOT buffet breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet (Wi-Fi) wireless connection at download speeds more than 40mbs, FREE Business Center, a fitness center with everything you might need like ellipticals, treadmills, free weights, and more, and a on-site Restaurant & Bar. We have exceeded the standards and amenities in our commitment to your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing