We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Airport Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dank”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Definition of Dank
adjective: disagreeably damp, musty, and typically cold.

As a hotel experience I'd give one star rating - but I'll add two more for the location. Our room (with two queen beds) was very cold when we entered but were able to warm it up a tad by fiddling with the thermostat. The carpet felt damp - not pleasant to walk on in bare feet. Bathroom small but functional. The bed was too soft for my preference.

Check-in was slow with only one employee on duty at the desk and we had to line up behind several other sleep-deprived arrivals. Checkout was fast.

No butter at the buffet breakfast - only margarine, I can't think of any other hotel I've stayed in that did not have butter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    279
    282
    114
    100
See reviews for
237
367
110
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I booked a room at this hotel in order to catch an early morning flight; it was also the only place I could find with a room near the airport due, in part, to the Easter holiday weekend. It is located at the end of the terminal as one drives around the airport check-in lane, nearest to American Airlines check-in counters. Please note that signs pointing to the airport in the terminal are seen as you approach that particular concourse; I didn't see any signs for this hotel while in Concourse A, for instance.

Check-in wasn't as smooth as at other hotels, as I was dealing with a new employee that needed help from her trainer when working on the computer. However, I had my key within 10 minutes.

The room, with a queen bed, is small, Two people with luggage would make walking around the room difficult. I noticed that the IPod radio / alarm clock was off by several hours (and years, by the date displayed) - little things like that make you wonder what else might not be quite right. The bathroom was clean but small - it definitely couldn't hold two people at one time. A larger person might experience issues in this bathroom, so consider getting a bigger room (assuming the bathrooms are bigger with a king size bed). The room was very quiet; you couldn't tell you were right next to the runway.

The fitness room is small with one treadmill, but it is open 24 hours. The breakfast room is open at 5 a.m., and while they advertise a "hot breakfast" the only hot items I saw were oatmeal and hard boiled eggs. It was more of a continental breakfast, but still I appreciated the fact it was open before my 6:15 a.m. departure.

Check out was smooth. Yes, you have to get your bags screened by the USDA if you are traveling back to the Continental US, so if you can do that the night before consider doing so (even for carryon bags). While there were no lines when I did this after check out, I could see where this could be an issue during rush times for flights. I flew out on Jet Blue, which is on the other side of the airport from the hotel; give yourself at least 15 minutes to walk there from the San Juan Airport Hotel.

I experienced several issues with making the reservation on this hotel's website. Twice I tried, and twice it didn't accept my input. I finally called the hotel directly and, with the help of a great clerk on the front desk I was finally able to make my reservation.

Overall this is a functional hotel, probably a step above a Hotel 6 but not close to a Courtyard. However, if you need a place close to the airport for that early morning flight, I would strongly recommend you consider this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfpack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel was perfect for us. We were supposed to arrive at the airport at midnight but only arrived at 2:00am because of a delay in Newark. As soon as we got our baggage, we just walked over to the airport hotel. We didn't need to bother with a taxi at all hours of the night. The room is nothing fancy but did the trick. All we wanted was a clean bed and washroom the next morning. The next morning we went to get breakfast which was included with our stay. We didn't enjoy our breakfast but we also didn't have to pay for it, so it really didn't matter. So nothing fancy at this hotel, but worked perfect people jumping on a cruise the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

When you be there the customers Services are excellent, the Manager is funny, the only I so bad is are the rooms, are too small, don't have refrigerator, the only service into the room is a coffee machine but don't have water to put.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margil20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been staying at the San Juan Airport hotel yearly for 30 years! We have to stay here on both our way down and back for vacation in the Caribbean. This hotel is so basic, and yes, it's convenient for a late night arrival and then an early morning departure. My complaint is that they have renovated the lobby, but the rooms are still dank, musty, poorly laid out, and FREEZING!!! I really wish they would address the guest rooms that need attention before the lobby! Now the lobby is really cool, but who cares?! My biggest complaint is the A/C. You can't really adjust it. Either it's on and freezing, or off. There's no in-between. The breakfast is basic but they do have warm hard boiled eggs, which is nice for some protein. The queen bed mattress is poor quality. This place is convenient, but I really hate staying here. Unfortunately, there's no other choice for this yearly trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOyster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We missed out plane back home. We were supplied with a brochure from a company called Airport Accommodations. They find you hotels at what they say are the best rates around.

They suggested to us The Doubletree. They said it was 5 minutes away and the rate was 139.00 per night. They also gave the the hotels phone #.

When I called them they said the hotel was 15 minutes from the airport and they did not have a bus to pick us up. We would have had to pay 17.00 for a cab each way.

We deceided to stay at this hotel. It was convienent and right on the airport grounds.

Very small rooms but decent. They have a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is only good for late arrivals or early departures.
No lobby since it's really part of the departure area.....the
hotel is physically part of the terminal. Room was basic
but adequate. Continental breakfast was included in the
price, located along the hallway of the sleeping rooms.
Did not hear any airplane noise. Arriving late we found
little available for eating.

The hotel entrance is actually in the departure area.....a
distance from picking up luggage. To find it....go upstairs
to departures and look across from the American Airlines
check-in area. l

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
4.1 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
258 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
988 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
340 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Airport Hotel

Property: San Juan Airport Hotel
Address: Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan 00937, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning San Juan Airport Hotel is the only HOTEL located at the airport, just steps from the Airlines counter. We have received the Best of the Best Award and Best of the Best 2 Star Hotel in Puerto Rico by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. We have amazing rooms and complimentary amenities including FREE HOT buffet breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet (Wi-Fi) wireless connection at download speeds more than 40mbs, FREE Business Center, a fitness center with everything you might need like ellipticals, treadmills, free weights, and more, and a on-site Restaurant & Bar. We have exceeded the standards and amenities in our commitment to your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing