We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS RM 428”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Airport Hotel
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BED BUGS RM 428”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here when we had a layover in San Juan. The only thing worthwhile about this hotel was the convenience, which was quickly negated after waking up with more bites than the entire amount received from a 10 day vacation. We were in that room for 8hrs at the most. There was enough room for a nightstand on each side of the queen bed, a tiny half desk, one small chair, and a bathroom. The original price booking there, not from a site, was about 160 US dollars. Outrageous. After using our Triple A card it was about 130$. The continental breakfast was worse than any I have had, especially for the price. I would have rather slept in the terminal on the floor. There was an overall unpleasant odor in the entire hotel. I now have to have an exterminator come to my apartment building so that my neighbors and I do not get an infestation here. Everything had to be washed in hot water and dried on hot settings. Bed bugs can live in the heat and cold and go without feeding for up to a year and still re-infest. That whole airport hotel should be fumigated. burned. disgusting. A terrible end to a fantastic vacation. I usually do not leave bad reviews but this is necessary.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Pay the extra $ for a taxi to take you to the next nearest hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fishetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanAirportHotel, General Manager at San Juan Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi, I'm the General Manager to this Hotel. It COMPLETELY surprises me that you are saying such false accusations. This Hotel, in the last 7 years of operating, has NEVER had a bed bug issue. In addition, this is the first time we even hear about a "suppose" incident. How come you didn't tell anybody at the front desk about this issue. How come when I search for your name on my reservation list, (past history), I can't find you? This is where I have to say, you've crossed the line and are being completely false. Anybody who reads this will think twice about this Hotel, because of your false accusations; and that's just plain wrong. We've NEVER had any bed bugs!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    281
    283
    115
    100
See reviews for
241
367
111
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia-DF
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

PROS:
The Hotel is located INSIDE the Airport just in front of the American Airlines check-in, which is very convenient for overnight connection flights! Apart from the being inside the airport it has a perfect acoustic insulation, you cannot hear any noise from the planes. The room is well manteined and clean, with comfortable bed and good amenities in the bathroom. The Hotel has vending machines for water, sodas and snacks and it has the "standard" Best Western breakfest with 2-3 types of juices, fruit salad, bagels, bread, coffee and milk free. Also there is free WiFi internet and a sushi bar serving untill 23:00h.

CONS:
The room is small, but it is acceptable to spend a night for a connecting flight. The TV is just too small (not even 14", I think!!) and due to the insulation, the window cannot be opened. The Air Con was difficult to be regulated to find a nice and steady temperature.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinhoAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed a night when the airlines cancelled my flight. They have a great game room & nice little bar for drinks and small food. It was a much need break from awful day of flights. Rooms and nice & clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConfusedHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Indies
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Right opposite the American airlines check in, it is ideally located especially if you have a lot of luggage. Free high speed internet access and a reasonably good B'fast starting at 5AM, was a bonus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verinagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city MO
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

stayed overnight due to airline problems-maybe it was due to when we landed,but getting from the airline gate to the hotel was 'nightmarish' Thank goodness there were a bunch of us in
the same situation. asked to be on same floor as my family (fourth) instead was on sixth floor. what they dont tell you is you have to get off on the fourth floor and find the other elevator that takes you to the fifth and sixth floor. Room was ok. clean , bed slept well, and A/C worked just fine. offered a complementary continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rekabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If your stranded in the San Juan Puerto Rico airport due to weather, this is the only place to go on the property, anything else will require a taxi out to Isla Verde or beyond. For a night's rest and hope of getting a flight the next day it serves the purpose. Rooms are small, and there is not much in the way of dining. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoCofresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything about this hotel is beige and slightly depressing.

This is an emergency stop, not a destination hotel. Clean and functional, but you would only want to stay here for a minimum period. Staff do their best, but the facilities are stuck in an early 90s time warp and need serious renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
4.1 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
261 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
992 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Juan
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Airport Hotel

Property: San Juan Airport Hotel
Address: Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan 00937, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — San Juan Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Award Winning San Juan Airport Hotel is the only HOTEL located at the Airport just steps from the Airline counters. We have received the Best of the Best Award 3.5 Star Hotel in Puerto Rico by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. We have amazing & comfortable rooms with complimentary amenities like FREE HOT Breakfast, FREE High-Speed Internet (Wi-Fi) wireless connection at download speeds more than 100mbs, FREE Laundry, Business Center, a fitness center with everything you need like ellipticals, treadmills, free weights, and more, and SPA Deck Jacuzzi, and an on-site Restaurant & Bar. We have exceeded the standards and amenities in our commitment to your comfort. Come stay with us and experience the best Puerto Rico has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your San Juan Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Juan
San Juan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing